You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
HighAces Opty 170 & Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-05-2006, 10:58 PM   #1
HighAce
Senior Member
HighAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 17 2005
Location: Launceston, Tasmania
Posts: 546
HighAces Opty 170 & Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe

Had some spare time so i have done a few quick runs with this new setup.

System:

Opteron 170 (Stepping is OSA170DAA6CD / CCB1E 0609FPAW)
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe (Flashed to latest BIOS)
G.Skill 2GB HZ's

I'm still waiting on my Silverstone 650w to arrive as there has been delays in stock, but if it's not here by thursday then i will be getting one of the new ThermalTake 750w Toughpowers instead. So at the moment the 170 is only running on my Antec TruePower 2.0 550w.

Had no problems at 2.4, 2.6 and 2.8GHz , i didn't bother getting any screenies other than at 2.8GHz:




The above is with pretty much no tweaking and most settings left on Auto, but Vcore was set to 1.4v in BIOS and ram set to 1:1 at 3-4-4-8.

Now as this is my first dual core setup is there any software or 'patchs' i need or should apply to XP? , i'm sure i remember reading some where about a dual core patch that you should install?

Anyway just about to try for 2.9 then the magic 3GHz mark, more benchies to come!
HighAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2006, 11:13 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Excellent 0609FPAW is good and CCB1E means it's good for water and air but severely cold bugged for sub zero cooling

I think you'd be able to hit 2.9-3ghz on water
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2006, 11:13 PM   #3
MrRevhead
Senior Member
MrRevhead's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 19 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 632
Looking like a nice chip so far.

Can't wait for more results, hopefully she eclipses the 3Ghz mark

What cooling you using on this rig?
MrRevhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2006, 11:26 PM   #4
HighAce
Senior Member
HighAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 17 2005
Location: Launceston, Tasmania
Posts: 546
At last!!! my first 3GHz AMD!

Have not tried running SP2004 as yet but its moving around windows fine and completed up to an 8m superPI run

Here's a 1m run just for a teaser



Seeing as this is not tweaked yet i can't wait to see what it will do when i get it all fine tuned, might have to put the X1900XTX in for a few runs

Only thing i had to do to get to 3GHz was drop my ram down to 183 divider, apart from that i just upped it to 300 and away she went!

So finally my waiting and building has paid off

More benchies and screenies soon, once i calm down!
HighAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2006, 11:31 PM   #5
MrRevhead
Senior Member
MrRevhead's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 19 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 632
Very nice stepping indeed! Performing similar to 0551 U/VPMW's

Can't wait to see more intensive tests (32M Pi, Prime etc).

Your results to date are tempting me to upgrade to dual core
MrRevhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2006, 11:36 PM   #6
HighAce
Senior Member
HighAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 17 2005
Location: Launceston, Tasmania
Posts: 546
By MrRevhead

What cooling you using on this rig?

Thanks for reminding me, i better update my sig!

I'm using a Radiical setup, 1x 120mm Single Pass Rad, Swiftech MCP600 and a Series III Model CWX waterblock. Under full stress at stock speed it rarely gets over 38c, at idle it sits around 31-33c.

I'll post some pics of the case and setup tomorrow.
HighAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2006, 11:45 PM   #7
HighAce
Senior Member
HighAce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 17 2005
Location: Launceston, Tasmania
Posts: 546
By MrRevhead
Very nice stepping indeed! Performing similar to 0551 U/VPMW's

Can't wait to see more intensive tests (32M Pi, Prime etc).

Your results to date are tempting me to upgrade to dual core

Yeah i'm pretty stoked at getting to 3GHz, i thought even if it gets to windows and i get a screenie with out running any tests i would be happy , but yeah i need to really stress test it now and start tweaking and fine tuning things, this board has a lot to tweak so should be fun!

Still going strong at 3GHz in windows as i'm writing this, but next i'll put it through some 32m and some sp2004 etc and post up the results, i'd be very surprised if it passed sp2004 or a 32m as it is now but it's still dam good to see cpuz sitting there at 3GHz

Anyway more to come tomorrow, i'm getting the evil eyes from the wife so i better go spend some "quality time" with her!
HighAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2006, 12:18 AM   #8
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
BTW what's your room ambient and case ambient temps ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
170, a8r32, asus, deluxe, highaces, mvp, opty


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: HighAces Opty 170 & Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i5 670 & ASUS P7P55D-DELUXE Motherboard 2D review Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 9 18-03-2010 07:41 AM
Asus P5K Deluxe - Intel P35 Bearlake + Intel E6600 B1 ES / Q6600 Kentsfield / X6800 eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 296 24-10-2007 11:12 AM
Asus P5K Deluxe (DDR2) / P5K3 Deluxe (DDR3) - Intel P35 Bearlake/ICH9R - Info/Photos eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 110 06-08-2007 03:23 AM
Asus P5K3 Deluxe Review BenchZowner Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 24 10-07-2007 12:38 PM
Asus P5B Deluxe + E6600/E6700/Q6600 eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 114 06-03-2007 02:54 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:51 PM.

no new posts