You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-07-2006, 08:58 PM   #1
Annihilator69
Junior Member
Annihilator69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2006
Location: Rockingham, WA
Posts: 16
My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

Hey people.

This thread is a work in progress, I'll update is as I get more results and testing.

Rough testing (using clockgen to select frequency then run a few SuperPi 1M's) shows that
2x512mb Bh-6 Xms 3200 1.1 Maxes out at around ~260-265 ~3.4v
and 2x512mb Bh-5 Xms 3200LL 1.1 Maxes out at around ~265-270 ~3.4v


I couldn't get them to post at 2-2-2-5 1T,

But I managed to get them running at 2-2-2-6 2T with interleave turned off.

Right now I'm running see attached.

The cpu is good for 2.9ghz peice of piss but gets a bit flakey around 2950mhz, 3ghz is superpi able but dies after a while in cpu stress tests.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ram.JPG (76.8 KB, 12 views)
Annihilator69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2006, 09:19 PM   #2
Annihilator69
Junior Member
Annihilator69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2006
Location: Rockingham, WA
Posts: 16
Re: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

Alright, heres a Sandra screenshot

2.5ghz 250fsb ram 1:1 2-2-2-6 2T interleaving off 3.5v

Oh yeah if anyone has any tips/ideas tell me cause I don't know what I'm doing for 1/2 this stuff.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sandra.JPG (119.9 KB, 2 views)
Annihilator69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2006, 10:55 PM   #3
Vortexkrow
Senior Member
Vortexkrow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 10 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 121
Re: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

Ops double post...sorry :P
Vortexkrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2006, 10:56 PM   #4
Vortexkrow
Senior Member
Vortexkrow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 10 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 121
Re: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

By Annihilator69
Alright, heres a Sandra screenshot

2.5ghz 250fsb ram 1:1 2-2-2-6 2T interleaving off 3.5v

Oh yeah if anyone has any tips/ideas tell me cause I don't know what I'm doing for 1/2 this stuff.
You want 1T enabled not 2T.

Heres how 1t and 2t work..

http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardw...ict176007.html
Vortexkrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 01:02 PM   #5
Annihilator69
Junior Member
Annihilator69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2006
Location: Rockingham, WA
Posts: 16
Re: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

Hrmm I'm having a bit of stability issues...

I've had to drop down to about 237fsb because my games kept crashing to desktop.

Synetic benchmarks work fine though
Annihilator69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 03:40 PM   #6
alpha0ne
Senior Member
alpha0ne's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 25 2005
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 5,287
Re: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

Try swapping the ram over, ram in slot one to slot 3, ram in slot 3 to slot 1 to see if its any better

Are you testing your timings using memtest ??

Also using 4 512MB sticks of different ram grades is not going to work out as well as using 2x1GB sticks, but unfortunately there are not BH-5~6 in 1GB size

Last edited by alpha0ne; 01-08-2006 at 03:43 PM.
alpha0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 07:08 PM   #7
Annihilator69
Junior Member
Annihilator69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2006
Location: Rockingham, WA
Posts: 16
Re: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

Yeah I know what you mean.

But having 2 GB I can already notice the difference.

In BF2 with 1 gig you load the map and it still is 'jerky' 30 secs later,
With 2 gig it loads faster and there is no jerky throughout the game.

Its probably just such a Ram hog since all the settings are cranked with 4xaa and 8af etc, uses ~1.35gb 'peak' in single player 16 player maps.

I havn't done memtest yet, but I'll get around to it.
Annihilator69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 11:24 PM   #8
Annihilator69
Junior Member
Annihilator69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2006
Location: Rockingham, WA
Posts: 16
Re: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4

I courupted my bios by running 280fsb 3-3-3-8

At least with DFI once the BIOS fubar itself up it gives you the option to boot of a floppy and reflash it, so its all good again.
Annihilator69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adventures, corsair, dfi, nf4


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: My 4x512mb Corsair adventures on a DFI Nf4
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 04:42 PM
Burning in DFI NF4 UltraD + Corsair Twinx1024-4400C25 dinos22 Corsair DDR1 on AMD 111 24-05-2005 09:52 PM
Corsair XMS3200C2v1.1 BH-6 + DFI NF4 SLI-D eva2000 Corsair DDR1 on AMD 6 01-05-2005 01:52 PM
[news] OCZ PC5000 Platinum DFI NF4 Special series released eva2000 Reviews & News Online 7 10-04-2005 06:51 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:32 PM.

no new posts