You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Vmod Question - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-09-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
fatguy1992
Senior Member
fatguy1992's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 574
Vmod Question

I'm going to vmod my 7600GT soon, while I was looking at the PCB I noticed that there was place that a 6-pin PCIE power connector could be placed. As you can see in the picture below.



So I was wondering if it would overclock better if I solder a 6-pin power plug in there?

Thanks
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
youngpro
Senior Member
youngpro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 15 2006
Location: TEAM.AU
Posts: 2,601
twitter.com/teamau
hell yeah id do it man, better power supply to a card NEVER HURTS and especially when its only getting power via pcie.. DO IT !
youngpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2009, 03:53 PM   #3
fatguy1992
Senior Member
fatguy1992's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 574
Ok i'll give it a shot, not like I can get any points off these un-modded cards.

All going good i'll do it this afternoon.

Thanks
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2009, 08:22 PM   #4
scottath
Senior Member
scottath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 24 2008
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 399
uh oh - hes up to mischief again.....

do it though - more stable power cannot hurt
scottath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2009, 08:38 PM   #5
cowie
Senior Member
cowie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 09 2007
Location: new jersey,usa
Posts: 1,251
did not help me one bit.
two things i would do besides a pencil volt mod is...
1 flash to the clocks you want,last time i had mine in it would revert to stock clocks alot = pita
2 flash your delta clock,play with your delta it will help on clocks and scores alot
good luck
cowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2009, 09:01 PM   #6
fatguy1992
Senior Member
fatguy1992's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 574
By cowie View Post
did not help me one bit.
two things i would do besides a pencil volt mod is...
1 flash to the clocks you want,last time i had mine in it would revert to stock clocks alot = pita
2 flash your delta clock,play with your delta it will help on clocks and scores alot
good luck
I couldn't do that mod, there is some stuff in the 6 holes, which I could not heat up at all

1. What program do I use to flash clocks, and yes i'v also noticed that my vcards all revert back to stock MHz while benching @ high MHz. Even my GTX 275 sometimes.
2. Umm whats my delta clock?

Thanks
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2009, 09:17 PM   #7
cowie
Senior Member
cowie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 09 2007
Location: new jersey,usa
Posts: 1,251
well i could try to explain but you would be best to read here
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...s-voltmod.html
cowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2009, 06:18 AM   #8
fatguy1992
Senior Member
fatguy1992's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 574
Thanks, it said their site is down, so i'll have to read it later.
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
question, vmod


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Vmod Question
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digital vmod circuit with push buttons not multiturn trimpots (anyone interested?) muzwa kai Volt Modding 43 20-09-2010 10:39 PM
Memtest Stability Question on New Build iamhurtin DDR2 Intel Memory 24 23-08-2007 08:35 AM
High end Silent PSU question JAFFA Power supplies & UPS 24 22-12-2006 12:22 AM
OCZ VVX question /\/\r.Abdul General Hardware 3 08-07-2005 08:14 PM
AI7 - Vmod Esc General Intel Motherboards / CPU 10 27-05-2005 11:48 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 01:00 PM.