You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2006, 07:25 PM   #1
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Cool Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe


Yup finally received the DDR2 PCB off Hipro so adventures will begin soon. Thanks goes to George/Hipro5 from Hipro-tech.com for sending me the Maximizer to play with


Just preview of the hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer at work for now along with the accompanying package material shown here.

First pic shows DDR2 PCB on top and DDR1 PCB bottom. As you can see i put a thermal probe on the Maximizer chassis to read the temps as users report it can get very hot and might need active fan cooling.










DDR1 Settings


DDR2 Settings


Last edited by eva2000; 09-12-2006 at 12:44 AM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 09:05 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

Some of my own tips to ensure safe usage and that Maximizer metal chassis doesn't overheat and your memory modules don't get too hot:
  1. Read the first time usage guide at http://www.hipro-tech.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3
  2. Be sure as per first time usage guide you set the internal DDR/DDR2 switch to the right mode before plugging in the DDR/DDR2 PCB. Reason is DDR mode also works for DDR2 so you can supply upto 4.2v vdimm max to either DDR/DDR2 modules.
  3. Active cooling over memory modules - place a fan over your memory modules. I use single 120x25mm Delta 75cfm fan right now.
  4. Active cooling on the Maxmizer metal chassis if you can, using fan over that as well.
  5. Place thermal probes on memory modules as well as Maximizer metal chassis so you can easily monitor the temps in case they get out of hand. Thermal probes with preset temp alarms would be good.

Last edited by eva2000; 08-12-2006 at 10:46 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 09:05 PM   #3
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

Decided to play with one of my 2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 Batch sets. This set only did 534mhz 4-4-4-12 at 2.4v vdimm on Asus P5W DH.

System:
  • Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe QPGE B1 Step 5
  • Swiftech G4 Storm/Thermochill 120.3/MCP650 + Kayl 100W Custom PSU
  • Asus P5B Deluxe 0804 bios
  • 128MB Gainward FX5200 PCI
  • 2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 Batch
  • Hipro DDR/DDR2 Maximizer v1.2
  • 500GB Seagate 7200.10 SATAII
  • LiteOn 165H DVD-ROM
  • FDD
  • 3x 120x25mm 76cfm 0.4A fans
  • 1KW OCZ ProXStream 1000PXS Quad PCI-E psu

Below is probably one of my fastest single 32M Super Pi times I have done at such low cpu clocks of 3269mhz! But this pair of Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ is probably one of my poorer clocking ones while it did 533mhz 4-4-4-12 at 2.4v on P5W DH, my better pairs did 540mhz 4-4-4-8 at 2.4v and 563mhz 4-4-4-4 at 2.54v on P5W DH pencil modded.

But remember below 32M results are with very tight secondary timings so probably needed more vdimm.

2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 Batch
@544mhz 4-4-4-4 2-25-5-9-9-9 at 2.58v vdimm




Single 32M


2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 Batch
@544mhz 4-4-4-4 2-28-5-9-9-9 at 2.58v vdimm


Dual 32M



2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 Batch
@561mhz 4-4-4-4 2-30-5-9-9-9 at 2.65v vdimm


And higher we go @561mhz 4-4-4-4



Single 32M



2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 Batch
@566mhz 4-4-4-4 2-32-5-9-9-9 at 2.68v vdimm


@566mhz 4-4-4-4



Single 32M


vdimm is probably higher due to

1. to running such tight secondary timings
2. the fact that the rest of my P5B Deluxe is stock so no other volt mods.. if i had NB volts volt modded to higher than 1.65v max, probably could get away with tighter secondary timings with lower vdimm.

Last edited by eva2000; 09-12-2006 at 03:56 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 09:36 PM   #4
NiSMo
Senior Member
NiSMo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 30 2005
Posts: 424
Re: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

Hey eva just quickly..

wats the advantage of having this compared to the standard vdimm options? is it just for the vdimm higher than the max that the board can support? or does it provide cleaner/more stable vdimm??

hopefully that jargon makes sense to ya?
NiSMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 09:59 PM   #5
JAFFA
Senior Member
JAFFA's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 16 2005
Location: Bedford, UK
Posts: 660
Re: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

hehe really looking forward to seeing the results of your testing with this lil critter. Be careful though dude, don't go killing any of your lovely DDR2 with it.
JAFFA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 10:22 PM   #6
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

Straight from Hipro himself the benefits of the Maximizer http://www.hipro-tech.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=8

Well what does it do!.....

