You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Retail i7 980X & R3E + LN2 = NO CB :) - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2010, 08:57 AM   #1
Miravo
Senior Member
Miravo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 09 2007
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 146
Retail i7 980X & R3E + LN2 = NO CB :)

Lets play

All the time I was looking for a good i7 980X retail. I killed a few, a few died itself and other were extremely crappy. So summing up I have got 10+ retail i7 980X and I had bad luck till now because at last I found one chip for 3D. It isn't very good, eventually I should say it is a weak CPU but with 6 GHz 3D I can play some futuremark games

Benching rig:

Intel i7 980X retail 3013A562
Asus Rampage III Extreme
Goodram PRO 2000 CL7 2x2 GB
MSI HD5970
Asus HD5870
Antec Quattro 1200W
Antec Skeleton


I love R3E, with it's LN2 MODE/SUBZERO TWEAKER 1/2 and OVERCLOCKING MODE 1/2 I can fine tune this CPU to get rid of Coldbug (only on Dual Channel, with Triple Coldbug still kicks my ass at - 130*C) but for 3D Dual Channel will do. This chip sucks in 2D so I don't need to worry about triple

Vantage



The highest CPU score



Full Vantage run with some triple CrossfireX action HD5970 + HD5870, stock because this HD5970 is half dead and overclocking ends with lack of stability



High Vantage Uncore, but this CPU can do 5050 Mhz Uncore

3DMark 06




40K broken, no tweaks only raw MHz power



6000+ MHz in CPU TEST with HT ON, not too shabby

GPU Tests pass up to 6.2 GHz so with 4x HD5870 or 4x 480GTX on LN2 I can achieve some good numbers in Vantage

It's all for today because I ran out of LN2, I have used almost 30L on other 2 chips 3013A562 (second of this batch but CB -110) and 3013A472 which I thought will be better batch, but in fact it barely entered OS at 5.8 GHz despite the fact it also doesn't have CB

STAY TUNED

Last edited by Miravo; 02-08-2010 at 09:08 AM.
Miravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 12:47 AM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,017
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Nice mate, shame about cold bug with triple channel mem config.

Looking forward to 6+ ghz runs
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:40 AM   #3
Miravo
Senior Member
Miravo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 09 2007
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 146
Thx master

I uploaded some photos from the session



















And some new toy



Guess what now I can CHANGE ON THE FLY? It's a shame that standard ROG Connect software doesn't allow to change multi I missed this option from Rampage II Extreme but now I am really happy





And some love from ASUS



I am prepared for next session
Miravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
980x, ln2, r3e, retail


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Retail i7 980X & R3E + LN2 = NO CB :)
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7 980X Gulftown Club - post your results here... eva2000 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 372 23-01-2012 05:55 AM
Intel Core i7 980X Retail cpus are here! eva2000 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 105 17-05-2011 03:10 PM
i7 980X on the rocks ( palinkaaaaaa shots! ) BenchZowner General Benchmarks 3 12-08-2010 11:59 AM
i7 980X First Round LN2 Testing NightRaven General Benchmarks 2 08-05-2010 09:23 PM
i7 980x Gulftown on LN2 Miravo Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 6 11-04-2010 01:12 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 01:09 AM.

no new posts