You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Some cascade funs with E8600, P5E3 Premium & HD4890 crossfire - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2009, 10:45 PM   #1
Booj
Senior Member
Booj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 24 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 304
Some cascade funs with E8600, P5E3 Premium & HD4890 crossfire

Hey guys, as some of you would know, a brand spanking new Kayl cascade and a pair of HD4890 video cards arrived this week. After a good bench session, i've got a few results to share

This is my first ever sub zero bench session hehe.. Insulation and setup was a breeze, thanks to the kneaded erasers and kayl's mounting and backplate. It got even easier when the Q820A599 E8600 i am using showed no cold bug problems at all. After about 4 or 5 hours of benching, everything was still alive! The cold bug switch for this cascade hasn't needed to be used. I did try it out though. It sounds awesome

Setup:



E8600 Q820A599
Asus P5E3 Premium bios 0704
2x1gb G.Skill 1800C7 D9JNM
2x Sapphire HD4890 reference cards w/ stock air coolers
WD 74gb Raptor older one.
Seasonic M12 700w

Best 1m didn't save it properly It was 7.6x seconds at 6050mhz

Max Valid 6133mhz


Pifast


The main course. These are all untweaked runs. I'm going to learn how to tweak 3d hehe
HD4890 Crossfire 3d Mark 2001


03


05 Really happy with this one


AM3


There is more to come. More single card and 3d06. I'll take my 4850's for a spin sometime and switch over to the i7 for 32m

Thanks for looking guys (Eva feel free to move to another section)
Booj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 11:21 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,017
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Sweet results mate.. you're in the right section

So how cold did your first session go for evap/cpu ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 11:37 PM   #3
Booj
Senior Member
Booj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 24 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 304
By eva2000 View Post
Sweet results mate.. you're in the right section

So how cold did your first session go for evap/cpu ?
coool cheers

My thermometer is an el cheapo jaycar special. I'm not sure if its entirely accurate. It hovers about -98 to 96 most of the time and drops to around -92 at 3d mark 2006 cpu test.

Booj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 12:14 AM   #4
chispy
Senior Member
chispy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 16 2007
Posts: 1,592
Awsome results Booj , if you turn the switch for coldbug off it will go down how much ?
-50C more or less ?
chispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 12:21 AM   #5
Booj
Senior Member
Booj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 24 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 304
By chispy View Post
Awsome results Booj , if you turn the switch for coldbug off it will go down how much ?
-50C more or less ?
Thanks man. We both did some hwbot damage today hehe

Kayl reported it dropped to around -80 but my thermometer says dropping to around -70. I'm really not sure how accurate mine is at these low temps. It is calibrated with ice water.. I don't wanna spend the $ on a fluke
Booj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 12:39 AM   #6
scottath
Senior Member
scottath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 24 2008
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 399
Nice scores.
Why only 1 CF bridge? when i ran crossfire (HD3870's) 2 was faster - and it makes sence if you use 2 it would be faster (more data bandwidth??)

Any results of mixed crossfire yet? (4980 + 4870/4850) if the drivers will allow?

scottath
scottath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 12:58 AM   #7
Booj
Senior Member
Booj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 24 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 304
By scottath View Post
Nice scores.
Why only 1 CF bridge? when i ran crossfire (HD3870's) 2 was faster - and it makes sence if you use 2 it would be faster (more data bandwidth??)

Any results of mixed crossfire yet? (4980 + 4870/4850) if the drivers will allow?

scottath
Thanks, I'll try that. I wasn't aware the 2 made any difference

hehe no 4850/4890 testing yet. I've still got a lot more to bench with this platform with 4850 crossfire too and then switch it all over to i7
Booj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 01:01 AM   #8
scottath
Senior Member
scottath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 24 2008
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 399
i think it is more noticable the difference at higher resolutions - but still made ~300mrak difference at 1280*1024 in 06 (from memory)

When you get a chance.....i would so love to be able to afford such systems.....
scottath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cascade, crossfire, e8600, funs, hd4890, p5e3, premium


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Some cascade funs with E8600, P5E3 Premium & HD4890 crossfire
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amaze HD4890 - 1024D5 - non-reference PCB eva2000 Video Cards 10 21-08-2009 12:11 PM
Asus P5E3 Premium BadNizze Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 21 16-03-2009 07:11 PM
[Legitreviews.com] Asus P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP @n Edition Motherboard News Reviews & News Online 0 25-06-2008 01:43 AM
ATI Crossfire reviews eva2000 Video Cards 16 13-10-2005 09:11 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 11:12 PM.

no new posts