You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
8x 30GB OCZ Core Series V2 Raid0 test and benchmarks - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2009, 10:44 AM   #1
chispy
Senior Member
chispy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 16 2007
Posts: 1,592
Thumbs up 8x 30GB OCZ Core Series V2 Raid0 test and benchmarks

Test Set Up:
-------------
Vista 32bit full install SP1
Asus Rampage extreme Bios 1104
i7 965 @ 4.14Mhz on SS ( Batch #3838B044 Pack date 12/17/08 )
Corsair Dominators GT 2GB x3 2000 @ 968 7-8-7-20 1T
XFX GTX 285 xxx @ 756/1620/1472Mhz on H2O
Adaptec Raid 5805 512MB DDR2 cache PCIx8 (firmware 5.2-0 , (1616 June 2008)Raid0 256k stripe
8x 30GB OCZ Core Series V2 SSds in raid0 256k Stripe
PC Power & Cooling 1200w



By chispy at 2009-02-18


By chispy at 2009-02-18


By chispy at 2009-02-18

Last edited by chispy; 20-02-2009 at 12:33 AM.
chispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:51 AM   #2
chispy
Senior Member
chispy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 16 2007
Posts: 1,592
Testing 8x 30GB Ocz Core series V2 on raid0 ( Im awaiting for the new Raid card meanwhile ill run 6 SSds)

6x 30Gb OCZ Core Series V2 SSds in Raid0 Intel ICH9R Controller.
Asus Rampage extreme
E8600 Stock clocks
GTX 285
2x 1GB OCZ Platinum 1600 D9s
PC Power & Cooling 1200w


Test 1 - 128k stripe




Atto and HD Tune







PCMark05 HD Test Suite







PCMark05 System test suite





HD XP Start up slow , maybe the ICH9R its getting hammer dont know whats up with that , i guess ill find out once my new raid card gets here.



DiskMark x64 100MB




Last edited by chispy; 12-02-2009 at 11:34 PM.
chispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 04:04 PM   #3
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Yeah limit of ICH9R ? Try clocking cpu higher for a bit more ICH9R performance.

Interesting to see how 8 of these do on a nice controller
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:22 PM   #4
chispy
Senior Member
chispy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 16 2007
Posts: 1,592
By eva2000 View Post
Yeah limit of ICH9R ? Try clocking cpu higher for a bit more ICH9R performance.

Interesting to see how 8 of these do on a nice controller
Yes George i can see the ICH9R choking , i did try with oc cpu at 4.2 and only saw a very small increment in performance on the array , so meaning the ICH9R controller cannot keep up with the output of 6 SSds speed. good Raid card needed to unleash the full potencial and performance on this type of array.
chispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2009, 10:56 AM   #5
chispy
Senior Member
chispy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 16 2007
Posts: 1,592
*updated benhmarks in first page , more to come as i want to flash the firmware to the latest one that was release today

New Firmware 5.2-0 (16501 february 18, 2009.) Flashed went flawlessly and the performance has increased on the Raid Controller.


By chispy at 2009-02-18

i7 stock clocks testing the same Raid0 array 256k stripe size - PCMark05 , good start up time , a fresh nlite install and OS tweaks should bring me close to the 200xp start up mark where i want to be , ill test different stripe size and different OS tweaks and report beck.



By chispy at 2009-02-18

Last edited by chispy; 20-02-2009 at 12:35 AM.
chispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 01:01 AM   #6
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
nice hdd virus scan performance there

so looks like Adaptec starting to optimise firmware for SSDs!
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 01:30 AM   #7
chispy
Senior Member
chispy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 16 2007
Posts: 1,592
Question

By eva2000 View Post
nice hdd virus scan performance there

so looks like Adaptec starting to optimise firmware for SSDs!
Yes finally they are going in the right direction , me thinks in the next Firmware update SSds support will be very good on this controller , I saw a good jump in performance and stability with this new firmware. George wich Stripe size you have tested that will give you a boost in HD start up test ?
Im still testing different Raid drivers and will test Stripe sizes too in the next couple of days. Im tired and sleepy today as i spent all night until early in the morning 5:30am playing with the controller trying different things (wife not happy about it lol )
chispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 01:59 AM   #8
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Usually it will be between 64k vs 128k vs 256k so need to test for yourself I suspect the more drives used in an array the higher the stripe size might benefit performance. Let me know if i'm right or wrong
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
30gb, benchmarks, core, ocz, raid0, series, test


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: 8x 30GB OCZ Core Series V2 Raid0 test and benchmarks
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i3 540 review + Extreme Overclocking BenchZowner General Intel Motherboards / CPU 1 16-04-2010 05:41 PM
OCZ Platinum DDR3-1333 OCZ3P1333LVA6GK Animal Series @2000-2232Mhz! eva2000 DDR3 Intel Memory 12 17-10-2009 11:00 PM
4x 32GB OCZ SSD Core 2.5" SATAII solid state disks tests eva2000 Flash Memory & SSD devices 81 18-03-2009 01:35 PM
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 04:42 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 09:20 PM.

no new posts