First of, let's take a look on some things.
Today we need more and more Ram into our computers....Not enough the 2 x 512MB any more....
Now....Motherboard manufactures give as more voltage than past....

Let's say a manufacturer gives 2.4Vdimm max through bios....When he designed his motherboard, he kept in mind to give more ram power, so he placed the proper circuit and the proper output power Mos-Fets for it.....
He gave a bit more voltage too (2.4Vdimm).....Calculating all these amperes with voltage and the current the ram modules draw, he did well.....BUT....Here comes the "BUT"....He didn't have in his mind that some "crazy" people (like us) will mod(modificate) his motherboard so as to reach even 3Vdimm.....
Keep in mind that the more voltage we feed the rams, the more current they draw......ALSO raising the Vdimm, the current of the rams raises logarithmic.....
Example: Let's say that our rams at 1.8Volts draw 3A.....At 2.4Volts they will draw 9A and at 2.65Volts they will draw 14A.....NOT to mention what they will draw at 2.85Volts..... OR if we place 4 x 1GB ram modules in.... Very Happy

In real, 2 x 1GB DDR2 ram modules at 2.65Volts, draw 14A - 16A at full load which is about 40 Watts.....
4 x 1GB DDR2 ram modules draw 80 WATTS....In this case we need a VCore circuit for the rams and not 1 or 2 "tiny" Mos-Fets.....One reason that when we overclock 4 x 1GB ram modules, they don't do well at all, it's because our mobo just CAN'T supply them enough.....TOO MUCH load for it, EVEN at 2.4Vdimm.....

In such a case we "press" TOO MUCH the onboard Vdimm circuit and OUT of it's limits.... Wink
If the manufacturer has made the "mistake" (not mistake for him though) and hasn't placed at least a heatsink (which is not enough though) on the output power Mos-Fets, then 2 things (or more) are taking place:
a. TOO much heat on and near the Mos-Fets, which little by little spreads around the motherboard,
b. TOO much fluctuation of the Vdimm voltage
This means that the rams COULD NOT reach their frequency limit because we "stop" them by the fluctuation of the Vdimm....

Now here comes the DDR Maximizer to "help" the mobo(motherboard) by:
a. The ram modules draw ALL the power they need from it and NOT from the mobo which results in a COOLER mobo (and perhaps avoiding of blowing a mobo's output Mos-Fet from heat and "pressure") and
b. STABLE output Vdimm which results to push our ram modules to their REAL limit by providing ACCURATE output voltage and VERY well filtered as well..... Wink

When we plug the DDR PCB into a slot of a mobo, then our ram modules draw ALL the current (power) they need from the DDR Maximizer and NOT from mobo....
So basically, higher vdimm voltage options with more stable and ample vdimm voltage to memory modules bypassing the motherboard (cooler motherboard).
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 09:15 AM   #7
NiSMo
Senior Member
NiSMo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 30 2005
Posts: 424
Re: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

By eva2000
Straight from Hipro himself the benefits of the Maximizer http://www.hipro-tech.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=8



So basically, higher vdimm voltage options with more stable and ample vdimm voltage to memory modules bypassing the motherboard (cooler motherboard).
thanx for clearing that up for me eva
NiSMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:50 AM   #8
RodneyJM
Senior Member
RodneyJM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 01 2005
Location: Forever in Silicon Wars !
Posts: 1,849
Re: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe

Good stuff ! where can we buy this in OZ? or is this some special import ?
I want this now !!!
Have more records to break !!!

I just sent Hipro-tech an email about this very question of availability in Australia.

Last edited by RodneyJM; 09-12-2006 at 10:55 AM.
RodneyJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
ddr or ddr2, deluxe, hiprotechcom, maximizer, p5b


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Hipro-tech.com DDR/DDR2 Maximizer + P5B Deluxe
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P5K Deluxe - Intel P35 Bearlake + Intel E6600 B1 ES / Q6600 Kentsfield / X6800 eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 296 24-10-2007 11:12 AM
Asus P5B Deluxe + E6600/E6700/Q6600 eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 114 06-03-2007 02:54 PM
P5B Deluxe 4:5 vs 2:3 divider thoughts. eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 11 17-02-2007 09:33 PM
Asus P5B Deluxe + E6700 (with/without DDR2 Maximizer) eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 4 13-12-2006 09:00 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 02:26 AM.

no new posts