You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Asus P6X58-E + 12GB Corsair GT Kit - Page 5 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-08-2010, 09:16 PM   #33
Jim82
Junior Member
Jim82's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 16 2010
Posts: 25
By TeamWahoo View Post
That is correct, after the post beep I power off and right back on. It will show all 12gb as long as I am using the system and during subsequent restarts through out the day. It also shows that I'm using triple channel memory!
Exactly the same for me.

By TeamWahoo View Post
When I shutdown for the night and then restart the next day, I'm back to 8gb. I don't know how long it has to sit before it stops seeing 12gb on boot up. If I let it run with only 8gb registering, it shows that I'm running DUAL channel memory!?!
Normal behaviour, as system only sees 4 x 2GB (4blocks), it assumes you're using DUAL-Channel. Mine does the same.

By TeamWahoo View Post
I do know that I can't push the start button, then hit the reset and expect to see 12gb.
I also tried your cold boot power up, power down and back up, but no luck seeing 12.
Again, exactly the same for me.

/Jim
Jim82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2010, 03:11 PM   #34
andreaplanet
Junior Member
andreaplanet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 15 2010
Posts: 15
By Jim82 View Post
Yesterday I had my first crash! I was playing Battlefield, when my screen turned black with some odd flickering in the top. PC rebooted and showed only 10GB RAM in BIOS. Of course I was running with 12GB RAM when PC crashed.

This occured after 2-3 hours of non-stop of gaming, just FYI.

/Jim
I suppose that a memtest86 session of some hours will lead to no errors.
One idea is that the heavy system stress (CPU + GPU) placed into stress also the PSU. I will be away some days, on return I will try to execute some stress tests that include the GPU (until now only some CPU stress).
One curiosity, what voltage settings do you report on the motherboard? These are my values with program sensors on ubuntu:
Vcore Voltage: 1.21v
+3.3 Voltage: 3.23v
+5 Voltage: 5.17v
+12 Voltage: 12.25v

Andrea
andreaplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2010, 03:14 PM   #35
andreaplanet
Junior Member
andreaplanet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 15 2010
Posts: 15
By Jim82 View Post
Exactly the same for me.
Normal behaviour, as system only sees 4 x 2GB (4blocks), it assumes you're using DUAL-Channel. Mine does the same.
Again, exactly the same for me.
/Jim
Sometimes you see 8GB?
andreaplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2010, 05:13 AM   #36
Jim82
Junior Member
Jim82's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 16 2010
Posts: 25
By andreaplanet View Post
Sometimes you see 8GB?
I used to see 8GB with the old motherboard, but this new one has never shown me 8GB. Only 10GB and of course 12GB.
Jim82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 01:49 PM   #37
TeamWahoo
Junior Member
TeamWahoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 19 2010
Posts: 5
By andreaplanet View Post
One curiosity, what voltage settings do you report on the motherboard? These are my values with program sensors on ubuntu:
Vcore Voltage: 1.21v
+3.3 Voltage: 3.23v
+5 Voltage: 5.17v
+12 Voltage: 12.25v

Andrea
Mine, as reported by ASUS's PC Probe II on Win7 64bit:
Vcore Voltage: 0.95v
+3.3 Voltage: 3.30v
+5 Voltage: 5.12v
+12 Voltage: 12.14v
TeamWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2010, 09:25 AM   #38
Jedra
Junior Member
Jedra's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 14 2010
Posts: 6
Hi,

Having the same problems as everyone else on this thread. Interestingly I also have an Enermax Power Supply (Revolution 85+ 1250W). This has developed a terrible ticking noise so I have ordered a Corasir PSU to replace it. Installing it on Tuesday so maybe this will help.

My spec is as follows;

ASUS P6X58D-E
Intel Core i7 930
Thermaltake FRIO
12GB Corsair (6x2G CMD12GX3M6A1600C8)
Enermax Revolution 85+ (1250W)
2GB Sapphire Radeon HD5970 OC
256Gb Crucial SSD
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Silverstone Fortress FT02R-W

I have not yet tried tweaking any of the memory values, but on reading this and other threads it doesn't seem to rectify the issue in a lot of cases. Also I am not an OCer and most of the stuff about voltages goes way over my head! I don't want to cook my newly built machine!!

Will let you know if a PSU swap helps.

Regards
Jedra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 02:49 AM   #39
andreaplanet
Junior Member
andreaplanet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 15 2010
Posts: 15
Today I switch on the PC and then immediately I switched it off (less than half a second using the Power button on the PSU). Then when switching on again: 12 GB. So it's definitively not related with heat/warm components.
It's something in the initial power cycle....
andreaplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 04:57 AM   #40
Jedra
Junior Member
Jedra's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 14 2010
Posts: 6
Well, I replaced my Enermax PSU (Revolution 85+ 1250W) with a Corsair (AX1200) today. The PC was off for a good five hours while I performed the replacement and on first boot - voilla! 12Gb! Previously after that length of time the PC would only report 8Gb on first boot.

I will see what I get when I boot for the first time tomorrow to see if this has fixed the problem.

Regards.
Jedra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
12gb, asus, corsair, kit, p6x58e


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Asus P6X58-E + 12GB Corsair GT Kit
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P6X58D-E + Corsair XMS3 3x2GB Kit popo37 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 8 22-09-2010 04:48 AM
Asus Maximus III Gene & i5 670 @ -180.1 on LN2 Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 6 02-08-2010 10:15 PM
ASUS R2E + 12GB Corsair 7-7-7-20 1600 - only 8 detected orcinusdev Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 3 16-06-2010 02:59 AM
i5 670 & ASUS P7P55D-DELUXE Motherboard 2D review Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 9 18-03-2010 07:41 AM
Asus Rampage II Extreme & Corsair Dominator Dual chan kit ibm390s Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 14 29-03-2009 10:32 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:04 PM.

no new posts