You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
DFI Expert Freezing - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2006, 09:36 AM   #1
Roch
Junior Member
Roch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 27 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
DFI Expert Freezing

Hi all,


Done a search and can't see anything connected so thought I'd post anew. I've had the Expert a couple of weeks, Primed 24 hours, 50 loops of Memtest, 50 loops of 3D01, Super Pi 32 etc etc, all fine at 3gig. Set back to stock, reformat, full windows re-install from Original disc, SP2, updates, 6.70's and 82.12's, latest X-Fi drivers, defrag, followed by Cacheman, Bootvis, Registry optimiser then made an image using True Image. My issue is that roughly once an evening it'll freeze at the desktop, whether it's idle or i'm browsing, it's random, it'll need a reset, then it's fine. Quake 4 has crashed too, screen looks like static on a TV, then needs reboot. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

btw: this is with and without the OC.
Roch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 10:39 AM   #2
Volnhar
Senior Member
Volnhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 26 2004
Location: South Granville, Sydney
Posts: 374
Blog Entries: 1
I had this happening to mine and to stop it I swapped the memory to the orange slots, before this at stock it was not very stable, but it sounds like you were fine until you did a new install???

You could also look at dfi-street forums and see what others have had there.

I've been pretty lucky so far everythings been very stable after the memory swap.
Volnhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 12:49 PM   #3
SirNemesis
Junior Member
SirNemesis's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 22 2006
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 9
Hrmm doesnt look like you searched very hard at all.
http://www.i4memory.com/showthread.php?p=35723
SirNemesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 04:49 PM   #4
alpha0ne
Senior Member
alpha0ne's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 25 2005
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 5,287
By SirNemesis
Hrmm doesnt look like you searched very hard at all.
http://www.i4memory.com/showthread.php?p=35723
Your problem is more likely to be due to dual core, using an FX55 is a whole different world

We really need your full specs to ba able to help, is the PSU getting hot ??
alpha0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 08:18 PM   #5
Roch
Junior Member
Roch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 27 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
Thanks for the replys guy.

The PSU's an Enermax 600w Noisetaker, it's SLI certified, uses the 24pin connector and the floppy connector's plugged in as is the 8 pin eps (connected via a 4pin 12v to 8 pin convertor), it's in an Antec P180, so it's in it's own compartment at the bottom with plenty of airflow, it never skipped a beat with the SLI-D, I think it's ok as the fan never turns on full.

The RAM is in the Orange slots.

Updated sig to show full spec, once again, many thanks.
Roch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 08:44 PM   #6
alpha0ne
Senior Member
alpha0ne's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 25 2005
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 5,287
What Vdimm you running those Ballistics at ??
alpha0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 11:30 PM   #7
Roch
Junior Member
Roch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 27 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
2.8volts, I've got an Evercool Crab Cooler blowing air onto them constantly as well, no errors in Memtest, 50 loops at 200 and 250.
Roch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 10:02 PM   #8
alpha0ne
Senior Member
alpha0ne's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 25 2005
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 5,287
2.8Vdimm is too much

Lower to 2.75 highest as a LOT of ppl have very dead Ballistic using 2.8v
alpha0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dfi, expert, freezing


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: DFI Expert Freezing
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DFI Expert Vs. RDX200 eck0 DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 15 19-01-2006 09:23 PM
To DFI Expert users! DeNs DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 7 06-01-2006 11:35 PM
Got a DFI SLI DR Expert? read this ! leca DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 5 14-12-2005 11:33 PM
Opteron 148 / DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR eXpert leca General AMD Motherboards / CPU 13 04-12-2005 03:04 PM
Willz75's Opteron 165 + DFI Expert willz75 DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 9 24-11-2005 11:20 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:59 AM.