You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
What causes artifacts ? - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-05-2005, 10:37 PM   #1
aussie-revhead
Senior Member
aussie-revhead's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 03 2005
Posts: 352
What causes artifacts ?

Hi everyone , excuse the noobness of my question , but is there a particular thing that causes artifacts ? I am running my 6600GT at 575/1150 , and anything below about 2.6 ghz it does not artifact . From 2.6 up it artifacts , with severity increasing as overclock increases . I can play UT at 2.65 ghz but it creates too many false images in game . Any help would be great .

aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 11:57 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
read http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=327 it can be ram related or if you set LDT multipler too high (read LDT multiplier description in guide at http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=327 )
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2005, 04:23 AM   #3
babyelf
Senior Member
babyelf's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 15 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 1,422
if i'm not mistaken there are 2 types of artifacting.. which you can identify.. one of them corresponds to your core increase and one of them to your memory..

can't remember how they look like .. sorry =/
babyelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 03:11 PM   #4
Statts
Senior Member
Statts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 03 2005
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 102
6600GT running at 575 core? WTH? My XFX 6800GT is only at 431?
Statts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 09:47 PM   #5
aussie-revhead
Senior Member
aussie-revhead's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 03 2005
Posts: 352
Thanks guys ,
Eva , nah my multi is set to 3x and I tried some more volts anyway and it didnty help. Might I need more power supply ? I am using the stock 430 watt that came with my tsunami dream case .
babyelf , if you might stumble upon that website again it would be real helpful .
Stats , yeah 6800 are different , and that may be why 6600gt's are such a good mid range card , or they just measure it differently or something . Mine stock is 500 mhz and the nvidia overclock interface detects the maximum safe overclock as about 575 mhz , I havent tried beyond that ( never needed to anyway ) .

Cheers .

aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 09:52 PM   #6
aussie-revhead
Senior Member
aussie-revhead's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 03 2005
Posts: 352
Will a better cooler help the overclocking performance ?

aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 10:52 PM   #7
KingYubbo
Senior Member
KingYubbo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 11 2005
Posts: 761
Yes
KingYubbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 11:20 PM   #8
aussie-revhead
Senior Member
aussie-revhead's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 03 2005
Posts: 352
Even if the nvidia heat monitor says its not hot under load ? About 50 degrees while playing ? Redline is set at 127 , is that right ?

aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
artifacts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: What causes artifacts ?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI 8800ULTRA OC artifacts Please help. GizmoSLI Video Cards 9 10-03-2008 02:29 PM
Bad Dimm caused by CPU? Bun-Bun Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 39 02-10-2007 12:11 PM
Fastest way to test for artifacts? ShiFTy Video Cards 16 19-01-2007 04:34 PM
hardly any overclock on PowerColour X1900XT? dynasty Video Cards 24 24-10-2006 12:06 PM
AI7 -- BH-5 + CH-5 discovery Esc DDR1 Intel Memory 9 25-08-2004 04:15 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:03 PM.

no new posts