You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
DFi UT x48-t3rs, X3360 - Page 5 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-12-2009, 04:28 AM   #33
Offler
Senior Member
Offler's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2009
Location: Bratislava
Posts: 278
I have re-read this review of the board again.

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.p..._motherboard/1

This guy managed to run Q6600 on fsb 474. He knows something that we dont.
Offler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 04:02 PM   #34
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
fsb limits can also be cpu dependent, i.e. i had 2x e8500 and 5x e8600 tested on the board and max fsb ranged from 495-525fsb
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2009, 09:11 PM   #35
Offler
Senior Member
Offler's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2009
Location: Bratislava
Posts: 278
Of course they can be.

Lets say more about my cooling equipment. CPU is actually cooled by Thermolab Baram. I havent seen better passive part of a CPU cooler. Thermal paste is Arctic Cooling Silver 5. I like it. Fan is Noctua 12cm. NB and SB have thermalright Hr-05, SB has SLI version. NB has another 8cm Noctua.

Graphic card - HD3870x2 has its stock cooling, but everything has been covered with Arctic Silver 5.

Everything is enclosed in Thermaltake case Element S, SECC version with fan in side panel. I think that i will replace front intake 12cm fans for pair of Noctuas in future. Case is very good because the temperature does not change while closed.

Back to OC:
I i have noticed one SW error in Windows 7 which can lead to infinite loops of rundll32 on single core. This makes some OC results useless, because it is certain that some errors have been SW based.

Althought boards CPU power source has its own cooler mounted the temperatures are from 38-46 degrees. Not bad, but not good.

NB is quite well cooled but the stability is very questionable. CPU is now OCed from 333 to 433 (30%) with quite a large portion of voltage add, especially for the stability tests. Board is OCed only from 400 to 433 (less than 10%) and needs a lot of voltage to operate stable. If i set the baseline for OC as 333 (which was default for many older boards) the OC should be really impressive right now, but from the actual point of view it really seems that the X48 is just handpicked x38.

But there is another aspect. It is certain that the board is sensitive to temperature and the machine has two devices which can heat the room. Stock cooling on some Asus boards can use liquid, while thermalright use gas in its heatpipes. There is surely a thermally sensitive device on the board, but i still dont know where.
Offler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:19 AM   #36
Offler
Senior Member
Offler's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2009
Location: Bratislava
Posts: 278
Ok...

I was able to boot win7 on FSB 450. Voltage for CPU has been set to 1,6 - maximum that board allows.

Good thing is that no piece of HW was harmed. Bad thing is that 101 degrees of celsius on CPU is really too much

My first thoughts about CPU being limit for the machine was then right, althought air cooled quad core is not the best choice at all

The system now suffers on PSU. It seems that cooled PSU will not start the system possibly due low wattage. Also it is certain that CPU under full load affects the temperature of its own power source - the Volterra chips. Interesting should be reading datasheets for those chips about thermal design...

Normal operations looks like FSB 433 with 66 degrees under load.
Offler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 03:16 PM   #37
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
101C! Need water cooling there for more clocks
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 02:18 AM   #38
Offler
Senior Member
Offler's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2009
Location: Bratislava
Posts: 278
Or some pans and fried eggs
Offler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 08:10 AM   #39
Offler
Senior Member
Offler's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2009
Location: Bratislava
Posts: 278
I gathered information about x3360 and its power consuption. Guy known as Graysky reported its wattage to be 200+watts on 3.4ghz - 400mhz of FSB.

This means that 12v rail with 408 watt, cannot be enough, while the PSU has 2 rails and itself is only 550watt... Single rail can provide up to 408 watt, but i know that one of them is consuming 300 watts (two gpus) and other is consuming 200. Also rest of board has reserved 125 watts (3.3 and 5v rails) so 200+300+125 is too much for this PSU.
Offler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 07:57 AM   #40
Offler
Senior Member
Offler's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 18 2009
Location: Bratislava
Posts: 278
Memory...

Finally dualchanne. Nanya Elixir 1600Mhz 9-9-9-28 at 1.5v. Actually board can run memory so fast only at 1.9v. Eventually i tried 800MHz at 5-5-5-14 at 1,9 volts... the system was running on 5-4-5-6...

Last edited by Offler; 26-01-2010 at 01:12 AM.
Offler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dfi, x3360, x48t3rs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: DFi UT x48-t3rs, X3360
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initial notes, findings and tips DFI UT X58-T3EH8 eva2000 DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 0 04-08-2009 03:17 PM
[Bjorn3d.com] DFI Lanparty LT X48 T3RS News Reviews & News Online 0 09-12-2008 07:41 AM
DFI UT X48 T2R - C1 Error sunjovasie DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 3 19-09-2008 12:17 AM
[Anandtech.com] DFI X48 LT T2R: Floats like a Butterfly… eva2000 Reviews & News Online 0 11-05-2008 01:14 AM
DFI STREET IS NO MORE ++++ NEW DFI CLUB FORUM IS UP!!!!!!!! dinos22 General Hardware 52 26-01-2007 09:17 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:37 PM.

no new posts