You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Rampage II Extreme - BIOS Changes RTL Values on its own - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2009, 03:12 AM   #1
CryptiK
Senior Member
CryptiK's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 07 2008
Posts: 774
Rampage II Extreme - BIOS Changes RTL Values on its own

I have noticed I can have my system totally stable, then upon reboot it would be unstable, most pronounced in memory intensive stress tests, although I had not changed any settings.

I noted all memory settings in the BIOS, then saved and exited BIOS, then re-entered after machine rebooted and rechecked all values.

To my surprise, the RTL values were now different! Amazed, I rebooted again 5 times, and each time, the RTL Values changed by themselves!

*Just as note, I have my ram set at DDR3-1600 MHz / 7-7-7-20 1T

When set to 'NORMAL' the RTL's changed as follows (RTL1/RTL2/RTL3):

Boot 1) 59/61/62
Boot 2) 59/62/63
Boot 3) 59/61/62
Boot 4) 59/62/62
Boot 5) 59/62/63

When set to 'AUTO' the RTL's changed as follows (RTL1/RTL2/RTL3):

Boot 1) 59/61/62
Boot 2) 60/62/62
Boot 3) 59/61/62
Boot 4) 59/62/64
Boot 5) 59/62/63


The Rampage II Extreme, for some unknown reason, does not allow you to set a fixed value for RTL's. Instead they can be set to 'AUTO', 'NORMAL' or a delay or advance value. This obviously means that the BIOS 'chooses' the base value for either "NORMAL' or 'AUTO', and again chooses the base value which it then delays or advances when you choose to. It seems that this value changes on reboot randomly.

This is a major BIOS issue, as I am unable to get the RTL values to stay the same between multiple reboots. I have tried both BIOS 1406 and 1504 and both exhibit this behaviour.

This needs immediate attention from Asus, and I certainly hope they allow the setting of a fixed RTL value by the user, instead of their current arrangement.

In addition to the RTL issue, there is another issue with the ram timings.

When you set tWR to 16, the real value is 14 instead.
CryptiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 03:57 AM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
It's normal for RTL to change happends on other boards too but to various extent. But I don't experience this much at all on Asus P6T6 WS Revolution with any of the bioses tested. What version of cpu tweaker you're using 1.3 beta 3 ?

Tried playing with PCI-E frequency and setting tRFC manually ? 1T vs 2T ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 04:13 AM   #3
CryptiK
Senior Member
CryptiK's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 07 2008
Posts: 774
Really they change? Why would this be? I have never seen any timings change by themselves.

Im not using cpu tweaker to view the RTL's i just go straight into bios and view them there.

Im having random issues with Prime 95 large FFT stability and I cant track it down. I noticed this phenomenon and found its related.

When RTL 1 = 59 its very unstable, BSOD in <5mins in Large FFT

If RTL's = 62/63/64 it lasts perhaps an hour.

Increasing Vtt, vcore, vIOH, vdimm does nothing to improve stability.

Changing PCI-E freq doesnt stop RTL's changing nor does changing any other timing parameter.
CryptiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 04:19 AM   #4
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Well on DFI UT X58 it changes at certain different set mem frequencies/timings but not same settings on reboot but it can be memory module dependent. DFI UT X58 work around was set bootup bclk to slightly lower than target bclk in bios.

Does swapping the memory modules around in the same dimm slots help ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 04:22 AM   #5
CryptiK
Senior Member
CryptiK's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 07 2008
Posts: 774
Ah ok, yeah i know it changes when you change speeds etc.

I'm talking same timings same speeds, no changes, just reboot over and over and it will change every time!

Changing mem stick / slot arrangement doesnt help either. Ive tried all combos.
CryptiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bios, extreme, rampage, rtl, values


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Rampage II Extreme - BIOS Changes RTL Values on its own
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Rampage III Extreme - results thread eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 484 07-11-2011 02:57 AM
The Rampage II Extreme Thread CryptiK Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 71 07-01-2011 10:25 PM
Asus Rampage III Extreme bios template eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 2 15-08-2010 02:03 AM
RAMPAGE III EXTREME REVIEW Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 5 06-05-2010 03:44 AM
Asus Rampage Extreme: having fun with MCH, Spi under Air and Cascade coolings before Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 2 08-12-2008 05:24 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:44 PM.

no new posts