You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Windows 7 & DFI UT X58-T3EH8 - Page 8 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-05-2009, 11:00 AM   #57
DrNip
Senior Member
DrNip's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 25 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 252
Well I pulled my Nvidia card out and popped in my ATI just to be let down. Same problem. 12 mult!!!
DrNip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 02:08 PM   #58
unclewebb
Member
unclewebb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 13 2009
Posts: 31
I haven't played around with this on a Core i7 but on Core 2 procerssors there is a value within the CPU called the Target Performance value. This info is located in Model Specific Register (MSR) 0x199. The Intel docs are never very clear but this information should be in this same location for Core i7. Core 2 used to store VID and multiplier information in this location but Core i7 got rid of the VID info so now only multiplier info should be in the lower part of this MSR.

Could you use my MSR tool to read what is in this location?

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/MSR.zip

If the lower 2 digits contains 0C then that translates to a 12.0 multiplier. The hex digits 14 translates to a 20.0X multiplier. The +1 for Turbo might be separate. Someone with a properly working board / Windows 7 could post a screen shot of this. EIST and C1E can also change this value so I'm not sure what we're going to see.

To do this, type 0x199 in the MSR Number box and click on Read MSR to see what's in there.

To try changing this value, go to the Copy To section and click on the top Write button to copy that info down below. Change the 2 right most digits to 14 and then click on Write MSR to write this data into Core 0. Run a load on your CPU and see if the multi jumps up. This tool was designed before the Core i7 was released so it might need to be updated. Post a screen shot of what you find after doing a Read MSR of 0x199 and I'll see what I can figure out.

You can also do a Read MSR of 0x198 where the current multiplier is located. This is the value that Core Temp likely reports and is included in the i7 Turbo Tool on the far left.

This is just a wild stab in the dark hunch but at this stage you're probably willing to try anything so I figured, "What the hell, might as well give it a try."

Last edited by unclewebb; 15-05-2009 at 02:15 PM.
unclewebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 02:50 PM   #59
DrNip
Senior Member
DrNip's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 25 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 252
Here ya go. I hope this is what you wanted.

EDIT: I typed the 14 in like you said and mult jumped up to 20 at least. Not 21 but close.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (59.6 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (59.5 KB, 8 views)
DrNip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 03:41 PM   #60
unclewebb
Member
unclewebb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 13 2009
Posts: 31
By DrNip View Post
I typed the 14 in like you said and mult jumped up to 20 at least. Not 21 but close.
20 is a lot better than 12. When your CPU is stuck at 12 does this trick bump your multi up to 20 at full load? Does it stay like that or next time you go idle does it stick at 12 again.

If this gives you some control over your multi problems then maybe I could build this option into the Turbo tool for the short term or into RealTemp later on.

Also try using 15 and then click on Write MSR. The Turbo is separate from the regular multiplier so you might not be able to get up to the full 21 using this method. Make sure Disable Turbo Mode is not enabled in the tool.

Edit: Your first screen shot when you first run the MSR program shows you what's in MSR 0x4D which isn't much use to us today. I think I had it auto set to that value when doing some Core 2 testing. You can use the +/- buttons to step through the MSRs. After making a change to 0x199, switch to 0x198 and it should read the new multi.

These 2 digits translate like this for those that don't know hex:

0C - 12 multi
0D - 13
0E - 14
0F - 15
10 - 16
11 - 17
12 - 18
13 - 19
14 - 20
15 - 21

In Core 2 if you entered a value that was not possible it would just ignore it and usually set the multi to the highest that the CPU allowed.

Edit: I was working with a user the other day who was having issues with his bios on his Core 2 Quad. Inside MSR 0x199 it set core0 and core 1 to 8 so at full load those cores would go up to full speed but cores 2 and core 3 were only being set to a maximum of 6. RealTemp showed this as an average multi of 7. CPU-Z showed core 0 at 8 so he couldn't figure out what the hell was going on. It wasn't until he used CPU-Z to look at core 2 and core 3 that the problem became more obvious. This seemed to be a bios issue but he never posted back about a solution.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...postcount=3490

Last edited by unclewebb; 15-05-2009 at 03:56 PM.
unclewebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2009, 11:31 PM   #61
DrNip
Senior Member
DrNip's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 25 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 252
It bumps it to 20 but drops under full load. Upon restart it was back at 12. But you wouldn't believe this if I told you. I went to bed at 12 mult and turned off my computer, turned it on this morning and it was 21 mult!!! But as soon as I started adjusting the volts back top 12 mult I was sent. I can get it to stay at any mult I want with turbo iff but just can't get it to stick to 21 mult when I have turbo on. Needless to say I will be unhooking this hdd and going back to Vista again. I thought we had a cure for the 12 mult blues.

Last edited by DrNip; 16-05-2009 at 12:40 AM.
DrNip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2009, 01:00 AM   #62
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,024
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
How are you adjusting volts with VID control only or with VID + VID Special Add enabled or disabled ?

O.C. Shut Down Free: Enable O.C.S.D.F
CPU VID Control: AUTO
CPU VID Special Add Limit: Enabled or Disabled ?
CPU VID Special Add: Auto
Vcore Droop Control: Enabled or Disabled ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2009, 02:13 AM   #63
DrNip
Senior Member
DrNip's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 25 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 252
I am only adjusting with my VID controller. I have the other two enabled but am pretty positive that I have tried them disabled as well. I will try tonight though.
DrNip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2009, 11:55 AM   #64
DrNip
Senior Member
DrNip's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 25 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 252
Tried them both on disable, same results.
DrNip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dfi, windows, x58t3eh8


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Windows 7 & DFI UT X58-T3EH8
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DFI X58 T3eH8 WRONG BIOS sammurai DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 7 06-01-2010 04:03 AM
X58 motherboard - real user feedback and comments eva2000 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 6 29-03-2009 03:47 PM
Windows Vista/2008 SP2 Beta released eva2000 Operating systems 2 04-12-2008 11:33 PM
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 05:42 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:38 PM.

no new posts