You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Gudance building Workstation for Son going to College for Engineering - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-02-2012, 08:57 PM   #1
frodoz737
Member
frodoz737's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 01 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 67
Cool Gudance building Workstation for Son going to College for Engineering

Hi everyone. With your help and others, I successfully built 2 high end 775 computers a few years back that are still competitive with the i7s. Now I need help building a workstation for Son's College phase. He will be working his undergraduate for Mechanical Engineering so this box must/will use a "Certified" GPU (Quadro 4000-6000) and EEC registered memory.

So help me build this new box if you please.

Thanks as always,

frodoz737

PS - Further consideration. Intel CPU, W7-64, Office, Solidworks, AutoDesk, CS5.5 Master, and what ever else he needs.

Last edited by frodoz737; 27-02-2012 at 07:23 AM.
frodoz737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 12:30 AM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,011
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Never dealt with Quadro GPUs so can't really help there or ECC memory in desktop/workstation setting.

Probably could do with just a i7 3930K, X79 motherboard with 8 memory dimm slots for 64GB max unbuffered memory.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:23 AM   #3
Don_Dan
Senior Member
Don_Dan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 07 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 196
Do you really need ECC REG memory? If you need it that will greatly limit your choice of motherboards. Plain ECC should be good enough I think.

The workstations we're using at university are built with the Xeon equivalent of the i7 920, 6GB of RAM, and a Quadro VGA. We're using CATIA by the way. I've also installed CATIA on my laptop ( 2.4GHz Core2Duo and 4GB RAM ), and it's running pretty decent as long as the projects aren't getting too large/complicated.
Any rig with a 2600k/3930k should be able to handle the above-mentioned programms more than well, 16GB RAM should be plenty too. However check out which mainboard you can use for this build first!
Don_Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:04 AM   #4
frodoz737
Member
frodoz737's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 01 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 67
Thanks for responding. Since posting I looked into Dassault v6 Certified systems on their site. Using dual Xeons, Quadro with Tesla and EEC memory appears common and desirable. The problem is those listed are made and certified by someone else and prices ranged from $9000 -to- "you said how much" .

This is what persuaded me to build my other 2 boxes in the first place. The hardware needed for these software applications is very different, and the information needed to allow this SW work properly, let alone be certifiable, is not real clear. So just throwing together good parts won't work this time I suspect. I found the graphic drivers, but still need a guide to what makes this high end software and hardware sing the right song.

http://a2.media.3ds.com/fileadmin/SU...-bit.html#BOXX
frodoz737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:14 PM   #5
frodoz737
Member
frodoz737's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 01 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 67
Rethinking or delaying new build due to probable costs and determined Son will not need this much computer first year or two. So another option is to swap out his GTS 250 for a Quadro. Motherboard is a GA-EG45M-UD2H and I need to clarify something please. Does the statement below mean this is a 2.0 X16 slot on this motherboard?

"1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
(The PCI Express x16 slot conforms to PCI Express 2.0 standard.)"

I know this sounds stupid to ask (so go ahead and poke), but if I buy workstation card, it is important for me to clarify.

Thanks.
frodoz737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2012, 01:33 AM   #6
frodoz737
Member
frodoz737's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 01 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 67
Smile

Received Georges notice of 8th Anniversary, so I thought I would drop by for a visit.

Just a note that I purchased my Son the Dell Precision M4600 for College instead. He started 2 days after High School Graduation and so far is sticking with Mechanical Engineering as his Major.

i7-2860QM | 32GB DDR3-1333, 9-9-9-24 | 128GB mSATA Boot | 750GB SATA @7200 | Quadro 2000M | Slot DVD | FHD(1920x1080)LED | Intel 6300 | Dell 375 BT | Backlit KB | WebCam-Mic | 9 Cell | Windows Pro 7-64

Last edited by frodoz737; 23-07-2012 at 01:58 AM.
frodoz737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
building, college, engineering, gudance, son, workstation


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Gudance building Workstation for Son going to College for Engineering
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) HP Expands Workstation Series to Include Desk-side, Mobile and Small Form Factor Mode News Reviews & News Online 0 25-03-2010 01:30 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 02:44 PM.

no new posts