You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
scragley/T_M's DICE Adventure - Page 14 - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-09-2005, 11:37 PM   #105
T_M
Senior Member
T_M's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 07 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 5,335
By dinos22
you managed to beat eva's FX at same speeds with that 32M run....how's that possible
RAM
T_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 11:38 PM   #106
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
By T_M
RAM
true...he used 2x256MB which would be slower


you should buy one of those cheap Opteron 144 CPUs for some FX57 ass kicking LINK
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 11:41 PM   #107
T_M
Senior Member
T_M's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 07 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 5,335
So we remounted up the 3500+, and set to work on clamping down hard (we think we were a bit soft on first go), loaded it up to the brim with DICE and a nice dash of acetone.
You can see in the photo that we found ripping out some of the supplied insulation made accessing the nuts so much easier (note to manufacturer).

T_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 11:41 PM   #108
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,021
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
By dinos22
you managed to beat eva's FX at same speeds with that 32M run....how's that possible
ram and 74GB Raptor i guess
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 11:43 PM   #109
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
By eva2000
ram and 74GB Raptor i guess
eva i read about that iRAM stuff today once again.....that stuff would really kick the pants off drive dependant benches for sure
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 11:53 PM   #110
T_M
Senior Member
T_M's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 07 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 5,335
*rip* 3500+ Caa2c 0506 *rip*

Now here come the sad part

Booted her up and all was looking fine (booted on my 2x256 on a fresh CMOS), temps were what we expected (still slightly higher than Venice though).
Then i switched it off and swapped the RAM for the 4000vx, meaning squeezing the RAM in and out from beside the insulation.



Powered it up, and all was fine so we incrementally increased HTT in steps of about 20 until something like 280 x 11.
Booted fine but BSOD on windows.
dropped it to 270 x 11 - still no windows
dropped it to 260 and finally got into windows.

rebooted and increased volts from our previous max used in the first runs to something like 1.86V (in mbm which shows less than actual).

Still not good so decided to try just some slow-ish PI runs using CLockgen to increase once in windows.
Think it was about 3000MHz.

Things werent going as planned and stability was worsening, so flicked on mbm to find temp was up to -10C!
Quickly we though "bad mount" so i very softly pushed on the tube to the side and immediately we saw it jump down to ~ -22C.
SO i wiggled it a bit more with the same result, however each time i let it go it jumped up higher and higher till we hit 0C.

Scragley feverishly set about tightening the nuts as best he could with the system off.

Hit the power button and for a breif second we got power, then nothing.............

I'll let this picture speak for itself.....

T_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 11:55 PM   #111
T_M
Senior Member
T_M's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 07 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 5,335
By eva2000
ram and 74GB Raptor i guess
actually all this was done on a 120Gb PATA with a 40Gb PATA for a swap file
T_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 11:57 PM   #112
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
what do you think did it in the end...........bad mount or too much voltage
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adventure, dice, scragley or tm


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: scragley/T_M's DICE Adventure
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E8400, GA-EP35-DS3, P5K-PRO & DICE ruffy01 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 3 17-05-2008 12:32 PM
Pc-User and Hori Dice weekend H[]R3NDUS Cooling 65 31-01-2008 11:56 PM
First run with Kayl's Rev2 CPU Pot + 6Kg DICE gaidin Cooling 11 19-11-2007 10:40 PM
E6700 L638F meets Kayl Dice Tube youngpro Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 13 24-07-2007 03:00 PM
1900xtx + Dice + Fx55 + Dice = Sweet dinos22 Video Cards 6 04-02-2006 11:55 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:06 AM.

no new posts