You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!
Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary! - Page 10 - i4memory.com - different look at memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-07-2007, 08:45 PM   #73
before
Senior Member
before's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 23 2005
Location: France
Posts: 448
Facebook Page
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!



By T_M View Post
Thanks for the link before, but is there anything in english?
Does this link work for anyone? For me it come up with a login thing. If i go to the forum top i cant find thread 76 anywhere either....
Eva has done a very good translation of this thread

So; the cascade has been modded during the past few weeks:

2nd stage:

- I've replaced 8100btu/h rotary compressor by a 17000btu/h
- 0.8mm captube is now 2.07m long instead of 2.10m.

3rd stage:

- 17000btu/h rotary compressor replaced by a 13000btu/h
- Poor quality leaked Piotres' suction line replaced by a serious one with Pgeo's "Marguerite" evap (old one of my late 2-stager unit)
- 2.30m of 0.8mm captube replaced by a 2.55m of 0.8mm which takes place into the suction line

Here are actual temps of 3rd and 2nd stages with about 25 to 30C ambient. First stage temp has been -44C while both lower one were running.



Things to do ASAP:

- charging R14 into 3rd stage
- replacing 10000btu/h 1st stage rotary compressor by a 24000btu/h

Possible problems and supposed solutions:

- Too cold temperature of 2nd stage to appropriately use R14 into 3rd stage (Because of the use of the huge 24000btu/h cp for HS): mixing R50 and R14, using R290 into 1st stage instead of R404a.
- ?
before is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2007, 11:20 PM   #74
Lane
Senior Member
Lane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 06 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 440
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!

>Really impressed.... you continue to work on this unit for give the better of it.. and really you have make a really good work on it since you have begin talk of it.. a long time ago now..... really nice, work....

sorry for my english... je serais plus a l' aise en francais, pour dire a quelle point ca m' impressionne...
Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 02:33 AM   #75
before
Senior Member
before's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 23 2005
Location: France
Posts: 448
Facebook Page
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!

Merci Lane!

Today, I've charged 3rd stage with R14 and a small amount of R290 to help the oil.

Evap temp is -131C with 2nd stage oil return opened and -90C HX temp. If I close 2nd stage oil return, HX goes down to -100C and evap temp gets hotter by 2 degrees up to 129C. :/





I'm happy If you look at first post, you'll see... the cascade was built with the aim of getting -120C unloaded with R1150 it that was the case; or -130C unloaded with R14 and that's the case

Last edited by before; 25-07-2007 at 02:40 AM.
before is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 02:49 AM   #76
eva2000
Administrator
eva2000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 22 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 23,046
twitter.com/i4memorycom Facebook Page livestream.com/i4memorycom
Blog Entries: 42
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!

HOLY ****

-130C

congrats mate you've out done yourself
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 03:08 AM   #77
Gautam
Junior Member
Gautam's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 17 2007
Posts: 9
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!

R14...yum yum, so I see you have indeed been keeping yourself busy Xavier.
Gautam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 08:40 AM   #78
bazx
Member
bazx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 21 2006
Location: England
Posts: 91
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!

replacing 10000btu/h 1st stage rotary compressor by a 24000btu/h
remember we talked about this some time ago

i am thinking i should get the train over to france with my cascade and get some r14 from you

Gautam what are you doing down here
bazx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2007, 06:53 AM   #79
before
Senior Member
before's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 23 2005
Location: France
Posts: 448
Facebook Page
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!

By eva2000 View Post
HOLY ****

-130C

congrats mate you've out done yourself
Thx George!

By Gautam View Post
R14...yum yum, so I see you have indeed been keeping yourself busy Xavier.
Yea very busy bro Didn't had time for benching; I want this cascade to work perfectly prior to do anything else.

By bazx View Post
remember we talked about this some time ago

i am thinking i should get the train over to france with my cascade and get some r14 from you

Gautam what are you doing down here
hehe I might have some for sale. Don't know how much left it'll remain me after fine tuning third stage; but I think I'll have more than a charge

Finally, frist stage compressor will not be a 24000btu/h but a 23400btu/h... should be enough.
before is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2007, 12:13 AM   #80
before
Senior Member
before's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 23 2005
Location: France
Posts: 448
Facebook Page
Re: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!

Mixture into 3rd stage

- 8 to 9bars of R14
- 2 to 4bars of R290
- 2bars of R50

Cold-bug of the X6800... -121C speedfan isn't possible @400FSB.


Last edited by before; 27-07-2007 at 11:31 PM.
before is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2stager, 3rd, adding, dualrotary, stage, triplerotary, turn


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads for: Adding a 3rd stage to my 2-Stager: turn a Dual-Rotary to a Triple-Rotary!
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i5 670 & ASUS P7P55D-DELUXE Motherboard 2D review Uncle Fester Asus Intel motherboards / CPU 9 18-03-2010 07:41 AM
Server choice, any recommendations? Brook General Hardware 9 24-05-2007 04:07 AM
Opterons - 0544 - Week 44, 2005 eva2000 General AMD Motherboards / CPU 50 23-11-2005 07:40 PM
AMD Opteron dual core vs Intel Dual core Xeons eva2000 DFI AMD motherboards / CPU 0 21-10-2005 06:00 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:00 AM.

no new posts