You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast! - Page 5 - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2006, 09:10 PM   #33
FuXToR
Junior Member
FuXToR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 08 2006
Location: Briz-Vegas
Posts: 18
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

By MOJOM@N
I'm waiting for a DDR2 version that supports 8/16GB
LOL, hope you you have something soft to sit on and a fridge close by
I'm backing it in, your going to be waiting a long time on that hope and prayer.

Just dont you just grab your self a SSD if your want 3ns of goodness in that type
of capacity. I see them come along from time to time, But they cost a fortune,
not even viable for nutbags with deep pockets
FuXToR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 09:26 PM   #34
FuXToR
Junior Member
FuXToR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 08 2006
Location: Briz-Vegas
Posts: 18
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

By eva2000
Hey Ross so you finally got back That's okay one i-ram disk is enough for me now
Pigs Arse Come now, stop being so modest, you'd love 4 of them populated
with 4Gig each striped in RAID-0 now wouldnt ya,. I know I bloody would

By eva2000
So Ross, you no longer working at same company/disty or just a different role there ?
Nope, I've jumped fences and now Im working for one of their largest oem memory suppliers,
So I'm still involved in memory products and business, Just trucks loads more of it

By eva2000
nice to have some friendly ORB competition hehe.. check out out i4memory.com hwbot team (see forum annoucement for details http://i4memory.com/announcement.php?f=76&a=12) and maybe join our team for the hwbot world ranking assault http://i4memory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=76
Consider me on my way to the registry book, I'm in, but give me a week or so
to get the rest of my uber crazy bits and peices and I'll jump on board

By eva2000
As to i-ram revisions there's v1.1, v1.2 and v1.3 difference between v1.3 retail I have and others is it has PCI slot 3v and 5v support and battery level indicator and 4 level battery indicator http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/P...sValue=Storage also some of the battery design is different on the PCB itself
Yer I figured it would only be minor alterations to the reference design or little power enhancements.

Cheers for the heads up.
FuXToR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 10:18 PM   #35
sTARk
Senior Member
sTARk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 06 2006
Location: Wollongong, Oz!
Posts: 928
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

Excuse my 'noobness' but what are these i-Ram things best used for?
sTARk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 11:04 PM   #36
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

By FuXToR
Nope, I've jumped fences and now Im working for one of their largest oem memory suppliers,
So I'm still involved in memory products and business, Just trucks loads more of it
ah you must be swimming in bucket loads of memory modules

I read I-RAM ramdisk while it does work in raid, it can be very iffy or problematic ?? Ross, here's something you can try since won't have access to REG ECC modules, someone reported to get I-RAM to work with 2GB sized Registered ECC modules if they have a 1GB unbuffered regular DDR1 module in 1st or one of the I-RAM dimm slots and used 2GB REG ECC in other dimm slots for 1GB + 1GB + 1GB + 2GB = 5GB Ramdisk

sTARk, as some folks have touched on, using ramdisk for scratch disk in photoshop/CAD apps or windows page file etc is one of the uses for ramdisks. For use benchers, pcmark05, super pi or any benchmark requiring fast disk access would be beneficial.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 07:12 AM   #37
FuXToR
Junior Member
FuXToR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 08 2006
Location: Briz-Vegas
Posts: 18
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

By sTARk
Excuse my 'noobness' but what are these i-Ram things best used for?
'noobness' Love that word

I recon if ya start here and end up here you'll know everything there
is to know about them when you roll the dice on this square again

Think of it as "Pass GO" collect $200, Land on Jail and keep reading,
whoops I ment rolling them dice till ya catch up again

Thats a huge question dude

Ps, Where's ma car dude ?
FuXToR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 07:37 AM   #38
FuXToR
Junior Member
FuXToR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 08 2006
Location: Briz-Vegas
Posts: 18
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

By eva2000
ah you must be swimming in bucket loads of memory modules
Got my floaties on, There's something adictive about the smell of
freshly baked silicon in the morning, Just cant get enough of it

By eva2000
I read I-RAM ramdisk while it does work in raid, it can be very iffy or problematic ??
Um, well from my experience they work fine either striped or mirrored.
I've done both, so long as they are interfaced with a supporting chipset.
The worst compatabilty is Nforce chipsets, they dont like iRam.

LOL, that just reminded me of a video I saw, A Sony AIBO & Elmo TMX.
They didnt seem to like each other either

By eva2000
Ross, here's something you can try since won't have access to REG ECC modules,
Says who ? I've got a few 2 and 4GB ECC Reg modules, but I can tell ya those in particular dont work,
and I tried every one in each different slot, I tried single, pairs, odd slots, 3's and so on,
I play'd more combo's on trying to get those sucker to play ball than ya would hit combo's in Dance, Dance, Revolution

By eva2000
someone reported to get I-RAM to work with 2GB sized Registered ECC modules if they have a 1GB unbuffered regular DDR1 module in 1st or one of the I-RAM dimm slots and used 2GB REG ECC in other dimm slots for 1GB + 1GB + 1GB + 2GB = 5GB Ramdisk
Sounds Hot ! I gota get me some
Dont suppose you've got any reference information ?
eg: IC skew, Manufacturer, Vendor info ?.

I'd love some more SSD realestate Everything just happens so fast
FuXToR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 02:09 PM   #39
alpha0ne
Senior Member
alpha0ne's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 25 2005
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 5,287
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

By FuXToR
Got my floaties on, There's something adictive about the smell of freshly baked silicon in the morning, Just cant get enough of it
Ohhhh my god you sound just like me except you get to wallow in it
alpha0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:05 AM   #40
FuXToR
Junior Member
FuXToR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 08 2006
Location: Briz-Vegas
Posts: 18
Re: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!

Oh, BTW, I dont RAID my iRam's.

I run one as the OS drive, the second as the \program files\ installation path.
I also run a RamDisk configuration with SuperCache. I disable the winblows swap file and
run a softmirror of the iRam's with cache delay to two USB 4Gig flash drives for redundancy protection.

Im currently playing with various image configurations with a boot selection.
So upon bootup from menu selecting, Photo, Video, Publishing, Gaming, Benching and so on.
All these different profiles contain various installed programs related to their catagory.

Basicaly select what image files gets loaded to the iRam's at bootup, the image files are stored on
a striped Raptor RAID array, the iRam's can be imaged in just over 4mins and boot into windows in about 18 sec's.

All a bit alaborate I know, but its something different, its the fastest performing
setup I can work out currently until SSDD's become a bit more affordable.
FuXToR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fast, fun, gigabyte, iram, ramdisk


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Gigabyte I-RAM Ramdisk fun and fast!
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Team.AU] Core i7 965xe, Gigabyte UD5/Extreme, ADATA 1600+ 3Gb T_M Gigabyte Intel Motherboard / CPU 23 01-12-2008 03:57 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 10:24 AM.