You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview - Page 15 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-08-2007, 03:28 AM   #113
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

By wazzer96 View Post
so, are you guys saying that both Hardocp (Corsair 1333) and EVA dont have Z9 chipped DDR3???
could be bios related not sure yet

By fornowagain View Post
So started with the Blitz Formula, clocks fine. Running a Quad at 3.6GHz no effort at all.

But, it has one annoying habit. The only way to get it to boot is to switch off the psu and restart. It then does this double shut down and reboot thing. Fires right up. Just shut down from windows or the button and it hangs. Tried all the strap settings, to my mind it looks like a strap reset. Frequency doesn't seem to make much difference, still does it. Is it the board? Or maybe the psu? I flashed the latest bios, put an older one back on?

Would the beta bios help?
lack of voltages issue probably try raising vfsb and/or NB volts and vcore/vdimm
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 01:37 PM   #114
fornowagain
Junior Member
fornowagain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 13 2005
Posts: 12
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

By eva2000 View Post
lack of voltages issue probably try raising vfsb and/or NB volts and vcore/vdimm
I thought that, Ive tried them all well in the red. I can drop the fsb right down and it still wont start unless the psu is turned off. Works every time that way, just does this shutdown and restart first. I really dont want to send this back, it a great board.
fornowagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 02:51 PM   #115
wazzer96
Senior Member
wazzer96's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 20 2007
Posts: 272
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

Well, then you are going to have to beg borrow or steal another PSU to try,.other than your PC&C 510
The first reply to this statement when I post it anywhere is as follows........
"I only have XYZ components and they only draw 425W, so I have lots of room, and this is a very highly thought of product, which worked great on my previous system, so I dont think this is the problem"

The P965 mobo's seem to have started a new trend for PSU behavior requirements, especially for those doing extreme overclocking, (and even more so with quad cores).in that the power must be supplied quickly upon turnon, and it must have little ripple or noise under load.
Personally, I dont like the fact I have to spend $280 for a PSU, but that is the new reality IMHO.
And one must look carefully in their sig at the PSU used by guys with huge overclocks

I also have a suspicion the +5Vsb (voltage sure boot) circuitry and wattage has some factor in high clock boot success, but I am not an electrical engineer. I do suspect this may be the prob here, due to your explanation.
http://www.anandtech.com/casecooling...px?i=3040&p=10.

Secondly, you say the voltages were "well in the RED".
What you think is well in the RED may be just cruising for someone else, and most of the guys over at XS are running 1.5-1.6V as a normal thing on vcore, which depending on mobo may be still undervolting considerably in use.
wazzer96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 09:28 PM   #116
fornowagain
Junior Member
fornowagain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 13 2005
Posts: 12
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

I have tried it on two PSU, the second a Thermaltake Toughpower. And when I say 'in the red' I mean that literally. The board changes text colour for high voltages, Ive tried upto 2V for northbridge and so on. Its not the operating voltages, this is 9 hours prime at 3.6GHz with a quad at 1.47v and its rock solid. Its just won't boot from standby unless the psu power is reset. You can see it restart itself, the other thing I don't trust is the FSB voltage overvolts itself without being set. Select 1.5v, goes to 1.8v. Somethings not right.
fornowagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 10:54 PM   #117
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

By fornowagain View Post
I have tried it on two PSU, the second a Thermaltake Toughpower. And when I say 'in the red' I mean that literally. The board changes text colour for high voltages, Ive tried upto 2V for northbridge and so on. Its not the operating voltages, this is 9 hours prime at 3.6GHz with a quad at 1.47v and its rock solid. Its just won't boot from standby unless the psu power is reset. You can see it restart itself, the other thing I don't trust is the FSB voltage overvolts itself without being set. Select 1.5v, goes to 1.8v. Somethings not right.
Time to start your own new thread with your pc system specs and bios settings used.. use this template to provide the settings http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=4314
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2007, 05:57 PM   #118
wazzer96
Senior Member
wazzer96's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 20 2007
Posts: 272
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

OCWorkbench just came out with this review on extreme (vs. Abit P35 Pro)
http://www.ocworkbench.com/2007/asus...extreme/b8.htm
They got 535 X 6 on a B1 E6300 ES
Using 1066 DDR3 Samsung (Bleh)
Wonder what would have happened with DDR3 1800 Micron Chips
I'm still waiting for someone somewhere to post results with retail G0 E6850, Blitz Extreme and DDR3 1800 - not hand selected.ES chip or factory supplied pre production RAM.

And heres an article on why DDR3 sucks as of now, whatever the clocks achieved
http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=674&p=0
(article is really spread out - one paragraph per page - ugh!)
wazzer96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2007, 06:17 PM   #119
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

Interesting review.. indeed http://www.ocworkbench.com/2007/asus...extreme/g1.htm
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2007, 04:11 AM   #120
erwinz
Member
erwinz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 21 2007
Posts: 54
Re: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview

By eva2000 View Post
hey eva2000 have you tried the new bios??
erwinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
asus, blitz, ddr, ddr2, ddr3, extreme, formula, phase, preview, rog


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Asus R.O.G. Blitz Formula SE (DDR2) / Blitz Extreme (DDR3) - 2 phase DDR preview
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i5 670 & ASUS P7P55D-DELUXE Motherboard 2D review Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 9 18-03-2010 07:41 AM
DDR2 Full Specs List GoriLLakoS DDR2 Intel Memory 48 02-08-2008 02:51 AM
Asus Blitz Formula 1504 beta / Blitz Extreme 1007 beta eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 37 12-05-2008 03:45 AM
Intel Core 2 E6750 + Asus Blitz Formula SE Adventure eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 15 27-07-2007 04:08 PM
DDR1 to DDR2 converter :eek: dinos22 General AMD DDR2 / DDR3 Memory 14 15-09-2006 09:32 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 02:43 PM.

no new posts