You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Asus officially supports S939 OPTERONS - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-12-2005, 04:27 AM   #1
sandeep
Senior Member
sandeep's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 28 2005
Posts: 341
Asus officially supports S939 OPTERONS

Hmmm just came across this...

http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx...-SLI%20Premium

Answer

Yes, please update the BIOS to support socket 939 E4 & E6 stepping AMD Opteron CPU.
sandeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 11:10 AM   #2
Crocodile
Senior Member
Crocodile's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 17 2005
Location: North West Coast, Tasmania
Posts: 479
Does it operate the 3 HT Links the Opteron uses in server m/b's?
Crocodile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 11:21 AM   #3
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
By Crocodile
Does it operate the 3 HT Links the Opteron uses in server m/b's?
who says 1xx series Opterons have 3 HT links
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 11:45 AM   #4
Crocodile
Senior Member
Crocodile's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 17 2005
Location: North West Coast, Tasmania
Posts: 479
Mr Amd
Crocodile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 12:41 PM   #5
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
what does Mr. AMD link with those....being an UP and all
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 01:41 PM   #6
Crocodile
Senior Member
Crocodile's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 17 2005
Location: North West Coast, Tasmania
Posts: 479
Not sure fella.. but normal AMD desktop chipsets cannot do server instructions. They have 3 HT Links with 0 coherent, same as Opty s940 at same speed rating.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...l?redir=CPOS14

Last edited by Crocodile; 20-12-2005 at 01:45 PM.
Crocodile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 02:15 PM   #7
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
that's what i mean.......that is one feature that multi processor Opteron has over Uni-processor systems..........UP Opteron was intruduced to lower the total cost of ownership.....specifically related to motherboard/RAM expenses associated with classic server products................1xx series Operons are mere A64s with a new name.......not every server is mission critical
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 02:50 PM   #8
Crocodile
Senior Member
Crocodile's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 17 2005
Location: North West Coast, Tasmania
Posts: 479
fully agree, but what im still unsure of, but believe to be correct is; the UP opty has more HT links available and usable increasing performance/stabilty in a dedicated server m/b over your normal desktop platform. If this is so, then no assurance from ASUS makes me believe said m/b supports 1xx Opteron's server hardware capabilty, thus my initial question.
I believe that ASUS are saying *official support* in place of *Opteron recognition*
Crocodile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
asus, officially, opterons, s939, supports


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Asus officially supports S939 OPTERONS
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Maximus III Gene & i5 670 @ -180.1 on LN2 Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 6 02-08-2010 10:15 PM
i5 670 & ASUS P7P55D-DELUXE Motherboard 2D review Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 9 18-03-2010 07:41 AM
Asus P55 motherboard information eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 6 01-10-2009 02:07 AM
Asus P5K Deluxe - Intel P35 Bearlake + Intel E6600 B1 ES / Q6600 Kentsfield / X6800 eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 296 24-10-2007 11:12 AM
Resolved: Asus S939 A8NSLI Premium motherboard sandeep Asus AMD motherboards / CPU 22 20-11-2005 06:47 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 08:23 AM.