You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Kayl Black FrozenSS 1/4HP - new evap mount for 1156/1366 - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2009, 10:41 PM   #1
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Smile Kayl Black FrozenSS 1/4HP - new evap mount for 1156/1366

Today I received my new evap mount kit from Kayl for my very old Kayl Black FrozenSS 1/4HP unit which dates back to May, 2006 -> http://i4memory.com/f22/kayl-black-f...s-inside-2708/

Old evap only for 775/s939 socket



Old evap after i butcher a segment to fit LGA775 socket area



New evap for 775, 1156, 1366 and am2/3






Now need to figure out how to change the evap mount ? Waves at Kayl

Edit: I just checked my old evap it's copper block is ~38mm diameter but the old evap white pvc enclosure is one that extends it's white pvc up into the tubing so does look like I need to dremel it off to get the white pvc enclosure off the old mount. The new evap white pvc enclosure top hole is 40.5mm diameter so the copper block can slide through it at just 38mm diameter.




Yeah the new evap's white/yellowish foam is hard foam unlike the original black foam around the copper evap head. Wonder if having 2 thin circle metal plates/washers to sandwich the white/yellowish foam washer would add to durability ? Although, white/yellowish foam is nearly as hard as the white pvc enclosure itself and is 11mm thick.

Got myself a new toy for subzero temps - Extech EA10 for -199C to 1360C.




Hmmm just realised I also need a new dougnut shaped closed cell foam piece for the new evap pvc white enclosure as it's taller than the old evap pvc white enclosure. This piece.



Also how hard would it be to add a K temp probe to my evap like in this photo ?



.

Last edited by eva2000; 04-12-2009 at 10:04 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 07:29 AM   #2
fatguy1992
Senior Member
fatguy1992's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 574
The way I'd change that evap enclosure is to, first remove the black tape stuff (can't remember if its got a proper name) from around the top. Then you should be able to push the plastic enclosure and steel plate up, hence the foam inserts will fall out. It should be easy to finish off after that. That is how I have changed evap enclosures before, however not one the exact same as your old one.
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:00 PM   #3
Swinghammer
Senior Member
Swinghammer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 12 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 476
Eva
Just a quick Look at my frozen ss . It seem to be the only way to change it would be to have the gas evacuated, And have the whole evap pipe removed from the unit.Then disassemble the insulation from the pipe.
Swinghammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:02 PM   #4
fatguy1992
Senior Member
fatguy1992's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 574
By Swinghammer View Post
Eva
Just a quick Look at my frozen ss . It seem to be the only way to change it would be to have the gas evacuated, And have the whole evap pipe removed from the unit.Then disassemble the insulation from the pipe.
What to change the evap enclosure? I really doubt it.
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 06:56 PM   #5
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
By fatguy1992 View Post
The way I'd change that evap enclosure is to, first remove the black tape stuff (can't remember if its got a proper name) from around the top. Then you should be able to push the plastic enclosure and steel plate up, hence the foam inserts will fall out. It should be easy to finish off after that. That is how I have changed evap enclosures before, however not one the exact same as your old one.
Thanks guys... i think that sounds most plausible. I vaguely recall Kayl saying something about dremeling off the old evap white enclosure. Need to find that pm or email hehe. But definitely know I wouldn't have to have gas evacuated and evap pipe removed. Swinghammer, maybe your evap is different ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 07:43 PM   #6
fatguy1992
Senior Member
fatguy1992's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 22 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 574
By eva2000 View Post
Thanks guys... i think that sounds most plausible. I vaguely recall Kayl saying something about dremeling off the old evap white enclosure. Need to find that pm or email hehe. But definitely know I wouldn't have to have gas evacuated and evap pipe removed. Swinghammer, maybe your evap is different ?
Just wondering what heat load was your SS tuned for? It may have a little trouble with high GHz i7. But anyway I wish you luck and a good time
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 08:17 PM   #7
Swinghammer
Senior Member
Swinghammer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 12 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 476
Pretty sure they are the same unit, bar bigger compressor in my unit.

