You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Buying 2GB of Ram from America - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-06-2005, 07:30 PM   #1
annandin
Junior Member
annandin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 05 2004
Posts: 4
Buying 2GB of Ram from America

I need a ram upgrade (currently 512x 2 @ 220 2.5-4-3-11 2T), and I thought that I might take advantage of my parent's trip to America, by getting them to purchase 2GB of ram for me.

I had a look at Newegg for options, and found:

Rosewill 2GB DDR 400 (Model RW400/2048KITDP) 2.5-3-3-7 @ 2.6v - $185US ($240AUD)
GeIL Value 2GB DDR 400 (Model GE2GB3200BDC) 3-8-4-4 @ 2.55v - $180US ($235AUD)
OCZ 2GB DDR 400 (Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K) 2-3-2-5 @ 2.6v - $270US ($350AUD)
CORSAIR XMS 2GB DDR 400 (Model Twinx2048-3200c2pt) 2-3-3-6 @ 2.5v - $245US ($320AUD)

I'm guessing the OCZ ram would be the best, but I'm not sure if I can stretch my budget that much.

Would the latency make much of a difference for me (s754 a64, used for games and cad work)?

I've never heard of Rosewill, is it a decent brand?

Any other reccomendations?

Cheers, annandin
annandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 07:35 PM   #2
blackjok3r
Senior Member
blackjok3r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 03 2005
Location: Stoneville, Perth WA
Posts: 899
yeah the OCZ looks good, and not really. The latency wil be faster but it will not be as much that it isnt worth going 2Gb. Yes it will run at 2T, but there will be more of it, so if your doing stuff that needs lots of ram, then the 2GB will help, even if it is slower at the same speed.
blackjok3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 10:48 PM   #3
annandin
Junior Member
annandin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 05 2004
Posts: 4
All the Ram I mentioned run at 1T won't they?

I commonly have 3ds max, photoshop and firefox open at once, not to mention the load from bf2, so 2gb of ram would be useful for me.
annandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 11:12 PM   #4
the _rick
Senior Member
the _rick's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 30 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,248
don't know if you'd see much difference between the 1 and 2GB. Cad, yes maybe or HDR HL2 expansion when it comes out.

as for 1/2T with the S754, i am unsure. you probably need to check with the manufacturer beforehand for compat. with your mobo and CPU.
the _rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 11:33 PM   #5
blackjok3r
Senior Member
blackjok3r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 03 2005
Location: Stoneville, Perth WA
Posts: 899
I'd say it may run at 2T because of single channel mem controller. If it does run at 1T then get it. You just arn't going to get an overclock from it is all.
blackjok3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 11:43 PM   #6
annandin
Junior Member
annandin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 05 2004
Posts: 4
I would get over the 2T anyway, because I have it at the moment. Does anyone have any experiance with the aforementioned sticks of ram specifically?
annandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2gb, america, buying, ram


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Buying 2GB of Ram from America
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 X58 Triple Channel DDR3 Memory kits list eva2000 DDR3 Intel Memory 63 25-05-2009 09:26 PM
2gb Ram kit for Asus A8V Skitz 2GB and higher forums 3 29-12-2006 01:50 PM
2GB Ram Upgrade Recommendations HERCULES 2GB and higher forums 1 04-07-2006 11:22 PM
Buying 2GIG RAM KIT <----Help Me Choose! f1re 2GB and higher forums 3 03-12-2005 11:59 AM
1GB best ram vs 2GB cheaper ram ?? aussie-revhead 2GB and higher forums 10 10-09-2005 01:10 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 05:19 PM.

no new posts