You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
X58 RTL changes everytime I reboot - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-12-2009, 04:59 AM   #1
bolden
Junior Member
bolden's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 05 2009
Posts: 16
X58 RTL changes everytime I reboot

Hello guys, I noticed the RTL (Round Trip Latency) every time changes when I reboot PC. They are set to Auto and I have the ability to manually set them. What do you guys suggest?

This happens on both EX58-UD3R / EX58-UD4P

Thanks
bolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2009, 06:31 AM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Yeah it's normal for most X58 to have this happen. Some ways to get some consistency is adjusting boot up bclk i.e. at 200bclk target, set bootup bclk around 195 or adjusting tFAW might help - touched on it at http://i4memory.com/f80/i7-920-d0-df...ability-16617/
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2009, 09:32 AM   #3
bolden
Junior Member
bolden's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 05 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks eva but what if I set manually them to the latest setting I saw in bios so it get fixed? can it cause problem?

I'm currently using 191bclk
bolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2009, 08:16 PM   #4
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
setting RTL manually will give you a smaller variation between boots for maybe channel A/B/C but there maybe still some variation. Setting too low/tight RTL will = no boot or CF LED errors

some more reading for RTL at http://i4memory.com/f83/rtl-20548/?highlight=rtl
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2009, 10:00 PM   #5
CryptiK
Senior Member
CryptiK's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 07 2008
Posts: 774
My Rampage II Extreme does this too. Very annoying behaviour indeed, and I am unable to set RTL's to fixed values as this is not possible with current BIOS.

I have asked Asus to address this and allow us to set fixed values for RTL for CH A/B/C
CryptiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
everytime, reboot, rtl, x58


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: X58 RTL changes everytime I reboot
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Techpowerup.com] EVGA Readies X58 SLI3 and X58 Classified3 News Reviews & News Online 0 01-06-2010 06:50 PM
Rampage II Extreme - BIOS Changes RTL Values on its own CryptiK Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 4 05-10-2009 04:22 AM
DFI UT X58 - tRRD, RTL, tFAW timing discussion. eva2000 DFI Intel Motherboard / CPU 29 25-06-2009 10:22 PM
X58 motherboard - real user feedback and comments eva2000 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 6 29-03-2009 02:47 PM
[Techpowerup.com] ASRock Prepares X58 Deluxe Motherboard News Reviews & News Online 0 11-02-2009 08:30 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:04 PM.

no new posts