You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
What memory for AMD 3800+ system? - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2005, 10:58 PM   #1
anthonyl
Junior Member
anthonyl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 05 2004
Posts: 21
What memory for AMD 3800+ system?

Have just upgraded to the following:

Asus A8N SLI (not deluxe)

AMD 64 3800+

Albatron 6800 Ultra

I already had 1 GB of OCZ 3200EB ram and am currently using that..now..Is the OCZ 3200EB the best Ram I could be using for this setup or can you suggest somehting better?

Thanks for any help.
anthonyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 11:13 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
hey

A8N-SLI does love OCZ EB ram it loved my 2x512MB OCZ PC3700EB and did 245-249mhz 3-2-2-8 1T .

Can you ram do 2.5-2-2-6 or 3-2-2-6 1T and what's it's max ?

AMD64 clocking guide is a must read too http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=327 in finding max cpu and ram clocks.

Since you have 12x cpu multiplier it's alot easier on your ram i.e. if you can do 12x225mhz 2.5-2-2-6 or 3-2-2-6 1T (CPC on)

But follow the guide at http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=327 to find max cpu mhz first

Not sure what the latest bios for your board is now, do some searching on abxzone.com and xtremesystems.org as to best bios for A8N-SLI non deluxe.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 12:21 AM   #3
T_M
Senior Member
T_M's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 07 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 5,335
Ive got 2x512Mb OCZ 3700EB for sale $300 and theyre yours
T_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 10:58 AM   #4
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
dude just get those cheap $169 OCZs BH5s from Nintek and give it 3volts.....it should return decent numbers....i don't know much about burning in RAM but it seems it will help as well according to that twinmos bh5 ram review link eva sent posted here......you will be better off at 220MHz 2-2-2-6 than 240 Cas3.....i can confirm that as i've been able to compare my old results with Cas3 timings with new Cas2-2-2-6 timings on my mobo

By anthonyl
Have just upgraded to the following:

Asus A8N SLI (not deluxe)

AMD 64 3800+

Albatron 6800 Ultra

I already had 1 GB of OCZ 3200EB ram and am currently using that..now..Is the OCZ 3200EB the best Ram I could be using for this setup or can you suggest somehting better?

Thanks for any help.
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 08:05 PM   #5
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
dino, OCZ EB is different from other ram cas3 on OCZ EB is like cas2/2.5 on regular ram
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 09:24 PM   #6
KingYubbo
Senior Member
KingYubbo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 11 2005
Posts: 761
Wait... EB or BH-5 is good. OCZ Booster and 2-2-2-5 @ 260 3.3v yourself.

Last edited by KingYubbo; 13-05-2005 at 09:46 PM.
KingYubbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 09:40 PM   #7
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
i had EB.....and got rid of it as fast as i could.....didn't like it one bit

By eva2000
dino, OCZ EB is different from other ram cas3 on OCZ EB is like cas2/2.5 on regular ram
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2005, 09:47 PM   #8
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
to each his own i guess this is my old 2x 512MB OCZ PC3700EB on A8N-SLI Deluxe with 3500+ winnie oem











eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3800, amd, memory, system


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: What memory for AMD 3800+ system?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[info] Windows 7 usable memory less than physically installed memory eva2000 Operating systems 2 21-04-2011 02:29 AM
DFI Lanparty UT X58-T3EH8 LGA1366 Photos, Bios and Overclocking Information Guide eva2000 DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 350 01-10-2010 09:27 AM
Initial notes, findings and tips DFI UT X58-T3EH8 eva2000 DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 0 04-08-2009 03:17 PM
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 04:42 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 05:49 AM.

no new posts