You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
12x 60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD in the house ! - Page 3 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2010, 02:38 PM   #17
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,010
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Interesting put LSI 9260-8i back into PCI-E #1 slot but left HD5870 in PCI-E #5 and web bios still works.

Seems write cache was disabled, tried enabling it but get error message ?



edit: guess it's disabled as LSI 9260 doesn't support it as it has it's own cache.

something is really up with the configuration maybe board/bios/pci-e related ? as 3x60gb sandforce ssds gives me around same vantage numbers as 8x60gb - if you look at 4k read/write in as ssd 3x60gb raid 0 vs 8x60gb raid 0 and 1x 60gb single non-raid for sandforce drives i get about same numbers 23-25MB/s reads and 55-67MB/s writes.

I ordered the fastpath key so maybe that will help

Last edited by eva2000; 06-09-2010 at 09:38 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 04:33 AM   #18
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,010
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Not much luck still so far best can do with 8x60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro Raid 0 on LSI 9260-8i with 16k stripe and this config below is 25,245 suite and 46173 hdd suite. Then I broke the 8x SSDs down and used 3x 60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD in raid 0 on ICH10R with 9.6.0.1014 drivers and got 24,956 suite and 48572 hdd suite numbers.





More 3x 60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD in raid 0 on ICH10R with 9.6.0.1014 benchmarks









eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 12:27 PM   #19
youngpro
Senior Member
youngpro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 15 2006
Location: TEAM.AU
Posts: 2,599
twitter.com/teamau
hey man

this is just the frustration that is pcmark vantage...

does your ram controller have a write cache, if so how big is it? if its big enough you wont notice difference between 3 and 8 ssd in these sort of tests

you can get a good idea if write cache is having an impact like this by running pcmv hdd test, after the first test, cancel out, then rerun it straight away.. if the score SPIKES then your cache is doing all the work and it doesnt matter if you have 1 ssd or 1000 it will be no difference.. same goes for crystaldiskmark and hdtune etc
youngpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 04:42 PM   #20
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,010
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
LSI 9260-8i has fixed 512MB cache. Haven't tried canceling out a test to see the effects of the cache yet. Most likely this is a NF200/board issue i think. Will know when I test another board(s).
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2010, 08:02 PM   #21
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,010
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
LSI MegaRAID LSIiBBU07 Battery Backup Unit (BBU) for 8880EM2, 9260-xx and 9280-xx and LSI MegaRAID Fastpath key for my LSI MegaRaid 9260-8i unit arrived.

Ordered direct from LSI web store. Tried ordering them from provantage.com but they declined my order even though they said for Australian region that American Express was accepted









eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 03:55 AM   #22
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,010
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Best I can do on NF200 chipset limited motherboard for now is 28,220

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcmv=363081

eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2010, 10:55 AM   #23
youngpro
Senior Member
youngpro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 15 2006
Location: TEAM.AU
Posts: 2,599
twitter.com/teamau
so the fastkey thing, how does that work, is it a hardware dongle to allow access to functionality that is already there, lsi just block it out?
youngpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2010, 10:59 AM   #24
youngpro
Senior Member
youngpro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 15 2006
Location: TEAM.AU
Posts: 2,599
twitter.com/teamau
28K is 11th in world wide dude, sick result
youngpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
60gb, 60gb ssd, g.skill, gskill, gskill phoenix pro ssd, gskill ssd, phoenix, sandforce ssd, ssd, ssd raid


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: 12x 60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD in the house !
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) G.Skill Launches New Phoenix Pro SSDs in 40 GB, 80 GB, and 160 GB Capacities News Reviews & News Online 0 20-08-2010 05:11 AM
[Guru3d.com] G.Skill Phoenix PRO 120GB SSD review News Reviews & News Online 0 30-07-2010 07:50 PM
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) OWC Announces Mercury Extreme Pro 480 GB SandForce-Driven SSD News Reviews & News Online 0 17-07-2010 03:53 AM
[Techpowerup.com] G.Skill Displays Phoenix Pro Series SSDs News Reviews & News Online 0 05-06-2010 01:40 PM
[Techpowerup.com] New Xbox 360 Pro 60GB Variant Could Hit the Stores News Reviews & News Online 0 10-07-2008 02:01 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:09 AM.

no new posts