You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250Gb s754 adventures - Page 6 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-10-2004, 11:37 AM   #41
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
hi Scott and welcome

can you outline what that 15hrs of memtest'ing involved ? what tests you ran ? standard 1-7 tests or looped specific tests ? how many passes did you make ?

From my limited reading of Gskill's new Samsung TCCD memory, on some motherboards' 2x 512MB will need to be set to 2T and won't work at all with 1T. That would be the 2nd thing I'd try. First, I'd try testing each Gskill stick individually in memtest using my above guide at their rated timings and vdimm to be 100% sure both sticks are error free since it could be one stick in the pair letting you down.

3rd, try dimm 1+3 instead and swap the sticks. I usually number each stick of memory i have so

stick #1 in dimm 1, 2, 3 tested
stick #2 in dimm 1, 2, 3 tested

stick #1 + #2 in dimm 1 and 3 respectively
stick #2 + #1 in dimm 1 and 3 respectively

last i just read maybe preamble of 5.5 or higher would help when 2x 512MB or dimm 2, 3 are in use - now i haven't tried this tip yet so not sure.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 01:04 PM   #42
z3scott
Junior Member
z3scott's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 30 2004
Location: Minne
Posts: 9
By eva2000
hi Scott and welcome

can you outline what that 15hrs of memtest'ing involved ? what tests you ran ? standard 1-7 tests or looped specific tests ? how many passes did you make ?

From my limited reading of Gskill's new Samsung TCCD memory, on some motherboards' 2x 512MB will need to be set to 2T and won't work at all with 1T. That would be the 2nd thing I'd try. First, I'd try testing each Gskill stick individually in memtest using my above guide at their rated timings and vdimm to be 100% sure both sticks are error free since it could be one stick in the pair letting you down.

3rd, try dimm 1+3 instead and swap the sticks. I usually number each stick of memory i have so

stick #1 in dimm 1, 2, 3 tested
stick #2 in dimm 1, 2, 3 tested

stick #1 + #2 in dimm 1 and 3 respectively
stick #2 + #1 in dimm 1 and 3 respectively

last i just read maybe preamble of 5.5 or higher would help when 2x 512MB or dimm 2, 3 are in use - now i haven't tried this tip yet so not sure.
Thanks for the welcome and thanks for the post over at pcp. I would have responded more quickly here but forgot to enable the email notification hehehe

8x255 2.5-3-3-10 w/2 dimm's I ran 51 passes of test five then restarted and let it run the 15+ hours of 1-7 something like 46 passes I think. As you might know from my post over at pcp I may have found my issue.

It appears that even if memtest seems clean one stick fails prime. I'm about to shut it down and try that stick once again with prime and will likely test it again with memtest.

Have you ever experienced a dimm module behaving this way? The error is always a rounding error. I don't think it should error at default clock speeds.
z3scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 02:24 PM   #43
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
51 passes of test #5 isn't exactly ideal so it's not unusual for prime95/stresscpu to pick up errors that such a short memtest didn't find.

As i said also check your windows task manager process list to see if prime95 blend is causing unusual paging to disk and may need to set memory amount used manually

Doesn't hurt to try stresscpu too http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=79 to eliminate any possible cpu stability issues - it picks on memory instability some too
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 03:14 PM   #44
z3scott
Junior Member
z3scott's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 30 2004
Location: Minne
Posts: 9
By eva2000
51 passes of test #5 isn't exactly ideal so it's not unusual for prime95/stresscpu to pick up errors that such a short memtest didn't find.

As i said also check your windows task manager process list to see if prime95 blend is causing unusual paging to disk and may need to set memory amount used manually

Doesn't hurt to try stresscpu too http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=79 to eliminate any possible cpu stability issues - it picks on memory instability some too
I will try test 5 again on the miscreant dimm. Or would test 8 be even better to run? Maybe I should try Gold Mem isn't there a "free" or limited use version?

I'm unsure of what to look at in the Task manager process list to tell if excessive paging is going on. What do I look at to determine this? My Raptor is a pretty noisy drive and it isn't making a peep while prime has been running.

I highly doubt the cpu is the culprit when one good dimm and the PDP have all run prime clean...
z3scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 03:38 PM   #45
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,018
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
task manager's memory usage column (may have to select View - select columns) to see it and look at what prime95.exe uses for mem

i.e.



then look at Performance tab
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 04:03 PM   #46
z3scott
Junior Member
z3scott's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 30 2004
Location: Minne
Posts: 9
Prime is using 413,312kb so it doesn't appear to be trying to page and I don't hear any disk swapping occuring.

It's run now over ten hours with this dimm so I'm going to shut it down and install the questionable dimm try prime and them memtest once again.

Thanks again for the followup.

edited: prime failed 11 minutes with the "bad" stick, I have it running mem86+ v1,27 #5 10x200 2-2-2-5 (rated speed) 9 1/2 hours (680 passes) so far no error. I will continue to loop. I may try prime again with the multi much lower say 6x200 to minimize cpu influence possibility and see if prime errors quickly. Extremely puzzled by this incompatibility? of one dimm.

Last edited by z3scott; 01-11-2004 at 02:57 AM. Reason: additional test info
z3scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 09:47 AM   #47
Tedy
Junior Member
Tedy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 21 2004
Posts: 13
eva sell me yours 9800pro :>
Tedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 11:37 AM   #48
z3scott
Junior Member
z3scott's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 30 2004
Location: Minne
Posts: 9
The questionable dimm ran 15+ hours test #5 2-2-2-5 10x200 1T auto I believe something over 1000 loops w/o errors.

I tried prime again this time with the cpu multi cut back to 6x200 and prime made it to 2 hours 7min then the eternal rounding error???? this doesn't look to be easy sorting through this.

I'm not sure what to try or do next.
z3scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
250gb, adventures, dfi, lanparty, nf3, s754


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250Gb s754 adventures
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DFI Lanparty UT CFX3200-DR RD580 Crossfire motherboard review adventures eva2000 DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 92 28-06-2007 05:26 AM
3700+ Clawhammer + DFI NF3 Lanparty UT 250Gb kayl DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 19 01-04-2006 12:03 AM
dfi lanparty nf3 250gb + 3400+? hairy_harold DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 0 24-01-2006 12:27 AM
DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250Gb s754 A7MAD DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 5 05-01-2005 10:02 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 09:11 PM.

no new posts