You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit vLite + Virtualbox 3.0.8 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-10-2009, 11:30 PM   #1
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit vLite + Virtualbox 3.0.8

My first attempt at reducing size of Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit ISO and install footprint size. Managed to reduce it to 1078MB ISO size with an install size of 5.60-5.67GB. I used Virtualbox 3.0.8 to test the ISO file and seems to work well so far

System:
First the vLite end result ~1078MB ISO size


Last edited by eva2000; 23-02-2010 at 01:31 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2009, 11:30 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Virtualbox Guest OS Creation and Win7 Ultimate 64bit Install









Mounting 1078MB Win7 Ultimate 64bit ISO..




Last edited by eva2000; 23-02-2010 at 01:31 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2009, 11:38 PM   #3
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit vLited ISO
Virtualbox Guest Installation



Click image for larger screenshot



























Feel free to share your Win7 + vLite and/or Virtualbox experiences. How far have you managed to reduce your Win7 32bit/64bit iso and install sizes ?











.

Last edited by eva2000; 23-02-2010 at 01:30 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2009, 08:48 AM   #4
filmbot
Junior Member
filmbot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 13 2009
Posts: 6
Nice walkthrough. Is this final RTM or full retail? Seems a lot of people are having problems after chopping with the "CD-ROM Driver" error.
filmbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2009, 01:32 PM   #5
paulxmn
Senior Member
paulxmn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 27 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 429
RC7100

Thanks for the guide George, worked for me with RC7100 64. I have changed my 3 PC Builds over to Vista SP232 (tweaked) and RC7100 64. I have W764 final retail on pre-order. It too bad that VLite will not integrate Vista SP2 into the streamlined installation. However I installed VLite Sp1 integrated (reduced to 1.05GB) and removed the VLite registry entry to allow the SP2 to be installed. Finally I have a 4870CF PC that works smoothly with W764 RC7100, the latest Ati drivers work perfectly with this release. The Vista32 SP2 also now runs smoother with better FPS in gaming than Windows XP SP3. Both the 9800GTX and Zotak 260 are running games smoother and faster. Time to say goodbye to Windows XP, except of course for benchmarking. W764 is definitely the gaming OS.

VLite Registry Fix: "Go to regedit and delete: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\vLite " then "Install SP2"

MS does not like VLite. If you have it on your computer you will need to 'uninstall VLite' then go to regedit and delete the above key, delete the entire folder.

If SP2 see's this in your registry then it will not install.

You will get an error message similar to "Service pack installation cannot continue - One or more system components that the service pack requires are missing"

Last edited by paulxmn; 14-10-2009 at 03:30 PM.
paulxmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2009, 07:11 PM   #6
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
filmbot i only have Win7 Ultimate 64bit Technet RTM release as i have technet subscription

paul thanks for the tip on the vlite thing although I have the Vista 64bit SP2 technet iso which comes in handy.

Virtualbox comes in handy for testing this stuff
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:40 AM   #7
filmbot
Junior Member
filmbot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 13 2009
Posts: 6
I'm running Win7 64 right now and can't install stock Win7 with VMBox. Keep getting errors after files load. Any idea what might be wrong?
filmbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2010, 06:08 AM   #8
7ornado
Senior Member
7ornado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 01 2009
Location: lake como
Posts: 203
till now i've fail to reduce win7 with vlite...
i have a full iso of win7 pro x64...dunno which is the latest vlite version...the problem is it crashes always when reducing the iso after my changes...could be the problem i'm using winxp 32 to run vlite?
7ornado is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
virtualbox, win7 lite, win7 vlite, windows 7 ultimate 64bit


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit vLite + Virtualbox 3.0.8
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 SP1 Slipstream - RT7Lite a vLite alternative eva2000 Operating systems 8 02-09-2010 02:31 AM
Vista Ultimate SP2 Beta 64bit - vLite build (post SP2 beta hotfixes) eva2000 Operating systems 1 10-01-2009 02:57 PM
Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit - vLite build eva2000 Operating systems 56 05-01-2009 04:56 PM
Windows Vista/2008 SP2 Beta released eva2000 Operating systems 2 04-12-2008 10:33 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 08:19 AM.

no new posts