You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Asus X58 + 6/12GB memory overclocking - detecting less memory than installed - Page 11 - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2010, 10:51 PM   #81
briantoll
Junior Member
briantoll's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 02 2010
Posts: 2
I'm not overclocking..

By Jammer View Post
Yup lower ur speeds and or latencies.
I am NOT doing any sort of overclocking. I've left everything at the factory default
briantoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 05:24 AM   #82
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
hi steve_o and briantoll welcome to i4memory

By steve_o View Post
Had the same problem like everyone else here....tried everything switching memory on different banks. After reading multiple post's regarding the pins on the motherboard, i booted up the pc without the heat-sink. Low and behold it works. The problem seems to be the heat-sink applying to much pressure to the cpu. Curious if anyone else tries this and see if it works for you.

I will be picking up a new heat sink cooler from microcenter with a protective back plate. It seems the coolers are shorting out Channel A for this motherboard due to the pressure.
Yeah more reports of mis detection due to heatsink mounting coming up lately, never experienced it myself probably as i use water cooling or heatsinks with screw mounts i.e. TRUE120 Extreme both with backplates and spring retentions so you can't really over tighten too much

By briantoll View Post
i have an asus p6x58d premium with 6 dimms of GSkill DDR3 1600 PC12800 RAM.

BIOS detects different amounts of RAM almost every time i boot. it's recognized all 12GB a few times, 8GB a fews time, 6GB one time, and 4GB most of the time.

i did the most recent BIOS update to version 808 (the beta version), but i am getting the same results.

anyone have any ideas?

best to go through suggestions in first post of this thread and related links list, mentioned it again here
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 07:23 AM   #83
Jammer
Senior Member
Jammer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,009
By briantoll View Post
I am NOT doing any sort of overclocking. I've left everything at the factory default
Yes but the i7 processor default RAM speed is DDR3-1066 so even running your RAM at rated speeds you are in fact overclocking your RAM. Drop speeds to 1333 and loosen timings to 9-9-9-28 just to test. If it picks up all your RAM, all the time, it means your memory controller on the cpu cannot run all the ram at those speeds. You might need to up vdimm and qpi/mch volts.

My old P6T Deluxe and 920 C0 couldn't run 12GB of OCZ 1600 at rated speeds no matter what I did.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 01:52 PM   #84
steve_o
Junior Member
steve_o's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 02 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
By eva2000 View Post
hi steve_o and briantoll welcome to i4memory

Yeah more reports of mis detection due to heatsink mounting coming up lately, never experienced it myself probably as i use water cooling or heatsinks with screw mounts i.e. TRUE120 Extreme both with backplates and spring retentions so you can't really over tighten too much

best to go through suggestions in first post of this thread and related links list, mentioned it again here

Same here never seen this happen before especially with ASUS MB. Anyways picked up a new Zalman 9900 heatsink from MicroCenter, everything works flawlessly now except for the Express Gate not coming up at most times. (will figure it out later). It seems the heatsink has to be designed for the new LGA1366 sockets so it can make contact but without too much pressure. BTW, my previous heat sink was a Golden Orb II.
steve_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:05 AM   #85
bratboy
Member
bratboy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 18 2010
Posts: 41
Well hopefully my mem issue isn't a slot. I use a V* and it does have a backplte but system worked fine for a year then poof 2 gig's not seen by bios or windows. Everest and CPUz see whats in each slot so the MB slots must not be totally dead. Anyway Corsair sent me replacement stuff and installing tomorrow so hoping everything goes well.
bratboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:02 AM   #86
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
By bratboy View Post
Well hopefully my mem issue isn't a slot. I use a V* and it does have a backplte but system worked fine for a year then poof 2 gig's not seen by bios or windows. Everest and CPUz see whats in each slot so the MB slots must not be totally dead. Anyway Corsair sent me replacement stuff and installing tomorrow so hoping everything goes well.
Good luck

I made a shorter URL Link for this page which is easier to remember and share with other folks. Bookmark: http://i4memory.com/ramdetect/
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:20 AM   #87
bratboy
Member
bratboy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 18 2010
Posts: 41
So far, so good. At least in my case it seems it was a mem stick going out. After doing heavy brain surgury on my box, all six replacement sticks from Corsair, set down at 1066 at least, are reading just fine. Only had one crash since the re-build and that was when I tried to access the sensor section of a copy of Everest I had in a zip file instead of extracting it. Since then not a lick of trouble hardware wise as far as I can tell.

Oddly even tho their rated as XMP 2000MHz that I'm currently running at a lower speed, when I run windows performance test, the new mem is ranking a 7.8 just like the old 2000MHz stuff did in XMP mode. I figure after I give the system a few days I'll start nudgining up the CPU and the mem speed and see what happens.
bratboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:35 AM   #88
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Good to hear.. for 24/7 mem speed triple channel bandwidth @ddr3-1600mhz is more than enough but you running at ddr3-1066mhz ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
12gb, 12gb a-data 2000x, 12gb ddr3, 6gb, asus p6t6, asus p6t6 ws revolution, asus x58, memory overclocking, qpi/dram, vdimm


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Asus X58 + 6/12GB memory overclocking - detecting less memory than installed
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Techpowerup.com] (PR) Apacer Announces DDR3 Golden and Aeolus Overclocking Memory Modules News Reviews & News Online 0 03-10-2009 01:50 AM
X58 motherboard - real user feedback and comments eva2000 General Intel Motherboards / CPU 6 29-03-2009 02:47 PM
Intel Core i7 920 Overclocking Guide (Asus P6T Deluxe) @Bit-tech.net eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 15 30-01-2009 12:07 PM
AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 7 02-11-2006 05:42 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:58 PM.