You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Backing up 1300+ GB of data = Seagate 7200.10 SATA - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2006, 06:39 PM   #1
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,015
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Talking Backing up 1300+ GB of data = Seagate 7200.10 SATA

Problem:

Work related + stuff It's to backup my existing 5x 250GB Seagate 7200.8 SATA raid 5 array one of the disks failed as well as 2x 160GB 7200.7 SATA disks failed and now limping along

Raidcore BC4852 8port SATA Raid 5 controller and the old 7200.8 SATA raid 5 array


5yrs worth of bi-daily mysql database back ups which currently are 1.3+ GB uncompressed size per back up or tar/gzip compressed to around 265-300MB per backup for last 3.5 yrs and before than was smaller in size.

Entire back up copies of my web site/dedicatedserver files on local disk i.e. i4memory.com and fileshosts.com i.e.

http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=2708
http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=2629
http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=2540

where ya think all the full resolution source images are housed ?


Solution:

Yay ordered Wednesday from instantit.com.au and arrived this afternoon 8x 320GB 7200.10 SATA 16MB with DOM of May 20, 2006!

Arrived in the original seagate box of 20 packaging with the 8 drives only of course. Not sure which serial numbers are mine yet will check later






Just worried if BC4852 controller will work with 7200.10 drives, so probably setup 4x 7200.10 raid 5 on controller, copy data over from existing 7200.8 raid 5, then unplug 7200.8 raid 5 and keep them as intact backups and work of the 4x 7200.10 raid 5 for existing data and see if all works before setting up 2nd 4x 7200.10 raid 5 on the controller.

Been trying to recover data off my failed drives for ages and waiting for 7200.10 lower models to come into stock

This should last me for another 2yrs at least

.

Last edited by eva2000; 02-06-2006 at 06:41 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:09 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,015
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Well tested all 8 drives using Seagate SeaTools diagnostic quick test and all passed fine it seems

I updated my Raidcore BC4852 SATA raid controller from v1.4 firmware and drivers to v2.1 (scary process in case my existing data/drives wouldn't like v2.1 but so far no probs).

This is how the 4x of these 320GB 7200.10 SATA in SATA150 mode look in windows RaidConsole v2.1 window.







Raidconsole v2.1 finally allows me to see my attached drives' SMART data yay!










Above is my current 4x 250GB 7200.8 SATA raid 5 array, with 4x 320GB 7200.10 SATA yet to have an array created from them yet

Looks like it's going to take me at least 16-18+ hrs to create the raid 5 array as well as copy over 731GB of data

Last edited by eva2000; 03-06-2006 at 05:02 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:09 PM   #3
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,015
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Well 4x 320GB 7200.10 SATA in raid 5 has mixed reports about useable size. In winxp's Administrative Tools -> computer management -> disk management it reports 886.77GB but winxp's explorer and raidconsole says 952GB

It took me 6.5hrs to build 4x 320GB 7200.10 raid 5 array on 3.4E/DFI 875P-T with Raidcore BC4852 on 32bit/33mhz PCI slot so limited. HDtach benched at 99.99MB/s in raid 5 versus my 4x 250GB 7200.8 raid 5 at 79MB/s. HDTune 2.52 benched at 86.2MB/s versus 4x 250GB 7200.8 raid 5 at 74MB/s IIRC. Not overly fast but remember this is raid 5 on 32bit/33mhz PCI bus!

Some benchmarks

4x 320GB 7200.10 SATA 16MB in SATA150 mode on Raidcore BC4852 on 32bit/33mhz PCI slot

HDTACH - Raid 5


HDTune 2.52 - Raid 5

Last edited by eva2000; 03-06-2006 at 02:17 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 12:49 AM   #4
leca
Senior Member
leca's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 25 2005
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 445
OMG LOL, that's very nice eva .... for some reason I was expecting you to have got a few of the new 750 gb drives.

But you didnt and to my surprise 8x320's, hahaha truly awesome as always.
leca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 12:50 AM   #5
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,015
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
By leca
OMG LOL, that's very nice eva .... for some reason I was expecting you to have got a few of the new 750 gb drives.

But you didnt and to my surprise 8x320's, hahaha truly awesome as always.
yeah wanted 750GB but even at AUD$650/each for raid 5 cost in terms of useable drive space would be AUD$1.23+ /GB versus 320GB 7200.10 raid 5 cost at ~AUD$0.87/GB
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 01:16 AM   #6
RodneyJM
Senior Member
RodneyJM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 01 2005
Location: Forever in Silicon Wars !
Posts: 1,849
Very interesting stuff eva, and as usual - educational for a nOOb like me.
RodneyJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 03:18 AM   #7
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,015
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
hehe thanks Rodney

interesting is that 320GB 7200.10 gives you real useable space of 317GB! Much more than usual drives i.e. 320GB WD drives is around 300GB real hehe
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 10:45 AM   #8
Jammer
Senior Member
Jammer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,009
Oooh! Good work eva. I have 3 of these drives on order at work for ummm... work purposes but I may have to swap them for my WD2500KS's.

Would you know how these drives compare to the WD2500KS in terms of performance?
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1300, backing, data, sata, seagate


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Backing up 1300+ GB of data = Seagate 7200.10 SATA
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Bjorn3d.com] Seagate Barracuda 2TB Sata 3 (Sata 6Gb/s) (ST32000641AS CC11) News Reviews & News Online 0 23-11-2009 10:32 PM
[Techpowerup.com] Seagate Readies its First SATA 6 Gbps Hard Drive News Reviews & News Online 0 21-09-2009 11:20 PM
[Techpowerup.com] AMD and Seagate to Demo 6 Gbps SATA Interface News Reviews & News Online 0 03-03-2009 05:30 AM
Seagate 7200.10 SATAII drives eva2000 Hard drives & Controllers 9 09-11-2006 11:09 PM
Seagate Leaks 750GB Barracuda 7200.10 Details ZoKi Hard drives & Controllers 11 16-09-2006 04:30 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 10:46 PM.

no new posts