You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Q9450 & P5E - no boot! - Page 2 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2009, 06:10 PM   #9
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,024
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Can definitely say your NB and FSB volts are too low even for dual core cpus let alone quad core FSB volts between 1.25-1.4v and NB between 1.3-1.5v would probably be needed.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 07:56 PM   #10
olnorton
Senior Member
olnorton's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 06 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 165
Also, if this is your memory http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134218
You will want to increase your Dram Voltage to 2.20v
olnorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 05:46 PM   #11
ultima
Junior Member
ultima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 01 2009
Posts: 5
Hi,

Thanks for the advice. Today I could boot my computer with the first try, even though I haven't
changed anything in the bios.

If I change the Northbridge Voltage to 1,3 V and FSB Termination Voltage to 1,3 V.
Would that damage my components (cpu, mobo etc.)?

Yes, that's the RAM I am using. I could change it to 2,2V but I read on this forum
that the motherboard actually supplies more V or something, so setting 2,2 V would be 2,3 in reality...
not sure....
ultima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:32 PM   #12
olnorton
Senior Member
olnorton's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 06 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 165
By ultima View Post
If I change the Northbridge Voltage to 1,3 V and FSB Termination Voltage to 1,3 V.
Would that damage my components (cpu, mobo etc.)?
Not a chance in hell.

By ultima View Post
Yes, that's the RAM I am using. I could change it to 2,2V but I read on this forum
that the motherboard actually supplies more V or something, so setting 2,2 V would be 2,3 in reality...
not sure....
Kingston would allow for that & less than 5% extra voltage wouldn't bother them.
But even using 2.10v would give you more chance of running the memory stable than 1.80.
olnorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 08:26 AM   #13
Jammer
Senior Member
Jammer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,009
I was running my old Q9550 on a P5E with 1066 RAM no problems.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 08:57 AM   #14
ultima
Junior Member
ultima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 01 2009
Posts: 5
Today, I could boot my computer twice without problems and I changed nothing at all in the BIOS settings.

I'll wait and see until the end of this week if this holds up. If not, I'll try to increase the voltages like you advised.
ultima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 10:02 AM   #15
Tekxpert
Senior Member
Tekxpert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 27 2008
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 249
I'm glad I don't have this combination anymore. Quads are still useless for me
Tekxpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:43 AM   #16
ultima
Junior Member
ultima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 01 2009
Posts: 5
I changed my DRAM voltage and saved the settings (using F10) before exiting BIOS, but
when I reentered the BIOS the settings were set back to [AUTO] (except the 1066 Mhz setting).
Does anyone know why the changes were undone???

Thanks in advance
ultima is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
boot, p5e, q9450


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Q9450 & P5E - no boot!
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lanparty UT X58 boot issue? Zaratustra DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 6 20-08-2009 05:53 AM
GA-EX58 Extreme and RAID card not seen on boot mervincm Gigabyte Intel Motherboard / CPU 10 14-05-2009 03:26 PM
[Legitreviews.com] Instant Boot on ASRock N7AD-SLI Motherboards News Reviews & News Online 0 25-12-2008 05:30 AM
Dual boot Win XP Pro 32bit and Vista 64 changy Operating systems 6 05-11-2008 09:31 PM
new harddrive, windows doesn't boot!! help please aiya_au Hard drives & Controllers 21 30-01-2007 03:07 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:30 AM.

no new posts