You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
12x 60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD in the house ! - Page 2 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2010, 07:31 PM   #9
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Yup indeed fun times ahead. Price has fallen even more now 60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD dropped from AUD$200 to AUD$179 http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?...ducts_id=14873 - that's AUD$2.98/GB !
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:35 PM   #10
dexster
Senior Member
dexster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 17 2007
Location: adelaide, australia
Posts: 128
so hows this benching going to get done, 1 big raid0 drive
dexster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:56 PM   #11
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
been busy with work unfortunately so going slowly
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 02:07 PM   #12
youngpro
Senior Member
youngpro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 15 2006
Location: TEAM.AU
Posts: 2,596
twitter.com/teamau
hey george any update on this? i want to see what you have planned

please tell me before you put them in somewhere you will fire the cascade up and pcmark
youngpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 06:29 PM   #13
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Well had a try last night but having issues with the LSI 9260-8i raid controller maybe compatibility with my Asus P6T6 WS Rev due to NF200 chip and/or bios issues (ROM space) and/or my wireless usb mouse/keyboard setup

As I have totally reorganised my room, i need to use wireless USB logitech keyboard and mouse but can't seem to get into the LSI raid controller web bios (DOS bios) with CTRL+H ? Tried on original 2.0.03-0654 firmware as well as updated firmware 2.60.03-0829 and latest release ?

seems at bios boot up managed to pause it at the LSI bios loading it says - base port adaptor not responding message. And on first run of Storage Manager get a critical error with or without any drives/ssd attached to the LSI 9260-8i



but can use storage manager in windows to create arrays etc

Code:
MegaRAID Storage Manager 8.00.0500Profile Summary - Generated on Sat Sep 04 00:02:04 EST 2010
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SERVER---
	Server IP:               192.168.1.7
	Server Name:             P6T6WSREV
	OS name:                 Windows Vista
	OS Version:              6.1
	OS Architechture:        x86
	Driver Name:             megasas2.sys
	Driver Version:          4.27.1.64
	Application Version:     MegaRAID Storage Manager - 8.00.0500

HARDWARE---              
	Controller:              LSI MegaRAID SAS 9260-8i (Bus 5,Dev 0)
	Status:                  Optimal
	Firmware Package Version:12.6.0-0017
	Firmware Version:        2.60.03-0829
	BBU:                     NO
	Enclosure(s):            1
	Drive(s):                0
	Virtual Drive(s):        0

Enclosures---
	PRODUCT NAME             TYPE                     STATUS                   
	Backplane                Sgpio                    OK
funky stuff going on with my setup, i had lsi controller in hdd priority in bios as last on the list so changed it to 2nd behind my os drive. Now when i hit ctrl+H it invokes my cd-rom and runs memtest86+ LOL

But wireless keyboard is now unresponsive so can't exit out of memtest heh.

So for now will have to do configs via windows Storage Manager. Performance beyond 4-5x SSDs seems a bit low, not sure if it's due to NF200 chip on Asus P6T6 WS Rev, trying LSI 9260-8i in first PCI-E slot instead which seems to have improved things a bit but still not getting the numbers yet. More testing i guess.

System is 980X, Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, with Win7 Ultimate 64bit. Doing a fresh Win7 Ultimate 64bit SP1 disk as previously one was too lite and removed windows media center which is needed for some PCmark Vantage subtests heh.


Did fresh install of newly built Win7 Ultimate SP1 slipstreamed cd on the LSI 9260-8i raid controller (without fastpath cache) and WEI 7.8 index


  • i7 980X
  • Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
  • Sapphire HD5870 10.8 Cat
  • 6GB SuperTalent 2200C8
  • 8x60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD raid 0 on LSI 9260-8i PCI-E raid controller
  • Corsair HX1000
  • Win7 Ultimate SP1 slipstreamed cd

Last edited by eva2000; 05-09-2010 at 07:25 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 09:36 PM   #14
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Performance doesn't seem that good though ?



















so far best pcmark vantage score is 24699 with cache unchanged, direct io, no read ahead and write thru with hdd suite 41929 but with directio changed to cacheio get pcmark vantage score of 23805 but hdd suite jumps to 49000

all tests pci-e frequency = 100mhz

will try less ssds later

directio (left) vs cacheio (right)





I have SATA mode set to IDE in bios instead of AHCI but seeing as windows is on LSI 9260-8i shouldn't make any difference ?

Last edited by eva2000; 06-09-2010 at 12:41 AM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 01:49 AM   #15
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Eureka managed to get into web bios now. I changed the LSI 9260-8i from PCI-E slot #1 to PCI-E slot #2 and CTRL+H works! PCI-E slot #1 and #3 and #4 didn't work.

eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 10:57 AM   #16
youngpro
Senior Member
youngpro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 15 2006
Location: TEAM.AU
Posts: 2,596
twitter.com/teamau
do you have write cache enabled in the raid controller properties in windows?
youngpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
60gb, 60gb ssd, g.skill, gskill, gskill phoenix pro ssd, gskill ssd, phoenix, sandforce ssd, ssd, ssd raid


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: 12x 60GB Gskill Phoenix Pro SSD in the house !
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) G.Skill Launches New Phoenix Pro SSDs in 40 GB, 80 GB, and 160 GB Capacities News Reviews & News Online 0 20-08-2010 05:11 AM
[Guru3d.com] G.Skill Phoenix PRO 120GB SSD review News Reviews & News Online 0 30-07-2010 07:50 PM
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) OWC Announces Mercury Extreme Pro 480 GB SandForce-Driven SSD News Reviews & News Online 0 17-07-2010 03:53 AM
[Techpowerup.com] G.Skill Displays Phoenix Pro Series SSDs News Reviews & News Online 0 05-06-2010 01:40 PM
[Techpowerup.com] New Xbox 360 Pro 60GB Variant Could Hit the Stores News Reviews & News Online 0 10-07-2008 02:01 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:07 AM.

no new posts