On closer inspection on mine. The white evap shroud would have to be cut off.As the copper evap is bigger in diameter than the top hole on the white PVC shroud, thus enabling the copper evap to sit on the top inside shoulder of the pvc cap so as to enable locking down of the evap to Motherboard.

The only way I can think of to have a new one installed, without degass and remove of evap pipe from unit, would be if the new PVC shroud is split down the center, Allowing it to be put around the the copper block thus creating the shoulder for the copper block to sit on so it could enable the unit to be clamped down on motherboard.
Hope you understand what I am saying

Looking at the bottom pics, that white stuff inside the the PVC Cap, is that foam or hard plastic sleeve ?
It looks to be split down the center ?

Is the diameter of the top hole on the new PVC cap larger than the diameter of the copper evap or smaller?

Do you have a closer pic of the 1/2" hole inside the PVC cap please
Swinghammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 08:54 PM   #8
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
By fatguy1992 View Post
Just wondering what heat load was your SS tuned for? It may have a little trouble with high GHz i7. But anyway I wish you luck and a good time
My 1/4HP was specifically tuned to handle high heat loads at not so cold temps - IIRC around 300watts. It was made for AMD FX-60 managed around 3500Mhz back in the day which is around 250Watts at http://i4memory.com/f53/fx-60-0536rp...rozen-ss-2745/. Yeah wonder how it will go for i7. At least my W3570 will do nicely considering it does 4.8Ghz HT enabled 3dmark05 on water

6 min stressprime dual instances load test
Room temp = 24.5C
Compressor temp = 45.3C
Evap idle = -41.2C
Evap load = -31.0C

MBM5 idle = -20C
MBM5 load = +6C for first 5 mins and 6th minute hit +7C

By Swinghammer View Post
Pretty sure they are the same unit, bar bigger compressor in my unit.

On closer inspection on mine. The white evap shroud would have to be cut off.As the copper evap is bigger in diameter than the top hole on the white PVC shroud, thus enabling the copper evap to sit on the top inside shoulder of the pvc cap so as to enable locking down of the evap to Motherboard.

The only way I can think of to have a new one installed, without degass and remove of evap pipe from unit, would be if the new PVC shroud is split down the center, Allowing it to be put around the the copper block thus creating the shoulder for the copper block to sit on so it could enable the unit to be clamped down on motherboard.
Hope you understand what I am saying

Looking at the bottom pics, that white stuff inside the the PVC Cap, is that foam or hard plastic sleeve ?
It looks to be split down the center ?

Is the diameter of the top hole on the new PVC cap larger than the diameter of the copper evap or smaller?

Do you have a closer pic of the 1/2" hole inside the PVC cap please
I just checked my old evap it's copper block is ~38mm diameter but the old evap white pvc enclosure is one that extends it's white pvc up into the tubing so does look like I need to dremel it off to get the white pvc enclosure off the old mount.

The new evap white pvc enclosure top hole is 40.5mm diameter so the copper block can slide through it at just 38mm diameter.




Hmmm just realised I also need a new dougnut shaped closed cell foam piece for the new evap pvc white enclosure as it's taller than the old evap pvc white enclosure. This piece


Last edited by eva2000; 03-12-2009 at 11:25 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1/4hp ss, 1156, 1366, 775, am3, evap mount, kayl frozenss, phase change


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Kayl Black FrozenSS 1/4HP - new evap mount for 1156/1366
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[hwbot] 3dmark2001 rankings hwbot HWBOT Official Rankings 165 14-04-2008 12:51 PM
Kayl Black Frozen SS arrived - pictures inside! eva2000 Cooling 114 11-11-2006 04:06 PM
E6700 + P5W DH + Kayl Black Frozen SS eva2000 Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 53 19-09-2006 02:21 AM
Kayl evap enclosure maimed and masacred eva2000 Cooling 17 07-09-2006 06:29 PM
FX-60 0536RPMW meets Kayl Black Frozen SS eva2000 DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 29 22-06-2006 12:12 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 03:18 PM.