You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Frozen Cascade - Page 27 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-01-2009, 10:13 AM   #209
Booj
Senior Member
Booj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 24 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 304
By bob(nz) View Post
+ 1 on the build progress kayl

You will be pleased to know that I finally got the i7 965 under the cascade to try it out - working just perfect Not problems with cold boot or cold bug - temps idle on core approx -80 / evap -103



Got a few runs off on the long weekend to help the team score along

Now I just gotta find some better memory
Cheers Bob, nice chip. What sort of load temps are you getting?

Something with the new Elpida IC's should do the trick, If it ever shows up to buy..
Booj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2009, 10:35 AM   #210
chispy
Senior Member
chispy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 16 2007
Posts: 1,592
Thumbs up

Great built Kayl , Bob nice going on that chip
chispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2009, 01:19 PM   #211
bob(nz)
Senior Member
bob(nz)'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 27 2005
Location: Somewhere in Sth East Asia
Posts: 781
By Booj View Post
What sort of load temps are you getting?
Bit hard to tell as the sensors / bios on the EVGA board I am using at the moment only knows one temp - and thats -22

With the CPU clocked up around 4900 the idle Evap temp hovers around -98
Under heavy load (vantage benching CPU tests) this drops to around -78 by the end of test 2
I am guessing this means that the CPU temp would be around -76 or so idle and -56 under max load?!


By Booj View Post
Something with the new Elpida IC's should do the trick, If it ever shows up to buy..
Yeah - looking forward to these getting out into the stores
Also happy to take any free samples that are going in the meantime of course

By chispy View Post
Bob nice going on that chip
Thanks Chipsy - I reckon I am starting to get the hang of it Just need to figure out how to get higher NB frequency on the EVGA board. Everything I try above about 3600 = no post

The Gigabyte board I started with could run up to 4500 no problem at all
bob(nz) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2009, 02:55 PM   #212
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
By bob(nz) View Post
Yeah - looking forward to these getting out into the stores
Also happy to take any free samples that are going in the meantime of course



Thanks Chipsy - I reckon I am starting to get the hang of it Just need to figure out how to get higher NB frequency on the EVGA board. Everything I try above about 3600 = no post

The Gigabyte board I started with could run up to 4500 no problem at all
very nice mate, saw your hwbot submissions

elpida variants can be found in Kingston's Valueram DDR3-1333 too hehe

higher NB frequency = more cpu vtt/uncore and vdimm usually but that's for another thread of your own to discuss
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2009, 09:07 PM   #213
kayl
Senior Member
kayl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 22 2005
Location: Port Hedland
Posts: 1,750
By eva2000 View Post
How will that work... DIY change of evap mount ??
once the old enclousre is removed, slide on new mount plate, then enclosure and insert the foam insterest around the cpu head then pull that inside the enclosure. its much the same as the vapour LS mounting system


By Booj View Post
Looking great Kayl

I wonder if i can cool myself with it? It's forecasted to be 44 in Adelaide today
yeah you guys are having a heatwave over there, heard last night it got down to 31c



By eva2000 View Post
How will that work... DIY change of evap mount ??
once the old enclosure is removed, slide on new mount plate, then enclosure and insert the foam interest around the cpu head then pull that inside the enclosure. its much the same as the vapour LS mounting system


By Booj View Post
Looking great Kayl
I wonder if i can cool myself with it? It's forecasted to be 44 in Adelaide today
yeah you guys are having a heat wave over there, heard last night it got down to 31c

By bob(nz) View Post
+ 1 on the build progress kayl
You will be pleased to know that I finally got the i7 965 under the cascade to try it out - working just perfect Not problems with cold boot or cold bug - temps idle on core approx -80 / evap -103
Got a few runs off on the long weekend to help the team score along
Now I just gotta find some better memory

thanxs bob, that i7 965 is really making that cascade work
good to hear cpu isnt cold buging and you getting such good results with it on the cascade. does it go much better on ln2??

Last edited by kayl; 29-01-2009 at 10:41 PM.
kayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2009, 09:17 PM   #214
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
ooooooooooh looks later i'll need such a new mount for 1366 later on
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2009, 10:09 PM   #215
bob(nz)
Senior Member
bob(nz)'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 27 2005
Location: Somewhere in Sth East Asia
Posts: 781
By kayl View Post
thanxs bob, that i7 965 is really making that cascade work
good to hear cpu isnt cold buging and you getting such good results with it on the cascade. does it go much better on ln2??
I had the CPU under LN2 on an EX58 Extreme and wasnt getting quite as high overclock (but I was just getting used to i7 tweaking).

I have moved to an EVGA board (cascade only so far) and can definitely get higher stable clocks (which I assume is the board). Still to go under LN2 - will let ya know when I do

I expect that I can get just a little more out of it (maybe another 100 to 200 Mhz max)
bob(nz) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 11:43 PM   #216
kayl
Senior Member
kayl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 22 2005
Location: Port Hedland
Posts: 1,750
Little update, pressure tested a few more sections of the cascade and have brazed the system together. Just need to get a high side pressure gauge so I can vacume the second stage ready to charge with refrigerant
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.JPG (94.0 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (107.1 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 3.JPG (144.0 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (107.5 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 5.JPG (102.0 KB, 2 views)
kayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cascade, frozen


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Frozen Cascade
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kayl Cascade cooler - 2x 1.7HP = -111.6C ! eva2000 Cooling 33 17-08-2010 05:31 PM
Asus Rampage Extreme: having fun with MCH, Spi under Air and Cascade coolings before Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 2 08-12-2008 04:24 AM
[hwbot] CPU-Z hwbot HWBOT Official Rankings 190 14-04-2008 01:06 PM
Kayl Frozen Cascade bob(nz) Cooling 12 29-01-2007 10:00 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 10:06 AM.

no new posts