You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Vista64 only seeing 1 gig? - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2008, 12:51 PM   #1
olnorton
Senior Member
olnorton's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 06 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 165
Vista64 only seeing 1 gig?

I'm new to Vista 64 & am probably overlooking something simple,
but why does Task Manager & Everest only show 1 gig & 75% memory used?
Everest even shows a 1 gig stick in each slot
CPU-Z & CPU Tweaker shows 2 gig in dual channel, the bios at post shows 2 gig & I rerun the Windows Experience Index
It still gave me a 5.9 & shows 2 gig.

olnorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:20 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 22,988
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
weird, try updating to everest 4.60.1578 which is latest version

Windows SP1 WEI shows memory installed not memory available. Memory available can be seen in windows system info under Programs > Accessories > System Tools IIRC - that will show real memory available after graphics/pci devices and windows has hogged what it needs
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:37 PM   #3
olnorton
Senior Member
olnorton's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 06 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 165
Must have been a short term glitch, both Everest & Task Manager are now showing 2 gig & a bit over 1 gig free.
I'll leave things how they are & see if it happens again.
But I will update Everest anyhow, Thanks.
olnorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
gig, vista64


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Vista64 only seeing 1 gig?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Bjorn3d.com] G. Skill Pi Black DDR3-1600 6 Gig Triple Channel Memory Kit News Reviews & News Online 0 13-02-2009 11:12 PM
help with memtest and vista64? adya General Memory 2 22-05-2008 05:12 PM
Kingston DDR3 1 Gig Kit cas 7 H[]R3NDUS DDR3 Intel Memory 5 15-01-2008 12:29 PM
Just picked up OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2 Gig kit for $330pp off ebay! gusthemus 2GB and higher forums 11 28-06-2006 12:56 PM
My latest X2 3800 and 2 gig patriot overclock AndrewK DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 8 23-10-2005 03:51 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:14 AM.

no new posts