You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Memtest86 3.1a errors - interpretations? - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-08-2004, 10:03 PM   #1
F@TMAN
Junior Member
F@TMAN's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 01 2004
Posts: 28
Memtest86 3.1a errors - interpretations?

With my rig (check sig), I o/c from 133x15 stock to 166x12 with my memory in SC, 2.9v, 2.5-3-3-8 timings, and I run test #5 in Memtest86 3.1a to detect errors quickly - which it does, but not until right at the very end of the test (around the 90% range). Increasing Vcore up to 1.6v (from 1.45v) did not help, and my PC did not post @ 1.7v! But, from eva's guide, I'm lead to believe the errors are purely memory-related, but how can this be?! PC3200 memory giving errors at significantly lower levels than stock? I'm lead to believe XP-M's don't play well with the memory controllers on my particular m/b, but this is rediculous! I've got myself a copy of the newest memtest86+ v1.20 (also from eva's guide), which I will run to double-check, but any recommendations at this point? Thanks in advance!

*EDIT* Same results with memtest86+ v1.20, now I'm leaning towards a CPU fault (refer to CPU not posting @ 1.7v), but then again, errors in test #5 are implicitly memory-related. Something very wrong here!

Last edited by F@TMAN; 19-08-2004 at 10:24 PM.
F@TMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2004, 01:02 AM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,021
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
i've read NF7-S is picky and fussy with ram... i never used AMD XP so not sure as the guide i wrote is for P4 mainly so could be different for AMD XP?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2004, 04:59 PM   #3
break
Senior Member
break's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 23 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 254
Some multipliers are also picky, so start with a very low multiplier like 5x

Also, make sure CPU interface is enabled (or maybe it needs to be disabled, can't remember) in bios. My previous XP-M setup wouldn't post above 190fsb unless I had this on/off (can't remember which).
break is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2004, 06:13 PM   #4
ArcTan
Senior Member
ArcTan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 06 2004
Location: Sydney, Arsestralia
Posts: 1,927
yeah they're sometimes fussy
I had problems with XMS3500 and samsung CTL on my NF7-S v1.2
and I think I've run into some more problems with double sided HyperX 3000 and my Abit AN7 motherboard. I've just tried the cpc off modded bios by tictac so we'll see how it goes
I get windows corruption when I raise the fsb past 180
ArcTan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2004, 02:16 AM   #5
break
Senior Member
break's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 23 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 254
But yeah, just say your running 2x512meg sticks.

Your going to want to flash your bios with a CPC disabled bios. That should help as well.
break is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 04:09 PM   #6
F@TMAN
Junior Member
F@TMAN's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 01 2004
Posts: 28
By break
Also, make sure CPU interface is enabled (or maybe it needs to be disabled, can't remember) in bios. My previous XP-M setup wouldn't post above 190fsb unless I had this on/off (can't remember which).
Remembered which one yet?!


I've had some luck in DC, I managed to get her posting @ 198mhz FSB, 6:6 ratio, had to loosten timings a great deal (running "By SPD": 2.5-3-3-8). Failed memtest86+ #8, but I did all tests looping for the past 24hrs (although, it only did 2 loops! hehe). I'm gunna bump her down to 197mhz and run the standard tests, see how she goes. Thanks for the replies, everyone! It looks to me like my DIMM1 doesn't like RAM @ all lol
F@TMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 04:10 PM   #7
F@TMAN
Junior Member
F@TMAN's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 01 2004
Posts: 28
*UPDATE* Thanks for all your comments, it was these that had persuaded me to take the plunge and try that 3Dfire BIOS, read more about it here.

200mhz FSB went well with the ram (23hrs, 50-odd loops of standard memtest86+ tests), memory in DC, 2.5-3-3-8 (wouldn't post @ CAS2), vdimm @ 2.9v - I'm happy, considering it's CH-5 memory (also, I enabled cpu interface).

At this point, I'm priming @ 200x13.5 (1.85v vcore BIOS, 1.77v real), although I managed to boot up @ 200x14 , but wasn't much good for anything other than web-browsing (even up to 1.975v vcore, but that undervolted to somewhere just above 1.9v). I believe it's my PSU holding me back, that +12v rail is hovering around 11.73v at load, and vcore atm is undervolting as much as 0.11v! But, if things go well, I will be happy with the current results. If I can be bothered, I might try upping the FSB 5-10mhz, but then again I've always liked round numbers, ie 200mhz Finally up there, w00t!

Thanks again, everyone!
F@TMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
31a, errors, interpretations, memtest86


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Memtest86 3.1a errors - interpretations?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memtest86+ (v5.00 beta 4) eva2000 General Software 61 30-03-2013 07:07 PM
TWINX1024-3200C2 v4.1(TCCD) errors in memtest86 gusthemus Corsair DDR1 on AMD 11 13-10-2005 01:22 AM
Yubbo's OCZ ValueVX RAM Rants KingYubbo General AMD DDR1 Memory 52 21-07-2005 05:54 AM
Value VX, timings, FSB speeds and errors. Help ;) BurntToast OCZ DDR1 on AMD 5 11-07-2005 08:00 PM
4x 256MB A-DATA PC4000 on IC7 & PX865PE PRO2 eva2000 DDR1 Intel Memory 0 23-07-2004 04:40 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:46 PM.

no new posts