You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Strange issue, Asus P5E3 DLX message "New CPU Installed!" on every boot regardless - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-12-2008, 11:00 AM   #1
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
Exclamation Strange issue, Asus P5E3 DLX message "New CPU Installed!" on every boot regardless

Hi guys

I got an odd problem with my Asus P5E3 DELUXE

I've received a new one from RMA a long time ago. did a quick superpi session back in the day and its been sitting in the box ever since basically.

I thought it would be a good time to fire it up again and do some testing with E8600 and see if i can get the mods done for VCORE/VMCH and looking for OVP...once all this is found i was planning on flashing to Premium bios to get high FSB for some LN2 benching

but before all this i fired it all up and was getting a message upon every bootup regardless of what i've tried in bios and with board
i havent got the E7300 i was testing with at the time any more to try it now

"New CPU installed! Please enter setup
to configure your system."

"Press F1 to enter setup"

"Press F2 to load default values and continue"


If i press F2 i go to windows and everything is working properly, its stable etc etc

if i go to bios and change any value the bios does not remember and it gives me the above message on next bootup

so far i have tried the following:
  1. Clear CMOS
  2. Take battery out
  3. replace CMOS jumper with a new one
  4. replace two different batteries.....last one from GB X58 board so i know it works 100%
  5. tried booting with one stick of RAM
  6. reseated heatsink
  7. tried to flex the board as sometimes i would have luck with some other issues i had ...nada
  8. used different GFX card
  9. used different PSU
  10. basic plugs
  11. used both PS2 and USB keyboards
  12. I've flashed from bios 0703 to latest one on Asus website...1404 or something like that...
  13. I've tried all sorts of things in bios, loading optimised defaults, loading XMP profiles, just changing one voltage, changing FSB, putting some easy OCs, loading just stock etc



One thing i havent tried is another CPU
i do have another S775 chip to try from my 24/7 rig but after that i am out of ideas here

the other thing i havent tried in hindsight is using a different heatsink
these intel coolers put some much pressure on the board i am starting to think that may be the cause

I've googled and found that across different boards this happens to Asus boards which is weird but there are no fixes i could find except RMA advice.....not sure if that is an option any more as i've had a lot of problems getting the last board through RMA...(took a few months as it had to go through third party who i bought the board from originally a long time ago)

dinos22
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 11:34 AM   #2
pcuser
Senior Member
pcuser's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 17 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 663
I had same issue a while back i think dino.
From memory i removed the battery for one full day and it worked fine after that.
Not sure if it will work in your case but you can try i guess
pcuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 11:55 AM   #3
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
ok i will try

from what i can gather it looks as though a mount pressure issue

google results seem to be consistent now

i will try with no pressure at all..just rest hsf CPU
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 12:00 PM   #4
pcuser
Senior Member
pcuser's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 17 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 663
By dinos22 View Post
ok i will try

from what i can gather it looks as though a mount pressure issue

google results seem to be consistent now

i will try with no pressure at all..just rest hsf CPU
Who knows, that could be the case.
I havn't used a stosck hs in ages
pcuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 12:09 PM   #5
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Tried other bioses ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/mb/so...5/P5E3_DELUXE/ ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 12:12 PM   #6
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
i downloaded kodakey thing

i will try mount pressure and cmos battery thingie first

then i will do bios flashes left right and centre

if i try for another RMA OPB will probably go WTF is this guy doing with them

the funniest thing i dont bench asus boards seriously because of lack of volt options so i barely even test the damn boards rofl

the first board i got from him was weird though...the NB was extremely hot all the time...there was something not right with that board for sure

but this one was ok with E7300 and TTBT
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 07:30 PM   #7
olnorton
Senior Member
olnorton's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 06 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 165
My P5Q3 Deluxe did the same thing.
I tried different bios's & Cmos batteries, no luck.
I RMA'd it & they said nothing was wrong with it, so maybe just the different CPU fixed it.
I gave the board away when I got it back & the new owner hasn't had any trouble with it.
olnorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 07:38 PM   #8
dinos22
Senior Member
dinos22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 26 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,825
By olnorton View Post
My P5Q3 Deluxe did the same thing.
I tried different bios's & Cmos batteries, no luck.
I RMA'd it & they said nothing was wrong with it, so maybe just the different CPU fixed it.
I gave the board away when I got it back & the new owner hasn't had any trouble with it.
they sent the board back right?
odd isnt it heh
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
asus, boot, dlx, issue, message, new cpu installed, p5e3, strange


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Strange issue, Asus P5E3 DLX message "New CPU Installed!" on every boot regardless
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus 680i Striker Extreme SLI motherboard - Bios/setup photos [56k users beware] eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 134 15-12-2009 06:58 AM
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Asus 680i Striker Extreme SLI motherboard Results eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 109 18-05-2007 03:39 AM
Asus P5B Deluxe + E6600/E6700/Q6600 eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 114 06-03-2007 03:54 PM
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 05:42 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 08:33 PM.