You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast! - Page 7 - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-12-2007, 04:05 AM   #49
H[]R3NDUS
Senior Member
H[]R3NDUS's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 09 2007
Location: Brisbane Chapill Hill 4069
Posts: 1,176
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

Nice pc marks score Eva

nice Burst and read speeds also 180 burst speed seems fast from what i have seen elsewhere so thats a Raid factor..?

tell me is there huge gain running 2 I-Rams via raid 0 compared to a Single I-Ram with 4 Gig kit 1700 score is nice..earlier post you was at around 12000 so 17000 is due to raid ?

..i also read on a review tonight that 2 Gig kit was running faster than 4 ?

Hori

Last edited by H[]R3NDUS; 20-12-2007 at 04:10 AM.
H[]R3NDUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2007, 05:16 AM   #50
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

probably 2000 pt gain from single i-ram vs 2x i-ram raid 0. Nothing to do with how much memory installed though. just fact it's raid 0

AFAIK, memory installed on I-RAM regardless of rated speed of memory, all runs at DDR400 speeds. Not sure how module's SPD timings come into play though.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2007, 10:29 AM   #51
H[]R3NDUS
Senior Member
H[]R3NDUS's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 09 2007
Location: Brisbane Chapill Hill 4069
Posts: 1,176
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

Thanks for the info it helped alot
H[]R3NDUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2007, 02:23 PM   #52
ncsa
Senior Member
ncsa's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 20 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 483
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

The performance of these drives also depends a lot on the controller they are connected to... the Intel ICHxR appears to have a throughput performance cap vs say the nVidia MCP 680 controller.

Running like module speeds is best but appears not to affect the overall performance by running faster C2 vs C3 modules... there does seem to be a small impact when having 4 modules installed, but when running say Vista you need every Gb of storage available.

These were run on the DFI a long while back ..

2x RAID-0 - 4Gb on ICH9R controller - 16K Stripe



With WBC enabled

ncsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2007, 09:48 AM   #53
Rammsteiner
Senior Member
Rammsteiner's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 03 2006
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands
Posts: 150
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

So... didnt read everything. However, is it still worth it to run the iRAM as HDD? Looks pretty nice but well... A few little powerless hours and battery draining and say gdbye to your storage
Rammsteiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2007, 11:22 AM   #54
H[]R3NDUS
Senior Member
H[]R3NDUS's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 09 2007
Location: Brisbane Chapill Hill 4069
Posts: 1,176
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

By Rammsteiner View Post
So... didnt read everything. However, is it still worth it to run the iRAM as HDD? Looks pretty nice but well... A few little powerless hours and battery draining and say gdbye to your storage
nothing a few minute Ghost wouldn't Fix


Hori
H[]R3NDUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2007, 08:20 AM   #55
Rammsteiner
Senior Member
Rammsteiner's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 03 2006
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands
Posts: 150
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

Could be me but I highly doubt if any software will be able to recover lost data on RAM. Data only stays in RAM when it's powered, or am I missing things now.

Also you'd need some rack of those things mnon-powered trough PCI ports (rev 3 I think), cause 4GB isnt going to be enough for games + OS. Only OS on iRAM is nice for boot up but that's about it, games is nice but it will always need to scan the OS for registry stuff AFAIK... If only iRAM would guarantee 2GB DDR sticks to work and it was possible to put a stack of batteries on the iRAMs I would be a lot less worries
Rammsteiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2007, 09:03 AM   #56
H[]R3NDUS
Senior Member
H[]R3NDUS's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 09 2007
Location: Brisbane Chapill Hill 4069
Posts: 1,176
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

i Ghost my hard drives daily ..toss out the Stuffed ..reghost back the Good..

i only have a certain amount of stuff on my drives for benching and tools needed..worst scenario i have is a Re-download of a updated Wprime..

I think this would be perfect setup for I-Ram as well in my situation..
My Xp Bench install takes me 45 seconds to Ghost to or from disk to disk..

if im recovering from my External usb Disk it takes me a bit longer usually 2 minutes..
If im recovering from a Image file on my usb pen it takes around 5 Minutes.

Hori
H[]R3NDUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fast, fun, gigabyte, iram, ramdisk


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Team.AU] Core i7 965xe, Gigabyte UD5/Extreme, ADATA 1600+ 3Gb T_M Gigabyte Intel Motherboard / CPU 23 01-12-2008 03:57 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 10:53 AM.