You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Upgraded RAM, Slower performance - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-07-2008, 09:05 PM   #1
BLOODY PC
Junior Member
BLOODY PC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 17 2008
Posts: 3
Upgraded RAM, Slower performance

PC
Gigabyte GA-K8NSNXP-939 Mother, 1 X 512 meg DDR 400 RAM, AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 1.8GHz CPU, Windows Vista Home Premium OS.

PROBLEM
PC was running like crap, switching off, running slow, continual beeping every couple of seconds. Put it down to faulty RAM. Was running Windows XP. I purchased a new stick of 1 Gig RAM, installed it and the computer ran even slower. I looked and the PC Perf Specs and it advised RAM was 256 meg???? Put this down to faulty new RAM. Exchanged the RAM and this time the computer still ran slow however the PC Specs showed 1 Gig. Exchanged the RAM 2 more times, same thing.

I gave the PC a good clean and got the original 512 RAM running. This then allowed me to install Vista. Put the new 1 Gig RAM back in and the PC runs slow as. Tryed pairing the 512 and 1 Gig, the PC specs showed 1.5 Gig but the PC still ran slow as. The PC has 4 RAM Slots, tryed all configurations, no luck.

New RAM was all DDR400

WTF is going on???

Please help, Regards, Fred.

PS I have already asked this question at - http://www.freepchelp.co.uk/forum/me...rformance.html
BLOODY PC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2008, 09:36 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Upgraded RAM, Slower performance

been ages since i ran s939 but IIRC 512MB + 1GB = single channel mode ?? you're want 2x 512MB or 2x1GB for dual channel.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2008, 09:43 PM   #3
BLOODY PC
Junior Member
BLOODY PC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 17 2008
Posts: 3
Re: Upgraded RAM, Slower performance

Trying to run one stick of 1GB in Single channel mode
BLOODY PC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008, 06:57 PM   #4
BLOODY PC
Junior Member
BLOODY PC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 17 2008
Posts: 3
Re: Upgraded RAM, Slower performance

All sorted chaps, just had to upgrade the BIOS
BLOODY PC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008, 08:38 PM   #5
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Upgraded RAM, Slower performance

Good to see you sorted it out
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
performance, ram, slower, upgraded


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Upgraded RAM, Slower performance
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[hwbot] Super Pi v1.50 - 1M rankings pt2 hwbot HWBOT Official Rankings 25 22-12-2009 07:11 AM
[hwbot] CPU-Z pt2 hwbot HWBOT Official Rankings 31 22-09-2009 10:28 PM
[hwbot] wPrime 32M Rankings pt2 hwbot HWBOT Official Rankings 32 06-06-2009 09:01 PM
Core i7 and Games, Memory Testing 6GB vs 3GB Yellowbeard DDR3 Intel Memory 8 30-01-2009 04:51 PM
Flash memory benchmarks [SD cards] USB2.0 readers eva2000 Flash Memory & SSD devices 0 23-07-2004 03:37 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:41 PM.

no new posts