You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Gigabyte UD9 - Intel 980x - Only 4 GB memory detected out of 12 GB G.skill ripjaws - Page 2 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2010, 11:08 AM   #9
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
By GenAn View Post
Wait, what??
you tell him man
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:53 PM   #10
AriM
Junior Member
AriM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 01 2010
Posts: 6
By dinos22 View Post

Voltage regulation should be tight if you are using LLC. If not they you are just on your standard Intel spec but once you enable LLC it's pretty accurate and starts to overvolt on the top end side when you hit LN2 clocking with second level LLC

but is LLC relevant in a scenario w/o ln2? I mean is there a real world tightening of voltage regulation at 24/7 clocks....let's say under 4.2ghz?

when I got of the stock intel spec I didn't measure any real difference with the voltmeter...1.7000 in BIOS still equaled 1.6440....and at 1.7200 in the BIOS it still read around 1.712
AriM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 08:36 PM   #11
Uncle Fester
Senior Member
Uncle Fester's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 23 2009
Location: rockingham w.a
Posts: 855
By AriM View Post
but is LLC relevant in a scenario w/o ln2? I mean is there a real world tightening of voltage regulation at 24/7 clocks....let's say under 4.2ghz?

when I got of the stock intel spec I didn't measure any real difference with the voltmeter...1.7000 in BIOS still equaled 1.6440....and at 1.7200 in the BIOS it still read around 1.712
Please tell me your not giving a cpu 1.7v on air or water ???
Uncle Fester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2010, 04:25 AM   #12
AriM
Junior Member
AriM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 01 2010
Posts: 6
By Uncle Fester View Post
Please tell me your not giving a cpu 1.7v on air or water ???

of course NOT!!!! if you read my earlier post that voltage range was for DRAM....



my points, and the responses (I am not OP) were that the UD9 has loose voltage regulation and the numbers in BIOS don't scale correctly....

really amazing that Gigabyte excluded voltmeter probe pads from the UD9...I just don't get it...the ud9 is double the price of the classified (4way) yet lacks some really basic features....like test points that aren't on the back of the MOBO....and the insane placement of the 4 pin molex plugs on the MB (for "extra PCIe power")....

but I am thread hi-jacking now....even though the classified has more thoughtful features and better BIOS....NOTHING o/c's like the ud9, and nothing get's the same numbers (in my experience)

I suppose if I had it to do over...I would still have bought the UD9

maybe GIGABYTE will listen and fix some of these problems, and change a few connector locations....and for gods sake add a bit more to the kit....really an insanely overpriced mobo (the way I am talking you would almost think I regret buying it, but I don't)
AriM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
980x, detected, gigabyte, gskill, intel, memory, ripjaws, ud9


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Gigabyte UD9 - Intel 980x - Only 4 GB memory detected out of 12 GB G.skill ripjaws
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memtest86+ (v5.00 beta 4) eva2000 General Software 61 30-03-2013 07:07 PM
Intel Core i7 980X Gulftown Club - post your results here... eva2000 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 372 23-01-2012 06:55 AM
[info] Windows 7 usable memory less than physically installed memory eva2000 Operating systems 2 21-04-2011 03:29 AM
Initial notes, findings and tips DFI UT X58-T3EH8 eva2000 DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 0 04-08-2009 04:17 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 09:22 AM.

no new posts