You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Killed my X2 with high vDIMM? - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-03-2006, 02:14 PM   #1
AusTerror
Member
AusTerror's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 18 2005
Posts: 41
Killed my X2 with high vDIMM?

So as some of you would have read, I posted on OCAU about my X2 4200+ memory controller dieing.

Needless to say I'm not happy about it.

Here is the rub: The max vcore I put through the CPU was 1.45v, I had my BH-5 running at 3.2v

CPU was cooled via a Vapochill and the CPU temp never went past 25c (on a bad day). Currently I'm back to my 3000+ which is running 1.55v with the exact same memory setup. The 3000+ has been running in this setup for more than 12months now. NO issues, apart from a low OC.

So what I would like to know is, does anyone have any experience with high vDIMM and things NOT breaking and thing breaking?

Because I have always thought that I should flip the switch and see how my BH5 goes with > 3.2v. But I'm not going to do that if it kills CPUs!

Yes I have read that you should volt up your CPU if you use high vDIMM, which is why it was up from 1.3v to 1.45v

thoughts anyone?
AusTerror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2006, 02:48 PM   #2
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
i have no probs with high vdimm and dual core opteron 170 cpus (2x) and fx-60 to date and no probs with 2x opteron 144, 3x opteron 146, 1x opteron 148, fx-57 and 2x 3700+ sandiegos and 1x 4000+ sandiego and 2x 3000+ venices, 1x 3500+ winchester and 3x 3200+ winchester heh

used

2x DFI NF4 SLI-D
1x DFI NF4 Ultra-D
1x DFI NF4 UT SLI-DR

one issue that only started to be brought up with introduction of DFI Expert board time period, is you can possibly kill cpu mem controller with high vdimm if you use low vcore i.e. 1.4v vcore and 3.4v vdimm would be bad - you need to raise vcore to say 1.45-1.5v

since then i've used higher vcore when using high vdimm even if my cpu doesn't need high vcore
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2006, 02:54 PM   #3
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
i don't think 1.45v and 3.2v on RAM did anything man

it was something else
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2006, 03:16 PM   #4
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
yeah probably something else... extreme cold can do strange things to AMD64 cpus
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 07:17 AM   #5
allthatwhichis
Senior Member
allthatwhichis's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 22 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 267
Exclamation

By eva2000
dual core opteron 170 cpus (2x) and fx-60 to date and no probs with 2x opteron 144, 3x opteron 146, 1x opteron 148, fx-57 and 2x 3700+ sandiegos and 1x 4000+ sandiego and 2x 3000+ venices, 1x 3500+ winchester and 3x 3200+ winchester heh


This is but damn, you got the holy grail there also? or is that the FX-60?
allthatwhichis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 10:12 AM   #6
AusTerror
Member
AusTerror's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 18 2005
Posts: 41
Well the CPU never got extremly cold. Under load it was around +20c I think when it was idle it could get down around -5c if I had the fans up full. But the CPU was never idle.

One thing I did notice was my initial OC was with RAM set to 200mhz (1:1) and I ws running 240x11. Then a few days before the CPU died it started NOT being stable with RAM at 1:1. So I set it to 166mhz. The CPU clocked higher and I ended up with the RAM running DDR400 and everything was peachy.

Then I came home oneday and there was no screen output and when I rebooted still no screen output.

I have been super busy since it died so I have not had a chance to clean the CPU up. Normal procedure is to cover the pins with heatsink paste. Maybe it does not like the paste anymore?

Also the BIOS was set to shutdown when the CPU got to 50c. MBM5 was set to shutdown PC when CPU got to 40c. Everything was set to turn off IF the cooling failed. As I was not home when it died, its hard to say what happened. Its on a UPS, but still perhaps for some reason there was a voltage spike.

I'm using an old (relative to some people...) NF4 SLI-DR, so as far as I know there are no weird problems, except for that BIOS which could spike the vcore, but i'm not using that BIOS.

Anyway I'll clean the CPU up and try it in my ASUS SLI MB. I'll let you guys know what happens.
AusTerror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 10:13 AM   #7
AusTerror
Member
AusTerror's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 18 2005
Posts: 41
Oh and before I forget :

Eva do you want to sell me any of your Opterons?
AusTerror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 01:12 PM   #8
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
well not right now saving opterons for phase change testing first before i pluck fx-57/fx-60s in i'll be selling off some opterons after phase change initial testing which could be a while away as kayl is still building my phase change unit
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
high, killed, vdimm


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Killed my X2 with high vDIMM?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Anandtech.com] Core i7 - Is High VDimm really a Problem? News Reviews & News Online 0 09-10-2008 08:02 AM
GA-X38-DQ6 High PCI-E Mhz Killed Board? TheKarmakazi Gigabyte Intel Motherboard / CPU 5 22-05-2008 11:55 AM
DFI Lanparty UT CFX3200-DR RD580 Crossfire motherboard review adventures eva2000 DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 92 28-06-2007 05:26 AM
P5WDG2 WS Pro - Pencil mod for VMCH & VDIMM JAFFA Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 10 02-11-2006 04:12 PM
AMD64 cpus killed due to low vcore + high vdimm issue eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 5 16-11-2005 01:15 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 06:20 AM.