You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
GTX 280 SLI on DFI NF680i, can it work? [NO] - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-05-2010, 11:14 AM   #1
donmarkoni
Senior Member
donmarkoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 13 2009
Posts: 488
GTX 280 SLI on DFI NF680i, can it work? [NO]

Simple question: GTX 280 SLI on DFI NF680i, can it work?
I have spent ten days (evenings) trying to make it work.
One is working, but when in SLI and there is some complicated graphics (3dmark06 gpu test 3, any game) it squeals and freezes or get back to windows saying something like "direct x: device not present" or similar.
HW used:
DFI NF680i
Asus Striker Extreme (680i)
Q9550
QX9650
Geil Evo One 2x2GB 800MHz 5-5-5-15-2T
OCZ Reaper 2x1GB 800MHz 3-4-4-10-1T
2x GTX 280
Tt ToughPower 850W (2x18A+2x30A)
CM RealPower 850W (4x18A+2x28A)

Last edited by donmarkoni; 23-05-2010 at 09:51 AM.
donmarkoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 01:53 AM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,024
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
"direct x: device not present" could be driver related ???
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 09:51 AM   #3
donmarkoni
Senior Member
donmarkoni's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 13 2009
Posts: 488
By eva2000 View Post
"direct x: device not present" could be driver related ???
I don't think so. IMO something just can't keep up with all that power and/or data and driver just looses VGA for a moment like it would if I pulled one 6/8 pin power connector. Sometimes it just freezes, or flickers then freezes with no message at all.
After ten days of torture and trying with various HW, I called a quit.
Those GTX 280's work fine on my DFI X58 & Asus R3E and now on a brand new Asus S2E (NF790i). BTW, very nice board.
After asking around and not getting a confirmation that someone did it, I'll assume those two, or should I say three, can't work together in SLI. I'll change the topic accordingly.
I'll be happy if someone disproves my conclusion.
donmarkoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
280, dfi, gtx, nf680i, sli, work


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: GTX 280 SLI on DFI NF680i, can it work? [NO]
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[hwbot] 3dmark06 rankings pt2 hwbot HWBOT Official Rankings 124 09-10-2009 09:15 PM
[hwbot] 3dmark2001 rankings pt2 hwbot HWBOT Official Rankings 53 28-07-2009 08:50 AM
[Mvktech.net] NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 SLI Config Gaming Preview News Reviews & News Online 0 09-07-2008 09:04 AM
[Mvktech.net] GeForce GTX 280 and GTX 260 Both 3-Way SLI Ready News Reviews & News Online 0 09-06-2008 03:40 AM
First Look - DFI 680i LT SLI by Andre Yang MrRevhead DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 6 07-04-2007 08:01 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 11:15 AM.

no new posts