You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
First time builder: i7 980x, Rampage Extreme III - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-11-2010, 09:20 AM   #1
ShY
Junior Member
ShY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2010
Posts: 3
First time builder: i7 980x, Rampage Extreme III

Hi everyone,
I just recently built my first computer and everything is working fine except my Ram. I have 12 gigs of ram installed but Windows 7 is only seeing 8 gigs. I know with is a widespread problem and I have read many threads about this issue and I have also read the main thread about bumping up voltages. I have tried to bumping up voltages a little (CPU PLL Volt, QPI/DRAM and DRAM Bus Volt) but I am still showing 8 gigs of ram in Windows. Again I am a complete novice when it comes to all these voltages and bios settings.

System Spec:
Intel i7 980x
Asus Rampage iii Extreme
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 Triple Channel Kit TR3X6G1600C8D
(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145224)
Corsair AX1200watt PSU

I copied the bios template that is stickied for the Rampage iii Extreme and input what my current bios has.

Bios Version 1005

Target CPU Frequency 3325MHz
Target DRAM Frequency 1600MHz

LN2 Mode: Disabled***
QPI Loadline Calibration: Disabled

Sync Mode [Enabled]
AI Overclock Tuner [Manual]
OC From CPU level Up [Auto]

2D Performance Booster [Disabled]
CPU Ratio Setting [Auto]
CPU Turbo Power Limit [Disabled]

>CPU Configuration----------------------------
CPU Ratio Setting [Auto]
C1E Support [Enabled]
Hardware Prefetcher [Enabled]
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetcher [Enabled]
MPS and ACPI MADT ordering [Modern]
Intel(R) Virtualization Tech [Enabled]
CPU TM Function [Enabled]
Execute Disable Bit [Enabled]
Intel(R) HT Technology [Enabled]
Active Processor Cores [All]
A20M [Disabled]
Intel(R) SpeedStep(TM) Tech [Enabled]
Performance/Watt select [Traditional]
Intel(R) C-STATE Tech [Disabled]
C State package limit setting [Auto]
C1 Auto Demotion [Enabled]
C3 Auto Demotion [Enabled]
----------------------------------------------

BCLK Frequency [133]
PCIE Frequency [100]
DRAM Frequency [DDR3-1600Mhz]
UCLK Frequency [3333Mhz]
QPI Link Data Rate [Auto]

Memory Configuration Protect [Disabled]

>DRAM Timing Control--------------------------
CAS# Latency 9 Auto
RAS# to CAS# Delay 9 Auto
RAS# PRE Time 9 Auto
RAS# ACT Time 24 Auto
RAS# to RAS# Delay 6 Auto
REF Cycle Time 72 [72]
WRITE Recovery Time 12 Auto
READ to PRE Time 8 Auto
FOUR ACT WIN Time 24 [Auto]
Back-To-BackCAS# Delay 0 [Auto]

Timing Mode 2N Auto
Round Trip Latency on CHA 0
Round Trip Latency on CHB 65 Auto
Round Trip Latency on CHC 65 Auto

WRITE To READ Delay(DD) 6 Auto
WRITE To READ Delay(DR) 6 Auto
WRITE To READ Delay(SR) 18 [Auto]
READ To WRITE Delay(DD) 10 Auto
READ To WRITE Delay(DR) 10 Auto
READ To WRITE Delay(SR) 10 Auto
READ To READ Delay(DD) 7 [Auto]
READ To READ Delay(DR) 6 [Auto]
READ To READ Delay(SR) 4 [Auto]
WRITE To WRITE Delay(DD) 7 [Auto]
WRITE To WRITE Delay(DR) 7 [Auto]
WRITE To WRITE Delay(SR) 4 [Auto]
----------------------------------------------

CPU Differential Amplitude [Auto]
CPU Clock Skew [Auto]
IOH Clock Skew [Auto]
------------ Extreme Engine Digi+ ------------
Digi+ PWR Mode [T-Balanced]
PWR Volt. Control [Auto]
Load-Line Calibration Auto
CPU Voltege OCP [Enabled]
CPU PWM Frequency [Auto]

Extreme OV Disabled
Extreme OC [Auto]

CPU Voltage 1.098 [Auto]
CPU PLL Voltage 1.812 [Auto]
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage 1.323 [1.35000]
DRAM Bus Voltage 1.654 [Auto]

>DRAM REF Voltages----------------------------
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHA [Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHA [Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHB [Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHB [Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHC [Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHC [Auto]
----------------------------------------------

IOH Voltage 1.111 [Auto]
IOH PCIE Voltage 1.508 [Auto]

ICH Voltage 1.111 [Auto]
ICH PCIE Voltage [Auto]



---------- Spread Spectrum Control -----------
CPU Spread Spectrum [Auto]
DRAM Spread Spectrum [Auto]
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I put in bold whatever was different from the stickied bios template with my setting. Are my voltages too low? And I'm slightly confused because I read that the i7 980x had to have a lower unicore setting (not sure what that means).
ShY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 10:10 AM   #2
GenAn
Senior Member
GenAn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 28 2008
Posts: 700
Uclock of 3333MHz is >2x memory speed. Ideally it should be set to 3200MHz or lower, and with 12GB you may have to raise QPI/DRAM Core to 1.400v if you're trying to run uncore high.
GenAn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 11:42 AM   #3
ShY
Junior Member
ShY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2010
Posts: 3
I have set Uclock to 3200Mhz and QPI/DRAM Core Voltage 1.387v and DRAM Bus Voltage1.654 and still only showing me with 8 gigs of ram. Do I need to bump up QPI/DRAM even further?
ShY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 11:55 AM   #4
GenAn
Senior Member
GenAn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 28 2008
Posts: 700
See what happens if you lower Uclock below 3200MHz.
GenAn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 12:16 PM   #5
ShY
Junior Member
ShY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2010
Posts: 3
Lowered Uclock to the next setting under 3200Mhz and still showing 8 gigs of ram.
And thanks for the replies by the way GenAn!
ShY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 12:39 PM   #6
GenAn
Senior Member
GenAn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 28 2008
Posts: 700
Just noticed your tREF is really tight at 72, you probably should try loosening that to 100 or 110.
GenAn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2010, 12:50 AM   #7
fmsam
Member
fmsam's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 29 2009
Location: South of England
Posts: 58
Take a look at this , its old news but Linus thinks you should set memory config' protect to enable !
got to be worth a try right ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AOyl...eature=channel

good luck

Rick
fmsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
980x, builder, extreme, iii, rampage, time


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: First time builder: i7 980x, Rampage Extreme III
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Rampage III Extreme - results thread eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 484 07-11-2011 01:57 AM
Asus Rampage III Extreme bios template eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 2 15-08-2010 02:03 AM
RAMPAGE III EXTREME REVIEW Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 5 06-05-2010 03:44 AM
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) ASUS Launches the Rampage III Extreme and Maximus III Extreme Motherboards News Reviews & News Online 0 16-04-2010 11:40 AM
[Review] PrimoChill Typhoon III skinnee Cooling 4 24-07-2009 02:46 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 09:21 AM.

no new posts