You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
How to run Team 2x1gig 500MHZ @ stock on 185 Opteron & DFI NF$ SLI-D - i4memory.com - different look at memory
Tags Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2008, 05:38 PM   #1
synic
Junior Member
synic's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 30 2008
Posts: 1
How to run Team 2x1gig 500MHZ @ stock on 185 Opteron & DFI NF$ SLI-D

Hello to everyone.

I have 2 x 1 Gig of Team DDR 500 TXDR2048M500H-C3DC-S RAM, trying to run them with a 185 Opteron LCBBE-0628CPMW on a DFI LP NF4-SLI-D mobo.

I am happy with the Opty running at stock 2.6 speed but I, for the life of my cat, cannot figure out how to run the RAM @ DDR500.

Also, when I try and 'probe' in memtest (1.6 on the DFI board) the ram comes up with errors. If I leave some of it 'reserved' in Memtest then it will pass for hours.

What is going on?

Firstly, I know I shoud be 'edjumakating' myself more so I understand how to OC properly and not just asking everyone for a quick fix without understanding the 'why', and that includes all the stuff here on i4memory. I have also been over to the DFI forum but it is down right now and keeps 'asking me to pay my account' (WTF!!??). I have a thread going over that but I cannot access the bl**dy website to see what is going on.

I think the memory is fine. I think the Opty is fine. I 'assume' the DFI is fine. I just cant figure out the settings to make it work properly.

I have:

185 Opty (stepping previously mentioned)
2x1gig Team 3-4-3-8 DDR 500
DFI LP NF4-SLI-D
400 watt PSU (with all headers hooked up - all 4 of them)
6200 Turbocache GFX card.
Lots of fans.

This is a bench mobo and I intend to install it running Fedora 9 as a media pc.

I will have it installed in an Silverstone LC 1 something something media pc case
Have 2x 500 gig Seagates with Fedora 9 already installed just waiting to plug back in.
Will have my 3Ware 9650SE-4LPML running above mentioned HD's in 2 x raid 0 array when I scavenge a 650 watt PSU from my wifes puter.

I get into trouble when I sit at my puter trying to figure this stuff out which is why I have yet to 'edjumakat' myself properly about these settings.

I just want to be able to run my DD500 @ DDR500.

Please help.

ta.
synic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:26 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,017
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Hi there and welcome... been too long since i even touched a DFI NF4 board but you might start with some reading/searching on the forums as there's alot of info pertaining to that board

Useful links
http://i4memory.com/f29/announcement...g-updated.html
http://i4memory.com/f53/
Memtest usage guide http://i4memory.com/f79/memtest86-v2-01-a-6/

Use search at http://i4memory.com/search.php for

thread starter = eva2000
title search
keyword = DFI NF4 SLI*


= lots of reading

Some of the search results which are memory related

Last edited by eva2000; 04-11-2008 at 01:25 AM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 01:46 PM   #3
cbjaust
Member
cbjaust's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 30 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 37
If you are happy to run your Opteron 185 at 2600MHz, there are a couple of ways to get close to DDR500 (250MHz) but you will never get 2600MHz and 250MHz.

[CPU multi x HT Freq] = CPU Freq x Memory Divider*= Mem Freq. (DDR)

*Memory Divider = CPU multi / Memory Ratio; DDR400 = 1.0, DDR333 = 1.2, DDR266 = 1.5, DD200 = 2.0, DDR500 = 0.8. There are others and DFI labels the ratios as fractions which I think are a throwback to previous architectures. The result you get must be an integer and to prevent inadvertantly overclocking the memory the number is rounded to the next highest integer. Actually I think that the CPU just has a lookup table for the valid integers it can use for memory dividers - no matter, the maths work just the same.

1. Anyway, you wont get it with the standard multiplier:

13 x 200 = 2600 / 13 = 200MHz

Your particular BIOS may not have any Memory dividers above DDR400 available; do a search for change logs for LP UT NF4 SLI-D BIOS, there is athread on Techpowerup that has some good info. I think maybe that the 704 bta modded BIOS has the higher Memory ratios.

2. With the DDR500 divider (13 x 0.8 = 11) you still wont get it with the standard multiplier:

13 x 200 = 2600 / 11 = 236.4MHz

3. You can get 260MHz for the memory though. You need to set the CPU multi to 12.5 and using the DDR500 divider you get 12.5 x 0.8 = 10 and raise the HTT to 208MHz (4% overclock):

12.5 x 208 = 2600 / 10 = 260MHz

4. If you don't have the right BIOS with the higher dividers and don't want to flash then you'll need to explore a bit of an overclock of the HT Freq:

11 x 250 = 2750 / 11 = 250MHz (HTT should be alright at 5 x 250 = 1250MHz; if not drop the Multi down to 4x)

Check out my handy dandy spreadsheet for calculating the numbers: A64 Mem Frequency vs Multi.xls it has the standard dividers from DDR400 and lower.

Hope this gets you started.

Cheers
cbjaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
185, 2x1gig, 500mhz, dfi, nf$, opteron, run, slid, stock, team


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: How to run Team 2x1gig 500MHZ @ stock on 185 Opteron & DFI NF$ SLI-D
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 04:42 PM
**i4memory SuperPI Mod v1.4 Rankings** T_M General Benchmarks 1006 07-08-2006 01:54 PM
[Farycry Benchmark] 7800GTX vs X1800XT eva2000 Graphics Benchmarks 7 02-02-2006 04:24 PM
512MB HIS X1800XT PCI-E Review adventure eva2000 Video Cards 145 01-02-2006 12:34 PM
512MB HIS X1800XT PCI-E + AMD64 Opteron 170 Dual Core Review adventures eva2000 Video Cards 22 12-12-2005 12:02 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 01:12 PM.

no new posts