You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Rampage III Extreme memory problems - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-06-2010, 04:09 PM   #1
Steaith
Junior Member
Steaith's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 14 2010
Posts: 2
Rampage III Extreme memory problems

Hey alI,

I just recently finished an i7 930, Rampage III Extreme build and every things running great. Except my 12 GB of RAM isn't being detected by windows or the BIOS, 8GB is the most it will see. CPU-Z sees all 12 GB, so Im sure its not my DIMM slots or RAM modules. Ive tried re-seating my ram in different slots, re-seating the processor, altering the voltages and timings and no dice. I could really use some help on this one,

thanks in advance
Steaith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2010, 09:30 PM   #2
Uncle Fester
Senior Member
Uncle Fester's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 23 2009
Location: rockingham w.a
Posts: 850
you will require more vtt and vdimm and it depends what ram kit are you using ??
I still dont understand why ppl have 12gb of ram you will never use it ???
Uncle Fester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2010, 11:03 PM   #3
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Uncle Fester, 12GB does make a difference if you use it especially in Win7 - even simple act of copying large set of files multiple times (buffered disk transfers) across different disk drives is much more speedy with 12GB vs 6GB from my experience.

Steaith welcome to i4memory.com

What specific memory model/brand you using ?

excuse the simple cut and paste below, but the suggestions and links to read are valid for your situation, just QPI/DRAM (cpu vtt) and VDIMM memory volts suggested might need be to way higher for 6x2GB vs 3x2GB depending on your cpu's integrated memory controller. So if 3x2GB needs QPI/DRAM (cpu vtt) of 1.35v and 1.65v VDIMM for 3x2GB DDR3-1600mhz, you might need up to 1.4-1.5v QPI/DRAM and up to 1.66-1.76v VDIMM memory volts for 6x2GB DDR3-1600Mhz.

The suggested method to test as per suggestions at http://i4memory.com/ramdetect is to first test 3x2GB config to get an idea of stable QPI/DRAM and VDIMM needed, then test each 2GB module to ensure they all work at the intended or targeted speeds, then test 6x2GB.

first off post the bios settings you use, you can use the sticky threads in this forum http://i4memory.com/f54/ for P6T Deluxe V2 and P6T6 WS Revolution should be fairly close to your boards bios so just change what is different to your format and share your settings you have tried. Or use digital camera with no flash and a steady hand to take some photos of bios settings you have tried.

definitely recommend you re-read this first post at http://i4memory.com/ramdetect and the further recommended reading links further down as they explain how you should go about testing and setting your settings i.e. http://i4memory.com/f54/help-stabili...-memory-19740/ - yes memory frequency way higher than your memory capable of but the theory on voltage ranges and manually set voltages instead of auto all are applicable.

I'd probably start with

133bclk
10x memory multi = 10x133 = 1333mhz memory speed
20x uncore multi = 20x133 = 2666mhz uncore frequency (observe 2.0x uncore to mem ratio see http://i4memory.com/f55/intel-core-i...ide-x58-13051/)
QPI multi = auto

timings 9-9-9-24 2T with tRFC = 110 - voltage ranges as per http://i4memory.com/f54/help-stabili...-memory-19740/ of course with some changes

CPU PLL Voltage: auto <-- manually set to 1.8v
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage: 1.2v to 1.4v to 1.6v <-- for ddr3-1333-1600mhz speeds 1.2-1.35v should be the range for >ddr3-1866mhz manually set to between 1.45v to 1.65v depends on cpu so start low and bump as needed
IOH Voltage: auto <-- manually set to 1.1v - might try 1.14 to 1.22v
IOH PCIE Voltage: auto <-- manually set to 1.5v to 1.54v
ICH Voltage: auto <-- manually set to 1.1v
ICH PCIE Voltage: auto <-- manually set to 1.5v
DRAM Bus Voltage: 1.50 to 1.66 <-- manually set to 1.66v minimum for 2000mhz
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage = CPU VTT and DRAM Bus Voltage = VDIMM memory voltage as explained at http://i4memory.com/f55/intel-core-i...ide-x58-13051/ and http://i4memory.com/ramdetect

read & search the other threads listed in the linked threads above as basically the process I suggest is how any memory should probably tested on X58 platform. Trial and error only way.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 12:17 AM   #4
Steaith
Junior Member
Steaith's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 14 2010
Posts: 2
Hey eva, thanks for the reply. I did read the mem detect thread and tried to alter the voltages/timings of my RAM I just wasnt sure how high I should go. Im actually using
G.Skill 1333 PC3-10666 Triple-Chan F3-10666CL9T-6GBNQ RAM. Im fine with it running at 1333, could you suggest a QPI/DRAM and VDIMM voltages for that speed?
Steaith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 12:34 AM   #5
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
seems alot of folks have trouble getting the Gskill NQ DDR3-1333 stuff working right, so you could also try some other memory and see. For that speed start with QPI/DRAM 1.30-1.45v and VDIMM 1.5-1.7v in 0.02v increments up.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:46 PM   #6
IronMala
Junior Member
IronMala's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 08 2010
Posts: 2
Question

Hi Guys!

I have exactly same problem.

My hardware details attached in pictures from CPU-Z.

So, I'm completly noob on OC, I just want to archive the best OC with this hardware and make it detect the memory right(6GB - 3x2gb). Just to let you know, I'm with the default/stock cooler for CPU + Haf Coolermaster chassi, and I already followed other tutorial on how to Overclock this kind of machine.

Can anyone help me please???

I really appreciate the help. I readed a lot this forum searching for an solution(easy for a noob on hardware things) and cant find it.

THanks!

Waiting to hear from you soon...

Best regards...

Gutemberg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GPU.JPG (42.1 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg Mem.JPG (46.3 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg CPU.JPG (58.6 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg Mobo.JPG (45.7 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg SPD.JPG (53.2 KB, 12 views)
IronMala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 02:56 AM   #7
shadewither
Member
shadewither's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 17 2010
Location: shanghai
Posts: 56
By IronMala View Post
Hi Guys!

I have exactly same problem.

My hardware details attached in pictures from CPU-Z.

So, I'm completly noob on OC, I just want to archive the best OC with this hardware and make it detect the memory right(6GB - 3x2gb). Just to let you know, I'm with the default/stock cooler for CPU + Haf Coolermaster chassi, and I already followed other tutorial on how to Overclock this kind of machine.

Can anyone help me please???

I really appreciate the help. I readed a lot this forum searching for an solution(easy for a noob on hardware things) and cant find it.

THanks!

Waiting to hear from you soon...

Best regards...

Gutemberg
CPU-Z shows 6GB,what's wrong?
shadewither is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 03:20 AM   #8
IronMala
Junior Member
IronMala's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 08 2010
Posts: 2
Windows and BIOS show 4GB. The same of the dude that created this thread.
IronMala is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
extreme, iii, memory, problems, rampage


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Rampage III Extreme memory problems
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Rampage III Extreme - results thread eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 484 07-11-2011 01:57 AM
Rampage III Extreme memory problem 6 to 4gb cold start Squall Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 12 19-09-2010 12:19 AM
Asus Rampage III Extreme not running Memory at rated speed Homewrecker Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 18 03-09-2010 03:43 PM
RAMPAGE III EXTREME REVIEW Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 5 06-05-2010 03:44 AM
Core i7 and Games, Memory Testing 6GB vs 3GB Yellowbeard DDR3 Intel Memory 8 30-01-2009 04:51 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:29 PM.

no new posts