You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Dice's P5K-Deluxe - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-05-2007, 12:17 AM   #1
Dice
Senior Member
Dice's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 02 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 153
Dice's P5K-Deluxe

Gear used:
E6320 with Scythe Ninja Plus using 120mm scythe fan and a zalman 92mm fan assisting on the opposite side (push - pull)
Asus P5K-Deluxe - All motherboard chipset voltages manually set to the lowest available
2x1GB Crucial Ballistix PC2-5300 3-3-3 2.2v with 2x60mm fans attached to the top. Ram set to manual timings 5-5-5-11, rest auto

Only testing with E6320 L707A335 <-- severely fsb wall limited by 480FSB
Max CPU frequency for testing is about 470. I gave 501FSB a shot via bios, but no luck. This seems common for some E6320's. SS has 1.45v written which is correct, but I later found it to be unstable so 1.475v is testing right now. There is a vdrop from BIOS setting though so it's at least 30mV less than set in BIOS.


Max stable cpu found (for short testing) so now onto RAM. 600MHz / DDR2-1200 was achievable for windows booting (not stable for 24/7) with only 2.25 or so volts. This got me wanting to find the max RAM clocks.........2.55v

Screen shot is one thing, validation is another
I would like to get 700MHz screen or even valid, but it's a bit hard. Maybe on a cold morning

I'd like to say more to come, but all I plan on doing now is find a nice 24/7 stable and safe setting till I get my Xeon 3070 back.

General info/findings:
- Original bios sucks for OC recovery. I have found the 0304 BIOS excellent for recovery from failed OC's or just bad settings. Just turn off the psu from the back (or unplug power), plug/turn back on and all good. No settings lost, just a safe mode to open BIOS and re-tweak
- This board seems to be able to hit high FSB with very low voltage. I tried to add all sorts of volts but I am unable to pass 480FSB, and can't even get 6x480FSB stable let alone 7x480. damn fsb wall
- I am using the voltage damper option and vdrop according to Asus probe II from idle to load is ~10mV!
- The motherboard doesn't read temps identical to coretemp. When I first booted the board it said 12C. Coretemp said something like 18C (nice ambient temps oh yeah). Then under full load motherboard was reporting 4-5C hotter than coretemp.
- So many RAM ratio's to choose from, I only tried 4:5, 2:3 seriously and both seemed fine at DDR2-1200.
Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 01:47 AM   #2
Dice
Senior Member
Dice's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 02 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 153
Re: Dice's P5K-Deluxe

Trying for some RAM settings without the need to have a fan over the memory. 2.05v on the RAM, DDR2-1128 (loose 5-5-5 timings though), still testing.
http://members.optusnet.com.au/mdice/p5k/2.05vdimm.png

Ambient temps are low and mobo temps aren't too bad as a result. I don't have any fans specifically helping NB though.

edit: those were stable for overnight but when I rebooted from windows it crashed before loading BIOS! I just bumped vcore from 1.475 to 1.4825 and I'll see how that goes.

Last edited by Dice; 19-05-2007 at 11:10 AM.
Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 12:21 PM   #3
Dice
Senior Member
Dice's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 02 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 153
Re: Dice's P5K-Deluxe

It didn't need more vcore or vdimm, it needed more nb voltage! bumped it up to 1.40v and no problems rebooting now.

32M PI at my attempted 24/7 settings:

Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 01:28 PM   #4
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,819
Re: Dice's P5K-Deluxe

OMG that's ****ing nuts (RAM speed)
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 03:12 PM   #5
Dice
Senior Member
Dice's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 02 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 153
Re: Dice's P5K-Deluxe

You aint seen nothing yet I got the magic number this morning
DDR2-1400 On my $190AUD inc delivery Crucial Ballistix PC2-5300 RAM

That's DDR2-1350 Dual channel booting to windows and DDR2-1400 single 1GB stick using setfsb after booting from DDR2-1367

I've been playing the super PI game a bit today, a bit limited with this CPU and RAM can't do 4-4-4 timings much higher than DDR2 1050 I think. So low clock 32M Super PI, I was aiming for sub 15min around 3.05GHz, didn't quite make it even with most subtimings relatively tight




Then here are my 24/7 settings that I orthos'd last night. 470FSB x 7 multi. RAM with 5:6 divider set to 5-5-5-8, rest set to auto but 35 TRFC.

Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 03:16 PM   #6
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,819
Re: Dice's P5K-Deluxe

nice overclock

my 24/7 clocks on ram are similar but mine don't clock that high with more volts

i run my rig 367*10=3670 1.36v 550MHz on RAM 2.2v 5-5-5-x (OEM Micron sticks....cheap too heh)
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 03:32 PM   #7
Dice
Senior Member
Dice's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 02 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 153
Re: Dice's P5K-Deluxe

Hopefully I can get something like that going when I get my Xeon 3070 back from RMA. My RAM is only getting 2.05v atm at DDR2-1128. I can't imagine what the PC2-8000 and PC2-8500 Crucial kits will manage! They gain the ability to do 4-4-4 timings at DDR2-1100+ clocks I think.
Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 03:43 PM   #8
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,819
Re: Dice's P5K-Deluxe

By Dice View Post
Hopefully I can get something like that going when I get my Xeon 3070 back from RMA. My RAM is only getting 2.05v atm at DDR2-1128. I can't imagine what the PC2-8000 and PC2-8500 Crucial kits will manage! They gain the ability to do 4-4-4 timings at DDR2-1100+ clocks I think.
i think you got very lucky

my PC10000 don't do that.........errr i haven't tried but they would probably struggle
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dice, p5kdeluxe


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Dice's P5K-Deluxe
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My p5k deluxe is dead! ACK Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 8 09-02-2008 11:00 PM
Asus E8xxx support bioses Blitz Formula/Extreme, P5K3 Deluxe, Commando, P5K Deluxe eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 24 04-02-2008 06:42 PM
Asus P5K Deluxe - Intel P35 Bearlake + Intel E6600 B1 ES / Q6600 Kentsfield / X6800 eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 296 24-10-2007 11:12 AM
Asus P5K Deluxe (DDR2) / P5K3 Deluxe (DDR3) - Intel P35 Bearlake/ICH9R - Info/Photos eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 110 06-08-2007 03:23 AM
Q6600 B3 ES @4009Mhz - Asus P5K Deluxe + 14-18C ambients eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 4 11-06-2007 09:17 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:00 AM.

no new posts