You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Asus X58 + 6/12GB memory overclocking - detecting less memory than installed - Page 5 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2010, 02:09 AM   #33
Snarky
Junior Member
Snarky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 07 2010
Posts: 8
By eva2000 View Post
Hi Spira welcome
Hi Sparky welcome sounds like non-optimal QPI/DRAM (cpu vtt) and VDIMM voltage balance which can exhibit what you are experiencing.[/LIST]
Thank you. I must note that I have this issue even with all settings in BIOS on default: CPU is not overclocked, RAM is underclocked at 1066 with 9-9-9-24 timings, XMP is not activated (my RAM is Corsair TR3X6G1600C7). Could it be incompatibility issue? My RAM is not on QVL list for Asus P6TD Deluxe, it is not even on compatibility list on Corsair site for my mobo and for any other Asus x58-based mobo.

Today, I turned the PC off at about 7-00am and then turn it on at 12-30pm - 6,5 hours after shutdown - and it showed 4Gb. I turned it off (it was a shutdown that always reverts 4Gb to 6Gb) and then turn it on back at 03-30pm (3 hours later) - it showed 6Gb. So, in this case, the shutdown period should be between 3 and 6,5 hours to have 2Gb missing. Just statistics. However, I am starting to suspect that if I turn the PC on and see 4Gb I can then shut it down for many-many hours and next boot will show me 6 Gb... Hard to check this, I need the PC for work.

I read some suggestions on other forums; people say that there may be a bad contact somewhere between CPU/mobo/RAM or on mobo itself which becomes good enough when the system warms up. I think that these "temperature" suggestions are not valid. I think that 3 hours are enough for the system to become cold enough. The more especially as I read on other forums that for some guys, cold boot would give correct recognition of 6Gb and further shutdown would return 2Gb missing.

In my case, shutdown after cold boot would give me 6Gb back without exception, and I don't have to wait 5 minutes or unplug power cables: just turn it off and then turn it on - and voila, 6Gb back.

Now I set QPI/DRAM at 1.35 and VDIMM at 1.5... Let us see.

Last edited by Snarky; 10-01-2010 at 02:45 AM.
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2010, 08:28 AM   #34
Snarky
Junior Member
Snarky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 07 2010
Posts: 8
Hello again.

I HAD some progress with the following settings:

CPU PLL Voltage 1.8
IOH Voltage 1.1
IOH PCIE Voltage 1.50
ICH Voltage 1.1
ICH PCIE Voltage 1.5
DRAM voltage - 1.64
QPI/DRAM = 1.45

Two days 6Gb were recognized on cold boot. Then I met 1A BSOD (Memory Management) and 4Gb after restart.

RAM sticks, both individually and all together as well, passed latest version memtest from bootable CD. No errors whatsoever.

Now I raised some settings - QPI/DRAM = 1.5, IOH = 1.35. 1.35v IOH Voltage is the value suggested in the DDR3 BIOS Configuration Guides section at this forum for P6T Deluxe V2 and Trident F3-16000CL9T-6GBPS.

Everything tells me: 6Gb CAN be seen and CAN be used in my case. But why no stability in this, why...
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2010, 10:59 AM   #35
Snarky
Junior Member
Snarky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 07 2010
Posts: 8
PC would work fine as long as 6Gb are recognized. Nothing wrong. It means just what it means: there are no problems when 6Gb are recognized. No errors, nothing. Then, after long shutdown, I get 4Gb out of 6Gb. And even if after cold boot I got 6Gb, the PC was unstable. Anyway, something happens at initial stage of cold boot process. Maybe, it is just newer BIOS version that causes the issue? Can it be just a BIOS glitch?
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2010, 08:16 PM   #36
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Yes it could be a bios glitch as well. Tried doing same 4hr off test with memory in different dimm slots so module 1, 2, 3 in dimm 2, 4, 6, then module 2, 3, 1 in same slots then 3, 1, 2 and so forth in all combinations ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 03:10 AM   #37
Snarky
Junior Member
Snarky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 07 2010
Posts: 8
I swapped modules in various ways... All the same.
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 01:29 AM   #38
Snarky
Junior Member
Snarky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 07 2010
Posts: 8
Hello again,
I have a question: is it safe to go higher than 1.65V on RAM? Here and there, I heard something about 0.5 difference between QPI/DRAM and VDIMM voltages. So if QPI/DRAM is 1.4, VDIMM can be safely set at 1.9? Or what?

I just could not get rid of cold boot issue reverting 6Gb to 4Gb... And the only thing I did not do yet is raising DRAM voltage higher than 1.66 on my P6TD Deluxe. That is why I ask this question. Thanks in advance.
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 10:45 PM   #39
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Snarky read http://i4memory.com/f55/intel-core-i...ide-x58-13051/ yes greater than 1.65v memory voltage is safe as long as QPI/DRAM (CPU VTT) is within 0.5v of vdimm. Safe is in terms of the cpu safety more so than memory modules.

While not the same board but read the initial tests i did with DFI UT X58 and comments regarding CPU VTT and VDIMM relationships and how an optimal differential voltage range is needed for each individual cpu and memory kit pairing http://i4memory.com/f80/initial-note...8-t3eh8-18821/

The key to high memory speeds is usally CPU VTT (QPI/DRAM) ie. most memory for >DDR3-1866Mhz speeds will be approaching between CPU VTT of 1.45-1.65v even if memory voltage required is only 1.6v or higher. i.e. 1.5v cpu vtt (QPI/DRAM) with 1.65v vdimm.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2010, 12:56 AM   #40
Snarky
Junior Member
Snarky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 07 2010
Posts: 8
By eva2000 View Post
Snarky read http://i4memory.com/f55/intel-core-i...ide-x58-13051/ yes greater than 1.65v memory voltage is safe as long as QPI/DRAM (CPU VTT) is within 0.5v of vdimm. Safe is in terms of the cpu safety more so than memory modules.
Thanks, I read it.

By eva2000 View Post
most memory for >DDR3-1866Mhz speeds will be approaching between CPU VTT of 1.45-1.65v even if memory voltage required is only 1.6v or higher.
The fact is that my RAM is 1600MHz, it is not >1866Mhz. And I could not get my OS to recognize all 6Gb on cold boot even if I set QPI/DRAM at 1.45. And the only parameter I never touched was VDIMM. So I decided to play with it. Maybe my 1600MHz RAM requires more than 1.66V?? Anyway, I set QPI/DRAM at 1.375V and VDIMM at 1.7. After 4-hour cold boot I got 6Gb. More testing is needed though.
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
12gb, 12gb a-data 2000x, 12gb ddr3, 6gb, asus p6t6, asus p6t6 ws revolution, asus x58, memory overclocking, qpi/dram, vdimm


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Asus X58 + 6/12GB memory overclocking - detecting less memory than installed
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) Apacer Announces DDR3 Golden and Aeolus Overclocking Memory Modules News Reviews & News Online 0 03-10-2009 01:50 AM
X58 motherboard - real user feedback and comments eva2000 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 6 29-03-2009 02:47 PM
Intel Core i7 920 Overclocking Guide (Asus P6T Deluxe) @Bit-tech.net eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 15 30-01-2009 11:07 AM
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 04:42 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:44 PM.

no new posts