You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Kayl's Q6700 ES B1 - Page 2 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-02-2007, 07:31 AM   #9
before
Senior Member
before's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 23 2005
Location: France
Posts: 448
Facebook Page
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

By kayl
Saved for cascade results
Nice results so far mate... Cascade time has come!
before is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 09:10 AM   #10
bazx
Member
bazx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 21 2006
Location: England
Posts: 91
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

yes it is time kayl

i have my qx6700 upto 4600mhz wprime @-95 1.85v vdrop/vmod commando
bazx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 09:25 AM   #11
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,824
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

By bazx
yes it is time kayl

i have my qx6700 upto 4600mhz wprime @-95 1.85v vdrop/vmod commando
nooisse mate
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 09:27 AM   #12
SLi_dog
Senior Member
SLi_dog's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 10 2005
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 2,099
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

By kayl
Strange thing though is core temps, its been stuck at 1c at any oc idle or load using both the asus Tool and speedfan ?
You're luck kayl, 1C is good
I didn't try speedfan with the VapoLS but for me CoreTemp would bottom out at 16C and wouldn't report anything lower than that which just makes it that little more difficult with sub zero

I think it's to do with the on die sensor. It was the same with my X6800 & E6600. WTF was intel thinking not including minus temperature capabilities into a 50C running chip .
I mean the nerve


By bazx
i have my qx6700 upto 4600mhz wprime @-95 1.85v vdrop/vmod commando
Great overclock but damn that's a lot of vcore

I hope mine doesn't need that much or I've got no chance of hitting 5Ghz
I needed 1.68v (windows idle) to reach 4.2Ghz with the VapoLS.

Last edited by SLi_dog; 23-02-2007 at 09:32 AM.
SLi_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 09:51 AM   #13
bazx
Member
bazx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 21 2006
Location: England
Posts: 91
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

vcore seems to vary alot mm has one @ only 1.6v 4600mhz i think

its a hell of a job to hold one of these with all 4 cores on fire
bazx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 09:54 AM   #14
SLi_dog
Senior Member
SLi_dog's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 10 2005
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 2,099
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

By bazx
vcore seems to vary alot mm has one @ only 1.6v 4600mhz i think

its a hell of a job to hold one of these with all 4 cores on fire
As you know, the more you lower the temps the more the conductivity of the metal increases so I'd expect 1.6vcore to go alot further at -150C than -50C

Can't wait for LN2 testing
SLi_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 10:00 AM   #15
bazx
Member
bazx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 21 2006
Location: England
Posts: 91
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

By SLi_dog
As you know, the more you lower the temps the more the conductivity of the metal increases so I'd expect 1.6vcore to go alot further at -150C than -50C

Can't wait for LN2 testing
funny you should say that thickbrit was round mine with ln2 on his 6800
and it pull a 5.5 with only 1.7 droping all over the place

so there may be hope
bazx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 10:19 AM   #16
kayl
Senior Member
kayl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 22 2005
Location: Port Hedland
Posts: 1,749
Re: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1

Thanxs for that guys, I downloaded New prime95 didn’t get time to do much priming. This morning I ran it for 30mins or so -31c load, vcore droops to 1.58v so I think I might have to do the vcore droop mod soon. It failed on one 3rd core though at around 3850.

By before
Nice results so far mate... Cascade time has come!
I have a bunch of parts arriving next week and ill start my cascade then. Heres it so far. Not much but hey it’s a start.
By bazx
yes it is time kayl
i have my qx6700 upto 4600mhz wprime @-95 1.85v vdrop/vmod commando
that’s some nice results there bazx, I bet that Q6700 is toasty at that vcore. I don’t think ill run my that high though.

By SLi_dog
You're luck kayl, 1C is good
I didn't try speedfan with the VapoLS but for me CoreTemp would bottom out at 16C and wouldn't report anything lower than that which just makes it that little more difficult with sub zero
I think it's to do with the on die sensor. It was the same with my X6800 & E6600. WTF was intel thinking not including minus temperature capabilities into a 50C running chip .
I mean the nerve
I hope mine doesn't need that much or I've got no chance of hitting 5Ghz
I needed 1.68v (windows idle) to reach 4.2Ghz with the VapoLS.

Sli_dog with core temp I think 2 cores were 20c and the other 2 15c. but again no matter what OC those temps didn’t change, even idle or load. So I think no software can read it properly.

I tried to do CPUZ validation, but had to get v1.39 to submit a result. With version 1.38 it read the cpu fine, then with v1.39 cpu reads the multiplier as 6x instead of 10x which results is on 2xxxMHZ screen dumps damit, not sure what to do there?
Also I still cant get PCmark 04 and 05 to work, I used that dvd ya sent me and installed media played 10, but when I run pcmark it says I need version higher than 9 at the start of each bench. Then after the bench I submit the results and it says invalid. The same thing happens with my Intel 925D. I think I will have to re-installed windows and try again. Should get some more points for Hwbot there as well.



Heres the HWBOT WPrime32m results, 10.7Sec, ranked 28 = 20.2 point
http://hwbot.org/compare.do?resultId=582520

wprime1024M, 5mins 50sec, ranked 23rd, = 11.4points.
http://hwbot.org/compare.do?resultId=582515
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC09862.JPG (68.1 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg DSC09864.JPG (51.6 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg DSC09867.JPG (45.7 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by kayl; 23-02-2007 at 04:34 PM.
kayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
kayl, q6700


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Kayl's Q6700 ES B1
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Techpowerup.com] Intel to Phase Out Two More 65nm CPUs - the Core 2 Quad Q6700 and Core 2 Duo E4700 News Reviews & News Online 0 03-12-2008 05:51 AM
First run with Kayl's Rev2 CPU Pot + 6Kg DICE gaidin Cooling 11 19-11-2007 09:40 PM
Q6700 cascade fun, 4.85G SPI 1M done Victorshen Gigabyte Intel Motherboard / CPU 12 24-10-2007 09:24 PM
If you had the choice between QX6700 and Q6700... gaidin General Intel Motherboards / CPU 3 16-10-2007 12:13 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 11:43 PM.

no new posts